We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gardens, good wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Statham Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice gardens, good wifi”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Another hotel I've used often with work and is my first choice when in the area. Wifi coverage is good & free.

Some of the rooms are perhaps a little dated and the beds not as comfortable as some, but it's always consistent and clean. Ideally you want a room in the main house - they've more character than those in the extended back.

The hotel gardens and surrounds are very pleasant with some nice sitting areas around the back of the hotel. Great if you're staying in the summer.

Food is good and the bar area pleasant with some large leather sofas. Breakfasts are ok.

A nicer choice than one of the faceless chain hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank boytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    103
    32
    17
    10
See reviews for
95
62
8
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

I echo everything from the previous reviewer.

I have been a trainer for nearly 20 years and trained in venues across the world. The facilities at Statham Lodge were good and the surroundings make everyone feel relaxed. What made the difference were the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Every person I spoke to was warm, friendly and genuinely seemed to care and enjoy their job. Martin was particularly sweet. I stayed two nights, as a lone female the bar was very comfortable and the food excellent. I felt 'at home' very quickly.

The refreshments were great, as mentioned fresh fruit with lovely berries, pastries and scones, jam and cream. My only comment, which I fed back and it was changed, was they do cream tea at mid- morning and pastries in the afternoon. Surely it's morning pastries and afternoon tea? Perhaps it's a Warrington thing?

Can't wait to return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBabeReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed at Statham Lodge last night as I have been on a training course there for 2 days. The accomodation is clean and comfortable and to a good standard. As this is an older property, obviously everything isnt brand new and some things are not 100% perfect but it is a character property and a very good one at that.

The hotel grounds really are well kept and extensive.

In my room, the training room and the bar, I received an excellent signal for the wi-fi both on my iphone and my laptop.

My room was very spacious, clean and comfortable, the bathroom was new and stylish and the white towels were very clean and of a very good standard. I particularly liked the seal around the toilet seat stating it had beern sanitised and it was spotless. I had a flat screen TV in my room, a hairdryer in the bathroom and even an iron and ironing board, not that I knew how to use this! I had a very well stocked beverages tray with tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and sweets.

The food was the best I have ever had on a training course and there was plenty of it. On both days we had Freshly baked scones with jam and cream for morning coffee, 3 course lunch with a choice of steak or salmon and a beautiful cheesecake. For afternoon coffee we had fresh pastries with fresh blackberries and raspberries.

Breakfast this morning was excellent also as was the 3 course lunch and the Raspberry and cranberry sundae (in the photo) was simply awesome.

The people were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

Although this was a business trip, I would not hesitate in spending time here with my partner.

Very pleased but need to go on a diet now!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 20 which was fine but nobody on our training course saidthey had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woolleyterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We got married earlier this month (17th March) and we chose to have our reception at Statham Lodge.
Our wedding coordinator:
From the minute we began to plan our wedding, our wedding coordinator Kelly was superb. Kelly listened to what I wanted and even suggested things we hadn't thought of.
Considering it had been a year since we had first initially started discussing ideas, Kelly remembered all of what had been agreed. I have never met anyone so passionate about what they do. Kelly was one in a million and definitely has her dream job. Attention to detail and very friendly, Kelly put me completely at ease and I had no concerns that she was overseeing my day - for a control freak this is a big thing!
The staff:
The day went smoothly without a single hiccup and all of the staff were lovely and friendly. On the morning of my wedding one of the cleaners even asked me how I was feeling and that they hoped I had a lovely day, I didn't realise that they knew who I was, considering the hotel was packed with our wedding guests.
The accomodation:
The rooms were immaculate and decorated very nicely, we stayed the night before our wedding so got the opportunity to stay in a room other than the honeymoon suite.
The Wedding Breakfast:
The food was superb. Such quality and a lot of it. We didn't really feel like eating our buffet in the evening due to the amazing 3 course dinner we'd had as our wedding breakfast.
The buffet was also superb though, looked amazing and a great selection.
Breakfast:
Breakfast on both mornings was superb - the only thing I would say and it's really minor is they should add the hashbrown to the main breakfast menu as well as the veggie one. It wasn't an issue to ask for it but I am sure a lot of other guests might not realise or just won't ask.
One thing I will say for any guests planning on staying, confirm what is on at the hotel the night of your stay. We stayed the eve before the wedding, there was a function on in the main room, which meant there was some loud music till midnight which we could hear in our rooms. This wasn't an issue for us as we were still up, however, this could cause some disturbance to other guests.
Everyone who attended our wedding would love to do it all over again and didn't want it to end.
I would recommend Statham Lodge to anyone. They aren't just a hotel. They have a superb restaurant and I have been on several occasions for their amazing silver service, 3 course sunday lunch!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DLCrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baldock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed on our way to yorkshire,the first thing we commented on was the hotel grounds were very tidy , and the hotel look lovely.Our room was newly decorated and spacious.The meal in the bar in the evening was a bit disapointing and we had to listen to the bar person /waiter complaning about another member of staff .Breakfast would have been nice to be greeted with a smile,both members of staff did not look happy to see or serve guests,must say the lady cleaning we met very polite and smiled!.

Room Tip: We had a room looked on to car park,we had no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thelwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Their afternoon tea is THE BEST.
sitting by a roaring fire with endless tea,delicious sandwiches,yummy scones and cakes served by staff who are attentive but who don't hover....my idea of perfection!
You've tried the rest ...now go to Statham for the best!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TTThelwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I had my wedding at the hotel on 20th February and can not praise the venue enough. The hotel has recently go through a refurb and all the rooms are well decorated and the hotel is really well looked after. We had the Bridal Suite but I saw the other rooms my guests had and they were newly decorated and lovely and modern and clean. I was very impressed. All staff were very friendly and Lance the wedding coordinator is fantastic. I would well recommend this hotel to anyone or to anyone for a wedding venue. Grounds are lovely and breakfast was fab. Food at the wedding reception was complimented on by EVERY guest.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahbardsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
The Lymm Hotel
The Lymm Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lymm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.2 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Statham Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Statham Lodge Hotel

Property: Statham Lodge Hotel
Address: Warrington Road, Lymm WA13 9BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Statham Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Statham Lodges' beautifully landscaped gardens, surrounded by country fields yet with excellent network links remains a testament to careful and loving ownership. Still the focal point for excellent food and hospitality it continues to enjoy an enviable reputation. Statham Lodge Country House Hotel is a breathtaking Georgian manor house hotel, benefiting from stunning views of the Cheshire countryside, surrounded by acres of private gardens. Packed with original features, this charming and glamorously stylish hideaway is ideal for those in search of a luxury country break, superb dining & some well earned time away from busy lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Statham Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Statham Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing