We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Review of The Jolly Thresher

The Jolly Thresher
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Jolly ThresherCelebrating Fine Food , Wine and Ale The Jolly Thresher is a charming and attractive country pub of great character. As soon as you step across the threshold you’ll notice that the interior is warm and inviting and features sumptuous and stylish furniture with rustic finishes and open fireplaces throughout - The perfect haven for relaxed drinking and dining .You’ll find the atmosphere friendly, welcoming and pleasantly informal and we invite you to join us to enjoy a great range of draught and bottled beers, some terrific cask ales from our well stocked cellar, all suitably complemented by a lovely selection of wines and some caringly prepared Cocktails.Our freshly prepared menu features a mix of popular traditional British dishes alongside some modern European ideas using the best quality meats, seafood as well as some local produce.It’s been designed to offer a range of great pub food to suit your mood with large and small portions available on many dishes.Much of the restaurant overlooks a most attractive Garden and patio where you can enjoy alfresco dining in the warm Cheshire sunshine. This area can divided into private dining spaces and we can help you arrange your very own celebration, whether it’s an anniversary lunch, an evening birthday bash, a cosy family gathering we’ll be happy to look after your every need.The Jolly Thresher is easily accessible from all parts of north Cheshire and the towns of Altrincham and Warrington. You can us find on the A not far from the M56 / M6 intersection.With such ease of access, a large car park, complimentary Wi fi the Jolly Thresher is an ideal venue for you to meet with work colleagues or perhaps hold an informal meeting whilst enjoying freshly brewed coffee , maybe a bite of breakfast or brunch or indulging in one of our very special afternoon teas.Whatever the occasion come and join us at the Jolly Thresher, we think you‘ll like us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had been looking for a nice pub locally that allowed dogs in an stumbled across this one. The food was excellent and the pub was lovely, we were made to feel very welcome even my pooch who was supplied with a little cup of biscuits. This will be a regular for us from now on.

Thank Vicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Vicky P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us regarding your visit to the Jolly Thresher. We're really pleased that you and the pooch had a lovely visit. Man's best friend is welcome in the bar area and outside if on a lead and well behaved. We always have a stash of treats for them!

We hope that we will be seein you again soon,

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 687 of 791 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely Sunday lunch here yesterday. The menu is very extensive with everything from traditional Sunday roast, to spicy beef salads. The staff were friendly & we felt very relaxed & not rushed.

There is a huge garden outside & we hope to come back when the weather gets better & eat outside.

Would highly recommend this restaurant / pub & we will definitely be making a return visit.

Thank collycolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Collycolm,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us following your time at The Jolly Thresher. We always appreciate hearing from our customers as we learn where we are doing well and which areas need more work.

We're happy that you enjoyed your visit and the staff will be thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the service. The garden is certainly a huge attraction in the Summer (especially during one as lovely as the one we had). No doubt it will be snow covered soon.

We look forward to seeing you and your party again very soon,

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Recent improvements make The Jolly Thresher a very good choice for an enjoyable dining experience. Obviously trying hard to please..and succeeding! The menu choice is excellent value and good to see smaller portions available which are more that sufficient for those with a smaller appetite. The Jolly Thresher has a most welcoming ambience with a choice of smaller rooms plus the main restaurant area. There is a good choice for fine dining nearby but The Jolly Thresher is up there with the best if you want good food, good service and good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ROY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Roy D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us regarding your visits to The Jolly Thresher. We always appreciate feedback from our valued customers. We do try very hard to make sure that everything is "perfect" and that everyone has an enjoyable experience while with us. We feel that it is very important to be able to offer something for everyone and our small portions are extremely popular with many of our diners.

We hope that we will be seeing you again very soon,

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Visited this restaurant for lunch having read all the great reviews. I suppose this raises expectations when you visit, but it did not quite live up to its billing.
The ambience & décor are first class, it has clearly been recently renovated and is of very high quality fittings.
We were greeted and passed on to a waitress to show us to our table with the words "take these to table xx" which I thought slightly impersonal and offhand, as he had our name from the booking.
We were shown to a table for 2, which backed onto a window at one side, and a pillar on the other. There was barely room to squeeze in, and we are not large people!
Drinks arrived quickly, and we chose from the menu which we then placed on a ledge at the side of the table, out of the way. We waited 15mins but no one came to take our order, until I asked. They apologised and said they thought we had ordered and there were no menus on the table (ie it was our fault) but surely they must have known if we had ordered.
I also asked the waitress to move 4 unwanted glasses from the very small table to make more space. She reached over and put them on the ledge at the side of the table, I could have done that myself!
I didn't want a large lunch so I opted for the Mezze starter and some hand cut fries.
The Mezze was really small, which would have been ok, but for £6.95 was well overpriced. I estimated it probably cost about £1 to put together. The hand cut chips were very thick but therefore quite soggy and not crispy, again a very small portion in a pot for £2.95
My companion had the scampi which looked good.
The food was ok but I would not rave about it, perhaps other dishes are better.
I would give it another try and hopefully the service would be as good as others have found.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mark L,

I really sorry that you were not 100% happy with your visit to The Jolly Thresher recently. We strive to give excellent service and hate for anyone to leave disappointed. I'm sorry if you found our hosting style a little impersonal but we've had incidents in the past with a name being taken down wrong and we would hate to embarrass any of our customers. The table that you were seated at (table 22) is one of our most popular tables for 2 people but if you were unhappy with it we would certainly have changed it for you.
The delay in taking your order lies with a miscommunication here. We look for the menus on the tables as we always remove them following the order being placed, on this occasion we missed that yours were on the ledge. We check with each of our staff what stage each table is at and yours unfortunately slipped through the net.
The mezze plate is a starter portion and I can assure you it costs considerably more to make than £1. The tapenade, red pepper hummus & tzatziki are all made in house. The feta is an excellent quality, as are the roasted tomatoes. If you were unhappy with any part of your meal we always encourage our customers to let us know. The hand cut chips are a 250g portion (this equates to a large jacket potato).
We are very sorry that on this occasion we did not reach your expectations but we hope that you will come back again and visit us soon.
If you would like to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me on 01925 752265 or sayhello@jollythresher.co.uk

Kind regards

Mat Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A group of friends decided to visit the Jolly Thresher for lunch. The food was superb and extremely well presented. The staff very friendly and helpful and the decoration was a joy to dine in. Will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat W, General Manager at The Jolly Thresher, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Carole S,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us following your visit to The Jolly Thresher. We always love to hear that our valued customers have enjoyed their experience. We pride ourselves on our service and the staff will be happy to hear that their care and attention made your time with us a joy.
We hope that we will be seeing you and your party of ladies again very soon.

Kind regards

Mat, Kirsty & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Thresher also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Thresher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing