We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Salar - CLOSED

Cafe Salar
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: European cuisine in a beautiful English village, steeped in Tradition and History. We serve food fro 10.00am until 21.00pm Monday to Thursday. Friday and Saturday from 10.00am until 21.30pm and on Sundays, which features Roast Dinners, from 10.00am until 20.00pm
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The first time that I visited cafe salar was for my auntie's hen do, although the atmosphere was excellent and they offered a wide range of drinks and cocktails i was very disappointed with the food.
We had a roast dinner which was very basic and disappointing as they had run out of quite a lot of things. The yorkshire pudding that I received was cold and still frozen in the middle, I mentioned this to our waitress straight away and although they did their best to get my a new one, this one was also the same and was also frozen in the middle! Not something that you would expect from such a classy restaurant.
The second time I visited cafe salar was for a cooked breakfast, this was also very basic and of a poor quality due to areas being over cooked and cold.
After these experiences I will not be visiting cafe salar for food, although i would be happy to return for cocktails. (malibu barbie, definitely worth a try!)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Not my first trip to Cafe Salar, it's a fantastic place to sit with a drink (be it coffee or cocktail) and watch the world go by (or Lymm anyway). Went for brunch with a close pal on sunday, we both ordered a full english breakfast with white toast, and cappuccino's. She asked to substitute her beans for more mushrooms, I asked to substitute my black pudding for more mushrooms. Well neither of us received more mushrooms, the waitress told my friend "they've put an extra bacon on yours", and they gave me brown toast. So our virtually identical orders proved a bit much for them to handle, and I'm not sure what I did to receive no replacement. That aside, the food was nice and the couple of cocktails that followed were marvelous (though we may wait for a 2 for 1 offer in future with the prices).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salarlymm, General Manager at Cafe Salar, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi VChapman

Please accept my apologies regarding your order being incorrect on this visit. If you could please let me know what day / time you visited so we can investigate further from our end and ensure future visits are as enjoyable as you are used to experiencing - my email is simon@cafesalarlymm.co.uk
with reference to the cocktails, i am very glad to hear that you and your friend enjoyed the drinks, please note though that with our cocktails, we don't do 241 deals currently but be assured that our cocktails do contain a double measure of spirit and are very competitive in the local market - they are in fact less money than some other local restaurants charge for a simple double spirit with mixer so value for money is outstanding for what you receive!

we look forward to seeing you again soon

regards

simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went for breakfast, had croissant with cheese and bacon. Poor quality bacon, little cheese, small salad dressing, soggy, flavourless, greasy. Will never return

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fan56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salarlymm, General Manager at Cafe Salar, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Fan56

Please accept my sincere apologies about your recent experience.
Unfortunately, as the dish you have ordered is not on our menu and we have had no complaints made to staff regarding similar dishes around the time you have made your review I cannot comment fully at this time
I would appreciate if you could email me directly to discuss the details of your complaint so we can move forwards with rectifying the situation and changing your impression of our venue, my email is simon@cafesalarlymm.co.uk

I look forward to hearing from you soon

regards

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Food, Drinks and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

What can I say....... me and my friends can't seem to stop coming here :) simon and his team are doing everything right :D I asked for a recomended vodka cocktail to drink sadly I cant remmember the name of it but it was amazing!! The food is also excellent, I highly recomend everyone to go, be it for food or drink. I can't wait till the next time I'm there, thanks guys

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesWG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cant Get Enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Love this place! The food, the service, the staff, the cocktails :) all amazing!
Everytime I go its perfect :D Thanks guys!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Salar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing