We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
NotreDame de la Salette Sanctuary

A humble place in the midst of majestic mountains. It appreas that volunteers are a great... read more

Reviewed August 24, 2018
Emma C
,
Montreal, Canada
Stunning Shrine Surrounded by French Beauty

This shrine is so peaceful and beautiful in the French mountains.The mornings are amazing and... read more

Reviewed February 26, 2018
polkadotpilgrim
,
Colorado Springs, Colorado
via mobile
Read all 171 reviews
  
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
112
45
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
45
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sanctuary pilgrimage beauty chapel contemplation mountains volunteers
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 171 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

This shrine is so peaceful and beautiful in the French mountains.The mornings are amazing and breathtaking beauty all around.There are walking paths you can walk around the mountain that are great for contemplation or just alone time.They have beautiful candlelit vigils which you should not miss.They have 24 Hour Eucharistic adoration and if you stay in the pilgrim house it’s connected to the church and you can visit the chapel at any time of day or night.There is also a miraculous spring that you can bottle up and take home with you.The gift shop is also really good!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank polkadotpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2017

The location is absolutely spectacular with views over the surrounding mountains, particularly those over the Dévoluy range, topped out by the Mont Obiou at 2780m. It is a place of pilgrimage for Catholics, and the complex comprises a basilica, hotel, conference centre, large capacity restaurant aimed at the conference groups, cafeteria for the public and souvenir shop. On 14th August each year, the place is crammed full of pilgrims. At other times, aside from organised groups, most of the cars parked up there are those of walkers, as the area is a perfect start point for some serious walking on adjacent mountains and the connecting crests.
It is a 15km winding and rather steep road up from Corps, and in the winter can be quite scary, though scenically magical because of the icicles hanging from rocks by the side of the road and the purity of the snow all around. At any time, you will take a lot of great photos.

Date of experience: April 2017
2  Thank Dilbertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2017 via mobile

It's perfect time for me to come here because my objective for coming here is not for pilgrim. Why is it perfect time?
Because it was last Saturday before they are open for pilgrim season.
So, I can visit many places peacefully without many people surrounding me :)
They have chapel, basilica, museum and also perfect place for pilgrim (many rooms, huge kitchen and restaurant).
Yes definitely, I will come back again here and I will walk, go to the mountain behind the sanctuary.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank emmaella611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful and peaceful place. Amazing view very high at aprox. 1750 metres above see level. Great place to see.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank 508arinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016

Sitting in the basilica under the beautiful statue of Our Lady, one is overcome by an enormous sense of peace. One can imagine that not praying enough, not setting aside time for church, not repenting were the points of her message. But she was not remonstrating, she delivered her message out of love.

Arriving here is harrowing. It took more than two hours to drive the 50 miles from Grenoble with switchbacks and dropoffs that remind me of driving in the Andes. We even had to negotiate a large herd of sheep.

It was foggy and damp when we arrived; the basilica loomed out of the mist. Located at almost 6,000 feet in an alpine meadow, the site has none of the distractions of Lourdes. This is a place of worship and contemplation.

We were her for a brief visit, but want to return for a longer retreat.

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews