We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food excellent.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jolly Thresher

The Jolly Thresher
Ranked #3 of 37 Restaurants in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Jolly ThresherCelebrating Fine Food , Wine and Ale The Jolly Thresher is a charming and attractive country pub of great character. As soon as you step across the threshold you’ll notice that the interior is warm and inviting and features sumptuous and stylish furniture with rustic finishes and open fireplaces throughout - The perfect haven for relaxed drinking and dining .You’ll find the atmosphere friendly, welcoming and pleasantly informal and we invite you to join us to enjoy a great range of draught and bottled beers, some terrific cask ales from our well stocked cellar, all suitably complemented by a lovely selection of wines and some caringly prepared Cocktails.Our freshly prepared menu features a mix of popular traditional British dishes alongside some modern European ideas using the best quality meats, seafood as well as some local produce.It’s been designed to offer a range of great pub food to suit your mood with large and small portions available on many dishes.Much of the restaurant overlooks a most attractive Garden and patio where you can enjoy alfresco dining in the warm Cheshire sunshine. This area can divided into private dining spaces and we can help you arrange your very own celebration, whether it’s an anniversary lunch, an evening birthday bash, a cosy family gathering we’ll be happy to look after your every need.The Jolly Thresher is easily accessible from all parts of north Cheshire and the towns of Altrincham and Warrington. You can us find on the A not far from the M56 / M6 intersection.With such ease of access, a large car park, complimentary Wi fi the Jolly Thresher is an ideal venue for you to meet with work colleagues or perhaps hold an informal meeting whilst enjoying freshly brewed coffee , maybe a bite of breakfast or brunch or indulging in one of our very special afternoon teas.Whatever the occasion come and join us at the Jolly Thresher, we think you‘ll like us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food excellent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We visited The Jolly Thresher on a Tuesday evening to celebrate my partner's birthday, we waited about 30 minutes for our order to be taken, a further 45 minutes to an hour for the meal to arrive, and we asked for the bill three times. We had no problem with the food which was excellent, but the service was very poor, which somewhat spoilt the evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CACHARELL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Cacharell40,

I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to The Jolly Thresher. We were exceptionally busy in December - and quite often on Tuesdays when our very popular quiz takes place. I'm sorry that our usual high standard of service was not as good as it could have been for your party.

Please contact me personally to give details of the date etc so that I can look into it further. Unfortunately when we are busy there can be a wait but we always try to ensure that our customers are taken care of.

Please contact me via sayhello@jollythresher.co.uk

Kind regards

Mat Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    157
    57
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely food friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Lovely lunch with friends good service and atmosphere well worth a visit.Large area for dining and also beautiful garden at the rear in the summer months.Will definately recommend to family and friends

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank choengmon5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Choengmon5353,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us - we always appreciate hearing from our customers as it helps us to see where we are doing well and which areas need more attention.

We try very hard to make sure that everyone feels very welcome and the garden was a huge asset durin the lovely weather that we had last year - hopefully 2014 will bring another beautiful Summer.

We hope that we will be seein you and your friends again very soon,

Kind regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb atmosphere, excellent food, splendid staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our thanks to Kirsty, Molly, Matthew and the whole team of delightful waitresses who made our meal a very special occasion for our party of seven including two children.

The food and atmosphere were excellent and the food very good indeed. We have already recommended this restaurant to friends and we shall certainly be returning.

Whoever does staff selection and training there is obviously a very good asset to the company!

Thanks again to the Jolly Thresher - our relative from San Francisco was very impressed with our choice!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank m0sim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear M0sim0,

Many thanks or taking the time to write a review for us - apologies for the delay in replying.
We are so happy that you and your party had a lovely time here at The Jolly Thresher and we hope that we will be seeing you again soon.

We hope that your relative from San Fransisco had a safe trip home and that you all had a lovely Christmas & New Year.

Kind regards,

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, Excellent service, Friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Enjoyed an excellent meal at the Jolly Thresher last night with friends. We have been here on a number of occasions since the refit and always been more than happy with both the food and the pleasant service received. Last night was no exception when we were served by Suzie, This young lady must surely be an asset to the establishment, with her pleasant manner and rapport with the customers, keeping us amused for the evening without being intrusive. We shall certainly return again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Leslie W,

On behalf of our team we would like to say a BIG "thank you" for your kind review. We're always so happy to hear when people have had a lovely experience at The Jolly Thresher. Our aim is that eveyone has a lovely time and although there will always be the odd occasion that something is amiss we strive for the best that we can for every customer who comes through our door.
Susie is indeed an absolute asset to The Jolly Thresher and we are very lucky to have her. She was very touched to read your review and was happy that you had enjoyed yourselves!
We hope that we will be seeing you over the Christmas period.

Many thanks

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Can't go wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

First discovered Jolly Thresher when visiting a nearby garden centre a few weeks ago and what a find! I'm a foodie and always looking for something special that delivers every time you visit regardless of who is on shift. The first thing that I want to point out is they menu offers Small Portions denoted by an SP, I opted for this on our first visit and had Fish & Chips which was a perfect size portion for my appetite at lunch time and I think in general! Every plate of food that comes out of the kitchen here is clearly cared for and produced using excellent high quality ingredients not to mention the presentation always being impressive. Its not just slopped on like many pubs. The ambience in the pub is friendly, warm and homely. The owner, Matt is always smiling and very welcoming. You have the option to eat in the bar or restaurant and there no downside to either, its just slightly more formal surroundings in the restaurant whereas the bar area is more homely and comfy. Another point I want to make is how clean the bathrooms are! So many places I've been to where they are forgotten but every little detail is thought of and its really pleasant! Finally the value for money for what you get is excellent in my opinion, the Small Portion prices are reflected fairly and for the quality and standard you get it is 100% you get what you pay for! I have been back several times in the last 3 weeks and have taken a few people I've raved about it to there also and they too have not been disappointed. We will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Sandra S,

Given that you only popped in for the first time a few weeks ago you are quickly becoming a familiar face. It's lovely to see the same people returning (sometimes with the same party and sometimes with more new faces). We're passionate about the food that we produce and we want everyone to enjoy their whole experience - we believe that it is often the details that can make the difference. Simple touches such as fresh flowers, log burners & vintage china can make such a difference to the overall ambience. We try to cater to all tastes (and we know that not everyone has the same size appetite).
We passed your comments along to our kitchen team who were thrilled that you were so happy with their efforts to ensure that every meal is perfect.

We hope that we will be seeing you again soon - and certainly over the Christmas period.

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Thresher also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing