We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Customer Service”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

On business with a couple of colleagues but not staying at Lymm Hotel. Popped in for a meal and watch England go out of the World Cup. Could not have been looked after any better. Great food, table service for drinks. Very friendly, welcoming and personable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonvom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    256
    213
    68
    44
See reviews for
175
278
29
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I must admit I was a little put off by one or two of the reviews but, from experience, know that this can sometimes be misleading. Our first stay was faultless - from the friendly reception staff, very helpful evening bar and restaurant staff (who delivered excellent service even thought we were the last diners in) through to the excellent fresh cooked breakfast and super friendly and efficient waiters and waitresses who served it. The decor is in keeping with the age of the hotel, bed was comfy and rooms very clean. I booked a second stay on the strength of this and wasn't disappointed second time around. Just take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt - I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world and must say I was more than happy with the Lymm Hotel and will be staying again.

Room Tip: Room 201 is on the top floor and has a big bathroom but can get warm and there is a little bit of tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthurlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Lymm is a great little place for an overnight stay with some lovely restaurants. There are only two hotels in Lymm and this hotel is by far the most convenient of the two. It's just a few minutes walk into the centre of the village.

We have stayed here many times over the last 12 years and it doesn't really change. it is very clean with professional staff. Bathrooms are in need of an update as they remain very 70's/80's in style but as long as you get a good deal,price wise, it's doesn't matter if you have to live with a green bathroom suite !!

It is somewhat inconvenient to have to walk from the adjoining room blocks to the main building containing the restaurant, especially if it's raining, but breakfast is really good at this hotel.It is always freshly cooked and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere at breakfast time.

There is ample free parking which is a bonus, within a minutes walk of reception.

It's probably not a great place for those of limited mobility or wheelchair users as there is no lift and quite a few steps around the buildings.

To sum up I would recommend The Lymm Hotel as long as the price is sensible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building if you don't want to have to walk across the car park to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DingleDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review and it was lovely to see you back with us. I was glad that you enjoyed your stay and I noticed that you picked up on our strong points. The location - easy distance to the motorway and the centre of the village a short walk away - made full use of our complimentary car parking and the breakfast which is always very well received by our guests.
Thank you for your comment about our professional team.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Here as part of an event group, admittedly I never expect much of chain hotel food. However the food here is genuinely awful. A fish cake that resembles a findus crispy pancake, followed by chicken (very dry) and mashed potato that tasted suspiciously like it may have been filled out with Smash left me hungry. So I forced myself to have dessert. The single worst dessert I have ever encountered. A flat patty of moist and heavy toffee sponge, topped with an indescribably thick and unctuous toffee sauce. Topped with strawberry (?) ice cream. Most unpleasant and really very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read that you were not impressed by the quality of the meal that you had for your dinner. It has been brought to my attention that the unfortunately the whole group sat down much later than anticipated in the evening and this did impact on the meal. We do normally get very good comments about our responsibly sourced food and it is in this area that we do stand out in the market.
It was good to read that you were satisfied with your overnight stay and breakfast and found the location very beneficial.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lymm hotels

Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed for one night at The Lymm as part of a group of 24 for a 90th birthday event. My partner and I had a very nice, well appointed room in the main building, which was very clean and comfortable and not at all tired in decor.

The birthday do was well organised and served by a good humoured and friendly staff and I thought the food was excellent. Breakfast the following morning was tasty, well cooked and plentiful.

My only criticisms were that the hotel was fiercely overheated and that ending breakfast service at 10am on a Sunday is a little too early.........resulting in an extremely over-busy dining room between 9.30 and 10 and a frantic gallop to breakfast after a late night!

Room Tip: Think the main house seems like the best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tobykizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words in your review, though I would like to think that it is not a surprise when you come to a hotel within the Macdonald group.
It was wonderful to read that you found the hotel good and that all the arrangements for the private party excellent. We do receive a lot of great feedback about our food and it was good to see that this was mirrored in the food served for your party.
We have tried to offer breakfast for a longer service period but have found that whatever time it is served until, the last half an hour tends to be very busy and would recommend that guests come a bit earlier to avoid any possible disappointment.
Thank you once again for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

we stayed two nights, our first night we dined in the hotel restaurant.The starters were fine but the main courses were rather disappointing my wife had batter fish and home made hand cut chips, the were soggy and overcooked, like they flashed in the fryer to try to reheat them. I had the Lamb shoulder with mash and vegetables, the amount of mash and vegetables was huge to to size of the rolled lamb, by the time I removed the skin that held it together I don't think there were was a 100gms of meat left. However I did complain to the restaurant manager and he said he would arrange another portion of lamb but that would take 20 minutes to cook, so I declined. We left the restaurant and sat in the bar, where the restaurant manager said he would not charge me for my meal. which I accepted, but I should have an acceptable meal in the first place. Regarding the hotel it is rather tired as other reviews have mentioned but very clean. In our room we had a single and double bed, but the double had only one bedside table so I had to book, teacup etc on the floor. Lastly the biggest problem to me as it was raining we had to walk through the rain from our room to the main hotel, there is no direct access to the main hotel building.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveKalavilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffy12
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Lymm Hotel from arriving until departure, pre allocated nice room, tasty bar snacks for lunch ,excellent restaurant with gorgeous sirloin steaks, super breakfast, car parking on door step and a lovely village too look around, would certainly recommend for short break or business , wedding venue. Thanks too all the team for making our stay perfect.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
3.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing