We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft and scam”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Theft and scam”
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Whilst using the facilities for a conference the "Locked" room was accessed whilst we ate lunch. A wallet was taken and then through spoof phone calls a substancial amount of money was taken out of the targets bank account.

Having read the reviews I see that another user had items stolen.

This again may not be the hotels fault but as ever be vigilant!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    267
    219
    70
    46
See reviews for
184
289
29
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We booked very last minute for a New Year package and did wonder what we would get as the Lymm Hotel seemed to be the only one anywhere in the UK with New Year's Eve vacancies! However, we were very pleased with everything. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist and all the staff we met throughout our stay were helpful and polite. The room was in the annexe and I have to agree that this could do with some updating. The stair carpet was badly worn on the edges, so much so that I almost caught my heel in it. The room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom had bath and shower, although the avocado bathroom suite did remind me of the 70's, but eh why replace a perfectly good bathroom just because the colour is out of fashion!!!! As it was New Year there were several functions taking place and we had a very enjoyable evening, my only gripe being that the music was over loud but that is probably because I am not as young as I was!!!! The food was excellent, both at the evening meal and at breakfast. The staff were exceptional, all working very hard to ensure guests enjoyed themselves and I was more than surprised to see some of them on duty in the morning after what must have been a very tiring late night for them. I would certainly stay at this hotel again, it was good value for money and is located in a very nice village of Lymm, with beautiful countryside surrounding it, ideal for country walks if thus inclined. I am so pleased we didn't take too much notice of the reviews on here and decided to chance it, the hotel was far better than many more expensive ones I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2009

I stayed at the McDonald Lymm Hotel for one night in November with my husband. We had a good deal and overall we felt it was value for money.

Positives:

Staff are very polite and helpful
Pleasant location within walking distance into Lymm village - plenty of restaurants and pubs
Sky Sports on TV
Breakfast (average)

Negatives:

Room was dated especially the bathroom
Bed was quite hard - both woke up with an aching back

Whilst we were there, a wedding party had hired the function and whilst they were waiting for the main evening event, the whole of the wedding party occupied the residents bar. This made us feel as though we would be gatecrashing the wedding and chose to go off site to eat and drink.

Upon returning at 10.10pm - the party was in full swing and to be honest the noise did not reach our room. We asked for a snack menu but the kitchens were closed, the staff very kindly offered us cold sandwiches. Within 10 minutes we each received a tuna sandwich with salad and crisps - charged £11 and although we were grateful and cannot prove it - we certainly believe they were brought from the wedding buffet!!! Stale and crusty!!

Overall it is ok for a one night stop off providing you only pay Travelodge rates.

Lymm itself is a pretty village with enough eateries to choose from.

Very quiet location with no amenities so you need the car to explore.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Stopped at this hotel on an away weekend business trip, we had hired a room for our meeting and I went straight there so did not check in until after the meeting; a useful touch here might be that the hotel checks you in and brings the key to you at the meeting.

The check in was fine and the ample free parking is great, my immediate impressions of the room were “Laura Ashley” as most UK country hotels are, but the bed was comfy and warm. There was no mini bar, but there were tea and coffee facilities. A surprising, but pleasant aspect of the TV channels was the Sky Sports channels being available in the rooms, so no forcing to watch you to watch sports in the bar – well done hotel. Also, the breakfast was excellent, good variety and plenty of it.

Unfortunately, we now hit the problems, while we were there a wedding was on and whilst this was not a problem the service in the restaurant was worst than appalling. I am not even sure that the lack of staff was a problem just the lack of training / application of the staff that were there. As I mentioned a wedding was on during our stay and the hotel rooms in the main block wrap around the bar area and function room and this was a problem, fortunately I can sleep so, this was not a problem, but any light sleeper would have a problem.

Would I stay there again, probably, as this is the only decent local hotel to Lymm.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

We frequently stay here when visiting relatives in Lymm. Nice hotel, breakfast really good. Reception will charge ext5ra if tehy can get away with it. When will managment take notice of the many comments about updating the bedrooms which really need doing. I suspect they realise that being the most convenient hotel in proximity to the village then they don't really have to bother.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyld0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2009

Reasonable hotel if a little tired in some areas requiring refurbishment. Whilst staying my room was broken into. Laptop, carkeys, briefcase etc...

Whilst I would mention that this is not necessarily the fault of the hotel...security seemed lacking...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirectorateYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lymm hotels

Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Lymm hotel for two nights over the August bank holiday as were going to a festival nearby in Daresbury. The hotel is, as mentioned in a few reviews, dated and old fashioned. Our room was located in an annex outside the main reception and restaurant building. It was spacious with a double and single bed plus en-suite bathroom. The shower was great with lots of hot water. We were provided with plenty of towels (extra ones were left outside our room by housekeeping whilst we had a lazy ly-in!!) Tea and coffee are provided in the room along with hairdryer, ironing board and iron. The decor could be updated to fit in with the current trends however the room was very comfortable.

The price for the two nights was very reasonable, plus breakfast was included which was very good too. During breakfast was also the only time we came in contact with staff other than those on reception and I have to say they were very polite and attentive, however there was one lady (who I would hazard a guess as being some sort of supervisor) who thought it appropriate to shout at another member of staff accross the dining room whilst stood next to our table!

Overall the hotel met all our needs for the weekend and I would possible return perhaps if we were thinking of going to the nearby festival again next year. The nearby towns seemed nice as we drove through therefore might be worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
450 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
962 reviews
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing