We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a beautiful little spot”
Review of Koh Poda Island

Koh Poda Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.64*
and up
4 Islands Tour to Spectacular Divided Sea by Longtail or Speed Boat from Krabi
Ranked #55 of 161 things to do in Krabi Province
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: private beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
308 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“a beautiful little spot”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We took a long tail boat for 300 baht each return for the afternoon (about 3 hrs). The water was really beautiful and clear with lot's of tropical fish swimming around. It was a great change to Ao nang and a much better place for swimming and beach combing in our opinion. We didn't see any monkeys but we did have a walk around the island and although it was busy it was pretty clean and deserted in parts. Highly recommended and only 15 mins away from Ao nang.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    63
    26
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Four islands tour off Ao Nang”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We saw Poda as part of a "four islands tour", so it was just a 90-minute stop for lunch and snorkelling. I'd say "check the weather forecast!" Our outing was slightly curtailed by a downpour, and it was obvious that if it had rained from the outset, the trip would have been a disaster. The islands are not far out from Ao Nang, so you are spared a lengthy sea crossing. The bad news is that most of the islands are quite crowded, especially Poda where boats are parked up side by side against the surf, over maybe 200 metres. A notice on the island says that each tour operator must pay a fee to land their passengers so as to cover the cost of island maintenance, but cleanliness was clearly an uphill battle. There is a lot of litter despite some noticeable efforts to clear up. Beware the monkeys. We were warned that if you tease them, they are quite likely to retaliate by stealing something of yours! Chicken island gets no more than a brief stop offshore to enable you to take a picture of what you might imagine to be the scrawny neck and head of a chicken. Tup and Moo (spelling?) are two very small islands with nothing to recommend them other than a 50m sandbank linking the two, which you can walk when the tide is low. There is a kiosk selling drinks and snacks on Tup, but no toilets anywhere. It was packed when we arrived, and there is precious little space to put down a towel, and nowhere to escape those pesky tourists whose egos insist they be photographed doing inane victory signs or jumping in the air in front of the surf. You might also have figured out from the foregoing, that where there are lots of people and no toilets, you are going to hit problems of hygiene. My wife spared me the visual delight, but assures me that the back of Tup island is a bit of a giant latrine. The tour was advertised as “4 islands swimming and relaxing”. Scrub the relaxing. The swimming and snorkelling was OK, but not especially good, and the comings and goings of countless boats does make you worry about being chewed up by a propeller. They also stir up the sand, which cuts down underwater visibility markedly.

Helpful?
8 Thank Dilbertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“loved it apart from the crazy monkeys”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We went here on our last full day in Thailand. It was a little windy so the water wasn't flat but it was still very blue, clear, and good for swimming. Sand is white powder.

Somebody wrote a few reviews ago "no idea why there weren't more people to the left of the boat docking area". I might have the answer to that question, assuming we are talking about the same boat docking area. We left our bag on that part of the beach for about 5min to swim wear the water was calmer. This happened to be the part of the island where the monkeys are (though no one had warned us). There was one very large male monkey that decided to unzip my husbands bag and start pulling things out while we were in the water. It became aggressive when we attempted to get it to move on, baring it's giant teeth and not moving away. We had to resort to running down to buy some bananas from a vendor which we then used to convince the monkey to leave the bag alone, which it FINALLY did do. So anyway, yes the front of the island is a little more "touristy" etc but after being faced with the choice between losing your camera or having your face ripped off, the front of the island seemed pretty good (crowded or not).

Husband got a foot massage from one of the women doing a mobile massage service. Same prices as Ao Nang. We got lunch from one of the boats and that was cheap and tasty too.

Worth the longtail ticket fee (we bought ours from the southern ticket office at Ao Nang) of 300THB return per person. Considering how much the tours cost to see similar places, it's very cost effective. One drawback is that they insist that you catch the exact same boat back to Ao Nang which means you can't decide when you want to go back. If we had our day again, we would go later in the day as 9am-4pm is a long time to stay at the one spot. 4 hours would be more than enough.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank reenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A getaway point...”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a great place for sun basking.
The sand here was soft and the seawater here was clean and warm.
One might be able to see some fishes and crabs in the water.
The drawbacks are too many wooden branches were floating in the seawater and you will need to pay for entering the toilet.
Anyway, one can get nice photos here.
Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank You H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Island, once you walk away from boat area”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a nice Island, be sure to walk left for about 5-10 minutes on the beach. This area is nice and quiet. Unfortunatley the area where all the boats come in can obviously get overcrowded and there is a lot of rubbish flying about. Such a shame. Our large group of 14 went to the left of the island as I mentioned before, and we had that part of the beach to ourselfs.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Poda Island also viewed

Krabi Province, Thailand
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
 
Ao Nang, Krabi Town
Krabi Province, Thailand
 

Been to Koh Poda Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing