We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis for walkers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bush Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morwenstow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bush Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Morwenstow B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“An oasis for walkers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Half way between Bude and Hartland Quay along the South West Coast Path, this is a very welcome break. A couple of fields in from the coast, Morwenstowe comprises a Church, vicarage, farm buildings turned into an excellent tea shop and this pub. Our room and shower room were smallish (and chilly in June!) but that`s an observation rather than a criticism:- we stayed in much more spacious rooms along the SWCP but they were converted Victorian houses whereas this pub is much older and "small" comes with the territory. The shower worked well. The staff were friendly. If you`re walking, there`s nowhere else to eat so you`ll just have to surrender yourself to the bar (cask ales, kept well, our best beer of the week) and the menu which is interesting, good, expensive. The bacon & sausage at breakfast were the tastiest of the trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    21
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as exploring surrounding area, was looking at other b and bs and hotels but were quite expensive found this on trip advisor thanks as was great, lovely pub and next to national trust coast path. Staying at this pub meant that we could walk the coast path before dinner makind the most of our day..great. The room had fabulous view double aspect of the farm and the coast however the room needed to be dusted, lots of dust in bathroom and by tv area which was a shame, also outside room needed a lick of paint, however the pub was welcoming of dogs to stay and the price was reasonable. Two sections to the pub 13th century
part where the bar was and another area to eat breakfast which was fantastic and very welcoming staff and then the conservatory part which served dinner not cheap but fabulous food in resatuatrant with very tasteful decor. Overall great stay and good price just a shame as a bit of paint and more dusting would have made the overall stay 5 out of five.

Room Tip: ask for room with double aspect view over the front of pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pampered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at the Bush Inn for one night in June after a wild and windy walk on the SW Coast path and it was a very welcome haven of rest with a pleasant room and excellent cream tea on arrival (they serve food all day!) We loved the pub which was buzzing in the evening, served wonderful beer and had wood burning stoves to make it a cosy atmosphere. We liked the bar so much we decided to eat there, but the restaurant was very modern and smart and would have been a good option too. The food was good (particularly the toffee pudding) and the service polite and attentive. All in all, we would recommend to walkers, tourists and anyone looking for a good pub experience.

Room Tip: We chose to have a bath but the water was not very hot so perhaps a shower might be a better bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsideredOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

I've just spent 4 rainy days in Cornwall and the Bush Inn was a total saviour. This renovated (fire on thatched roof distroyed most of it) countryside pub & Inn is a genuine and cozy as they get, with the most easy going, friendliest stuff (well... I live in London, so that's quite easy to top!).
We went there for a pub mean on Sunday afternoon and spent a good few hours enjoying the warm interiors - diferent rooms with different feels - the live fire and the awesome, tasty Ales (Tribute was my favourite one). The Roast Beef was fantastic, all food tasted fresh and well cooked. It was so nice that my husbanda and I - tired of wet campaing - went back on Monday eve for a few ales in their lush lawn, a great dinner by the fire to the sound of live music and a room at the Inn. Dinner was panfried wils sea bass with a chorizo and butter bean cassoulet that was just delicious. We slept like kings as the room was so peaceful and when we woke up to yet another rainy day, we found another amazing plate full of goodness to cheer us up, a full English breakfast with the freshest tasties produce, the bacon was incredible. So, it feels like we have a new local.... all the way in Cornwall, will definitely be back, but next time, we're making sure it's sunny!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

we stayed 3 nights here with our two kids, took two rooms and a bit pricey for what were two quite basic rooms and one very small. Nice and clean though. The pub is a proper one with nice views from the garden and plenty of good walking near by, We took our jack russel with us and he was made very welcome. Great breakfasts from local produce. A fun evening of folk music. But the menu is a bit limited and by the third night there was nothing i wanted from the menu. They need some changing specials and really some local crab or mussels please and some fresh veggies rather than salad or frozen peas. On the whole though a good stay and would recommend

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmellasoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in the B&B. B&B bit expensive for what was a small room,(No 2) but your paying for the atmosphere and character of the place. Room was also recently done out i think. We ate both nights in the pub, once in the extension which has lovely views to the sea, one in the old part of the pub. You can smell the age of the place, 15th C. Two lovely fires with original flagstone floors etc. Price of food is above average for a pub, but it was decent grub nonetheless and worth it for the ambience. The breakfast was above average aswell. Ok, the best bits by a country mile; the cheese and biscuits with chutney and the live music on a Saturday night (just a singer with a guitar when we were there, but she was fantastic). Altogether a memorable weekend and thoroughly recommended.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

The Bush Inn is a few hundred yards down an old farm road from the south coast path, and a welcoming sight after a long day of walking. Staff was so friendly. Room is average, but clean and quiet. The pub atmosphere was wonderful. The restaurant served great food. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morwenstow
8.7 mi away
Widemouth Manor Hotel
Widemouth Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Widemouth Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandymouth Holiday Park
6.6 mi away
Elements Hotel
Elements Hotel
#10 of 49 in Bude
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bush Inn

Property: The Bush Inn
Address: Morwenstow EX23 9SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Morwenstow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morwenstow
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Bush Hotel Morwenstow
The Bush Inn Morwenstow, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing