We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go on New Years Eve if u want to be rushed ! !”
Review of The Jolly Thresher

The Jolly Thresher
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Jolly ThresherCelebrating Fine Food , Wine and Ale The Jolly Thresher is a charming and attractive country pub of great character. As soon as you step across the threshold you’ll notice that the interior is warm and inviting and features sumptuous and stylish furniture with rustic finishes and open fireplaces throughout - The perfect haven for relaxed drinking and dining .You’ll find the atmosphere friendly, welcoming and pleasantly informal and we invite you to join us to enjoy a great range of draught and bottled beers, some terrific cask ales from our well stocked cellar, all suitably complemented by a lovely selection of wines and some caringly prepared Cocktails.Our freshly prepared menu features a mix of popular traditional British dishes alongside some modern European ideas using the best quality meats, seafood as well as some local produce.It’s been designed to offer a range of great pub food to suit your mood with large and small portions available on many dishes.Much of the restaurant overlooks a most attractive Garden and patio where you can enjoy alfresco dining in the warm Cheshire sunshine. This area can divided into private dining spaces and we can help you arrange your very own celebration, whether it’s an anniversary lunch, an evening birthday bash, a cosy family gathering we’ll be happy to look after your every need.The Jolly Thresher is easily accessible from all parts of north Cheshire and the towns of Altrincham and Warrington. You can us find on the A not far from the M56 / M6 intersection.With such ease of access, a large car park, complimentary Wi fi the Jolly Thresher is an ideal venue for you to meet with work colleagues or perhaps hold an informal meeting whilst enjoying freshly brewed coffee , maybe a bite of breakfast or brunch or indulging in one of our very special afternoon teas.Whatever the occasion come and join us at the Jolly Thresher, we think you‘ll like us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go on New Years Eve if u want to be rushed ! !”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We thought we were in for a good night. Nice food, live music to bring in the new year.....how wrong we were.
To be fair the food was nice but the service was terrible. We got there earlier than our 8pm start but as soon as we had just got the 1st round of drinks the pre starter came.
You could tell because of the poor turn out, the staff were rushing service to get away. Even after asking them for 15min to 20min break between courses they kept coming out to ask every 5 mins if we were ready for the next course. You shouldn't rush a 7 course meal especially when there was only 6 tables with guests on!!
The live music was not good, singing slow and depressing songs....probably to get rid of people so the staff could have their private party on the head table nearest to the bar.
The pianist looked like their granddad.
We left early to get to see in the new year at home 30 min drive away, Jools Holland was a lot better. To summarise,
2 mushroom starters under cooked. Well done steak more like medium but as said earlier nice overall.
Will not waste just shy of £60 here on new years eve but will go back some other time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear David G,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us - we appreciate every comment made.

We're very sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us - the feedback on the whole was that it was a very enjoyable low key and relaxed evening. If you were unhappy with any aspect of the food we would certainly have replaced it for you without questio which is standard. The evening was quieter than we had anticipated and sadly a couple of the tables that were booked in had to cancel due to illness which left us with a dozen tables in on the evening. My apologies if the staff were too attentive with their service level - we had discussed with them that they should be extra attentive as we understand that to pay £60 per head for a meal, the service should be "spot on". As we were only serving from the 7 course menu on this evening the kitchen were all prepared to ensure that the food arrived in a timely fashion. My apologies if it was too quickly.

The music was provided by 2 entertainers - both of whom are well respected and sought after. They played music from all walks of life and covered many genres - whether Mr Lambert is someones Grandfather or not is quite irrelevant but he is no relation to anyone who works at The Jolly Thresher and travelled from Wales to play on New Years Eve.

If the impression that anyone wanted to "get rid" of the customers was given I can assure you that this was certainly not the case.
We will probably alter the event for next year and try something different but as this was the first year for us here at The Jolly Thresher we wanted to try something different.

I do hope that you will come back to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Mat Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    171
    63
    49
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not so Jolly with our meal”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I had a meal here this evening, and it was very much below par. Especially when we had read the recent reviews about this eatery. The alarm bells should of rang when we had booked in advance but the young lady who was showing us to our table said we could sit anywhere! I ordered the "Portabello mushroom" starter, which consisted of one flat mushroom covered in steak Dianne sauce and costing £4.95. Which I thought was extortionate for one mushroom! I asked for my steak to come medium>well! In hyincite I made a mistake, as it came cremated! £16.95 for a small piece of rump steak! Also the bar staff really need to go on a ESP training course(Every Serve Perfect), as the drink I had ordered for my wife came in a tumbler with little ice and no citrus fruit. It looked glum to say the least! Shame really was expecting more, a real disappointment!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Daniel M,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us - we appreciate every comment made so that we can see where we are doing well and which areas need to improve.

When we are quieter we offer everyone the chance to sit where they would prefer and given that you and your wife chose to sit on a table for 4 people as opposed to a 2 it seemed to be the better choice. We like to be able to offer our customers the choice as some of our areas are more popular than others - in particular table 21 where you sat as the ambience is nice.

The Portobello mushroom starter is a large flat portobello mushroom served with our home made roasted garlic, portobello mushroom & cream sauce topped with cheese breadcrumbs. I can assure you that it is not Diane sauce. We encourage all of our customers to let us know if they are unhappy with any aspect of their meal. Similarly we would certainly have replaced the rump steak if you had let us know that you were unhappy. Unfortunately as steaks are cooked there is some shrinkage in their size as the moisture is released but we would happily have replaced this for you.
We always check back following each meal leaving the kitchen to ensure that everyone is happy - like wise we check as the plates are returned to the kitchen.

The drink in question for your wife (I'm assuming it was the Morgans Spiced Rum & Pepsi as you haven't specified on your review - I've had to guess from your bill) is not something that we would usually put a citrus fruit in but we could certainly have amended this and the amount of ice upon request.
I'm terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to us but I hope that you will come back again to give it another try.
If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at sayhello@jollythresher.co.uk

Kind regards

Matthew Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Visited twice in a week we were that impressed”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We came across this place by accident, and really glad we did. Food and service was great. Reasonably priced too. We decided to come back and have their traditional Christmas dinner, which was great and the portion very generous. A bonus is that we can bring our dog in the future too :-)

Helpful?
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Robert_Gallacher,

Many thanks for takin the time to write a review for us. Several of our customers visit us multiple times each week - some with friends and then again with family. Being able to bring your dog into the bar area has been very popular with a lot of our guests (and their doggies as we have treats at the bar).

We look forward to seeing you and your four legged friend again soon.

Kind regards

Matthew Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food excellent.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We visited The Jolly Thresher on a Tuesday evening to celebrate my partner's birthday, we waited about 30 minutes for our order to be taken, a further 45 minutes to an hour for the meal to arrive, and we asked for the bill three times. We had no problem with the food which was excellent, but the service was very poor, which somewhat spoilt the evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CACHARELL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Cacharell40,

I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Jolly Thresher. We were exceptionally busy in December - and quite often on Tuesdays when our very popular quiz takes place. I'm sorry that our usual high standard of service was not as good as it could have been for your party.

Please contact me personally to give details of the date etc so that I can look into it further. Unfortunately when we are busy there can be a wait but we always try to ensure that our customers are taken care of.

Please contact me via sayhello@jollythresher.co.uk

Kind regards

Mat Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely food friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Lovely lunch with friends good service and atmosphere well worth a visit.Large area for dining and also beautiful garden at the rear in the summer months.Will definately recommend to family and friends

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank choengmon5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Choengmon5353,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us - we always appreciate hearing from our customers as it helps us to see where we are doing well and which areas need more attention.

We try very hard to make sure that everyone feels very welcome and the garden was a huge asset durin the lovely weather that we had last year - hopefully 2014 will bring another beautiful Summer.

We hope that we will be seein you and your friends again very soon,

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Thresher also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing