We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Spread Eagle Hotel

Spread Eagle Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

welcoming staff,food was amazing.Massive portions,and very pleasing service.Restaurant very commfy.Considering weather to have Christmas dinner there:). TheCapewells

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annie1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    61
    29
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely village setting”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After a walk around the dam we found this welcoming pub which luckily for us allowed dogs in too and provided water bowls (nice touch). We sat outside in the courtyard area and ordered a roast Sunday lunch (priced competitively at under £9 pounds). I had a coffee which was delicious and hubby had a lager which was ice cold. The roast came out and looked stunning, we were offered additional sauce and I asked for horseradish which arrived plentiful. A biscuit was brought out for our dog too which was a lovely touch.
The vegetables were fresh not frozen which was a joy, the new potato and roast were plentiful and the Yorkshire pud was enormous however I felt the beef was quite strange it looked like beef but had a tang of what im uncertain. Sadly this was the spoiler of a good meal, ambience delightful and a landlord and staff keen to chat about the area with good information about local facilities.
Inside the decor was certainly pretty and I would definitely try again as the setting was truly quaint.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deb0rahn750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Freindly staff - food needs to improve”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited on 15 September 2013. Nice pint of MPA but that's where the compliments stop. Soup starter was tastey but luke warm. Roast meals had poor potatoes, soggy yorkshire puds and meat not geat. Plaice was very very small - I've caught some small fish but this baby should have been thrown back. Prawn butter consisted of a few dried prawns, veg very dry and even the lemon was dry. The restaurant took my complaint seriously but they've got to do much better on the food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant character and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Came in the first time for lunch before a lovely walk around Lymm Dam. This pub is newly refurbished and now looks fantastic. A lot of the old features have been maintained and the pub retains its original character. Outside in the beer garden you can see the old caves which were used as holding cells when the pub was the old courthouse. A wide selection of dishes are served and the portions are big, complementing the array of real ales found at the bar. I have visited with both family and friends and find the atmosphere conducive to either occasion. The staff that served us all had an excellent attitude which really made us feel welcome. I will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin2kn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“re-furbished”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Spread Eagle has just finished being re-furbished and looks very nice and clean and the staff are very helpful but 10 of us had a 3 course meal, The starter of fresh fruit was excellent and then came the roast beef which was the worst beef I have ever tasted and was completely uncutable and the sweet was either sticky toffee pudding or ginger pudding, we could not decide what it was. If needs to improve as there are so many eating places in Lymm

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spread Eagle Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Spread Eagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing