We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, well presented staff are really friendly”
Review of The Jolly Thresher

The Jolly Thresher
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Jolly ThresherCelebrating Fine Food , Wine and Ale The Jolly Thresher is a charming and attractive country pub of great character. As soon as you step across the threshold you’ll notice that the interior is warm and inviting and features sumptuous and stylish furniture with rustic finishes and open fireplaces throughout - The perfect haven for relaxed drinking and dining .You’ll find the atmosphere friendly, welcoming and pleasantly informal and we invite you to join us to enjoy a great range of draught and bottled beers, some terrific cask ales from our well stocked cellar, all suitably complemented by a lovely selection of wines and some caringly prepared Cocktails.Our freshly prepared menu features a mix of popular traditional British dishes alongside some modern European ideas using the best quality meats, seafood as well as some local produce.It’s been designed to offer a range of great pub food to suit your mood with large and small portions available on many dishes.Much of the restaurant overlooks a most attractive Garden and patio where you can enjoy alfresco dining in the warm Cheshire sunshine. This area can divided into private dining spaces and we can help you arrange your very own celebration, whether it’s an anniversary lunch, an evening birthday bash, a cosy family gathering we’ll be happy to look after your every need.The Jolly Thresher is easily accessible from all parts of north Cheshire and the towns of Altrincham and Warrington. You can us find on the A not far from the M56 / M6 intersection.With such ease of access, a large car park, complimentary Wi fi the Jolly Thresher is an ideal venue for you to meet with work colleagues or perhaps hold an informal meeting whilst enjoying freshly brewed coffee , maybe a bite of breakfast or brunch or indulging in one of our very special afternoon teas.Whatever the occasion come and join us at the Jolly Thresher, we think you‘ll like us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Been to Jolly Thresher several times over the last few months with friends.The staff are lovely and friendly.Always enjoy the meals we have here.The pub is really tastefully decorated will definately be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank choengmon5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Choengmon5353,

Many thanks for another kind review - we really appreciate it. We find that a lot of our customers are visiting us over and over & we love to see familiar faces as well as new ones.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for The Jolly Thresher
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 546 of 720 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hi, we had not visited theJolly Thresher for many
years but last week we visited it with friends and really enjoyed our meal, service and excellent refurbishment to when we had been before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Exasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Exasp,

We would like to take the opportunity to welcome you back to The Jolly Thresher seeing as it has been many years since you've visited. We were really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food, service and the refurbishment.
We are finding that lots of people are visiting us having not been for a while - we hope that we've lived up to their expectations.
We look forward to seeing you and your party becoming regular visitors!

Kindest regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Visited on Tuesday 6th May lunch time not for first time but not written a review before. The food was excellent, had garlic mushrooms for starters then cheese and onion pie chunky chips and mushy peas, gorgeous ! Staff are very friendly and helpful. A very enjoyable lunch time Thank you

Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Barbara B,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. We really appreciate it!
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals - the mushroom starter is one of our best sellers!
We're hoping that we will be seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After our first visit in March 2014 I rated the Jolly Thresher as 'Very Good' and almost 'Excellent'. Unfortunately, our second visit last Sunday lunch time was nowhere near as satisfying or enjoyable. The weather was good, there were quite a few people sitting in the garden and the restaurant was full. We were seated on time and the orders taken as efficiently and pleasantly as before. Perhaps because of all of the additional people outside, our food took simply ages to arrive; I didn't time it because I didn't expect such a delay, but I almost came to the conclusion that our order had been lost! When it did finally arrive my 'trio of roasts' was ok but my wife's Thai fishcakes were really disappointing. She likes fishcakes very much and is very, very reluctant to complain but even she told the waitress how poor they were, being almost completely made up of mashed potato with very little fish. The waitress said that she would tell the chef and that our bill would be adjusted accordingly. The manager came to the table and explained that the fishcakes were hand made and should contain 50% fish and 50% potato but my wife's certainly did not. The manager offered to have them replaced but, having waited for so long for our food, she couldn't face yet another long wait. We finished our meals without risking yet another extreme wait for desert and paid the bill, with no reduction for the fishcakes, and left. The Jolly Thresher seems to be a victim of it's own success; it is fine being busy and opening the garden to yet more Customers, but the management need to understand that Customers still expect their food to arrive in a reasonable time. We may have been unlucky in our choice of time and menu, but I'm not sure that we will bother to put that to the test again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank holiday096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Holiday096,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us and we're really sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your visit to us.

Unfortunately there can be occasions when there may be a wait on food. Our standard waiting time is 20 minutes and may be longer if there are a lot of orders in the kitchen. I'm saddened to hear that you weren't happy with your food when it arrived. I'm unsure as to whether you were happy with your trio as you've written "ok" but I cannot comment further on this with only a little information.

As it was explained on the day our fishcakes are made with 50% white fish & 50% mashed potato to give them their fluffy texture. As they're made by hand there is always the chance that one fishcake may have slightly more or less than another. When there is ever an issue with a meal like this we will offer to replace it for you & would have rushed it through. I'm sorry that you did not want us to remedy it for you in this way and that you did not want to stay for dessert.
When receiving your bill I'm sorry that the aforementioned discount regarding the fishcakes had been missed off. I am sure that this was human error and if you had brought it to the attention of the staff we would have fixed this for you immediately so as to prevent you leaving disappointed.

I'm very sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion but if you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kindest regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Came back to the jolly thresher after finding it a couple of months ago. Staff are really lovely and the food was (again) excellent. It may not look much from the outside but insides lovley and the garden is beautiful. We had brought my elderley parents for my dads birthday and they thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The staff took an extra effort to make my dad feel special and he beamed for the rest of the day. Won't bore you with what we had to eat but it was all great. Had 3 courses and was stuffed but thank god for the small portions. Me and mum are back for coffee and cake next week

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa_I30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us here at The Jolly Thresher. We're so pleased to hear that your parents had a lovely tim and that your Dad had a great Birthday.
I hope that you will be coming back to see us again soon (the coffee & walnut cake is my favourite if you're popping in for the coffee & cake offer).
Our staff try very hard to ensure that everyone always has a lovely experience with us and we would much rather know if there is something that we can improve on - they were also pleased to hear that your Father enjoyed himself.

Kindest regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Thresher also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing