We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs some TLC”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ulverston
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but needs some TLC”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Rooms are reasonably sized, clean and comfortable, but are a little tired looking and out of date so are in need of redecoration.

Beakfast as ever with Macdonald hotels is very good.

The location of the hotel is good. A short walk from Lymm and close to M6.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thinboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It was wonderful to get such good comments about the breakfast and the cleanliness and state of the room.
Your comments about the revamping of the rooms has been noted and rest assured that we are in the process of redecorating all our rooms.
Looking forward to wecoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    267
    223
    72
    47
See reviews for
185
292
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights to attend a family party on the Saturday night with my wife.

On first appearence the hotel is quite nice, there is car parking to the rear with plenty of parking, which is free.

The reception and communal areas are also quite nice, the breakfast room, which is also where the party was held is very nice as is the bar area which is quite relaxing and contempary, bar prices are quite reasonable too.

Booking in and out was a bit tedious, we had to wait about 15 minutes on both occasions as the one receptionist was trying to sort out a problem with someone else, maybe another member of staff could have been called...

I have to say the room was a real let down, Im sure the hotel have heard this a million times but with an advocado bathroom suite it was like a 1980's time capsual. Toilet didnt work properly in that it took half hour to refill, and the hot water was near scalding. The room would have been an adequate size if they hadnt put an extra single bed in the room which we neither wanted nor asked for. It made th room very cramped. The bed was ok, nothing to shout about though, just a bed. I will say that the room and all parts of the hotel were very clean.

Breakfast was really nice, on the first morning it was served to table due to the hotel being quiet, very impressed, the second moring, due to it being at capacity it was buffy style, still very nice. However breakfast was only served between 8 and 10, this could have been a wider time scale.

In the main the staff were very helpful, very good at the bar and at breakfast. On the night of the party the bar was serving 2 functions, the bar coped very well and never had to wait long to get served.

To summarise this is a half decent hotel let down by the outdated rooms. Its a short walk from the village centre which is really nice. The sign board outside the hotel shows 3 stars and you can see that it used to be four as one star has been painted out. A shame because if it tried, im sure it could be four star again, however this would take some expensive refurbishment when times are hard.

We paid 70 pounds a night which I would say was ok although I have had better for less money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liamwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your balanced comments concerning your stay.
It was good to read that you found the public areas of the hotel attractive and the service during your stay and during the party very satisfactory.
Although some of our bathrooms have got the original bathrooms, many have since been updated and revamped.
Some rooms have got a single as well as a double room as a standard.
The easy access to the village and to the trans pennine way is a big advantage for us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as we were attending a birthday function.

The room was strange, an avocado bathroom suite and the hot tap was scorching within about two seconds with no happy medium. The shower was also difficult to get to a good temperature.

The room was clean and an ok size.

When we checked in it took ages- there was only one couple in front of us yet it still meant us queuing for ten minutes.

The whole hotel is a little tired looking and could do with redecorating, however it was clean throughout and generally the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The bar was reasonably priced- however there was only one bar and two private functions underway it was too crowded, as if they were trying to fit too many people in however we did still get served very professionally and friendly without having to wait long.

The buffet at the party was lovely, as was the room itself- the village of Lymm is very pretty with lots of lovely pubs and restaurants.

The breakfast on the Saturday morning was lovely with plenty of choice, and was served to the table- very fresh and well presented. On the Sunday however it was a struggle to even get in the breakfast room as the hotel was full and I suspect struggling to serve everyone within the two hour breakfast slot. On the Sunday the breakfast was buffet style and there was less choice of hot food and it wasn't as fresh- however it was still adequate.

All in all the service was good, however the hotel itself needs a bit of work

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shazkowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It was good to read that the function that you attended went very well, that you found the hotel clean and to your expectations.
We are in the process of redecorating our bedrooms in order to give them a fresher appeal.
Having access to Lymm Village just up the road is a great advantage with the Trans Pennine Way and the Bridgewater Canal tow path literally just a stone's throw away.
We do receive a lot of praise for our breakfast and on that Sunday in particular we did encourage guests to come before 9am to avoid disappointment with possible queuing.
Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

we attended a wedding at the hotel and stayed overnight . the celebrations and organisation first class food top draw . staff good . there it ends we stayed in room 109 my son and daughter in law stayed in rom 112. these rooms being in the main building . there was also a 50th birthday at the same hotel . the wedding celebrations ended at 12 midnight. the birthday should have finished at 1 am . unfortuneatly our rooms were right over the function room . the floor was vibrating with the noise . my son had his 17month old baby with him . was this just a bad oversight on a well organised hotel or what . 2am still very rowdy . i rang the reception for 15 minutes but got no answer . we had even been down to ask for the music to be turned down . certainly not the parties fault just bad management . if you go there on a function avoid these rooms ask for the annexe . our toilet seat hinges were disgusting well soiled. the hotel itself was very clean down stairs .

Room Tip: check the toilet seats ours was disgusting the toilet seat hinges well soiled
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestfriendted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Very dated. Expensive, we where charged £80 for the night, we where attending a wedding on our anniversary which I mentioned on booking. We where given a room with 2 single beds shoved together.
Bathroom was a blast from 70s with its advocado suite.
There where no duvets for the beds. Had to ask for blankets and was given cheap, nylon fleece that created static.

The tea and coffee was shoved in wardrobe due to lack of space and we only had one bath and 1 hand towel for 2 of us.
Breakfast, we had to q for 15 mins to be greeted by fried eggs swimming in an inch of grease. Nice selection of cereal and fruit but the cooked breakfast was luke warm and not very nice

I wouldnt recommend . Far too expensive, shabby and the reception staff where unfriendly.
I have written to their customer service to express displeasure as well

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lymm hotels

lance
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is quite dated in deco in the bedrooms, we paid £80.00 for the two of us for bed and breakfast, It realy could do with a refurb, beds not that great, constant sound of water running through the walls (strange). Funinture old and tatty. We stayed here as we were attending a wedding, there was no room left for my son so he booked the travel lodge by the motoway only about two miles away. £20.00 for the room, nice, modern and clean, and just £8 for a taxi from the hotel to the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having been to Valentine Dinner Dances here for the previous 2 or 3 years as well as Mothers Day Lunches we had no hesitation in booking again for Valentine Dinner Dance on Saturday 16th February 2013. Excellent food and entertainment. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. We hope to go back for the Mothers Day lunch which again has always been excellent in the past.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,466 reviews
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#10 of 21 in Warrington
457 reviews
5.8 mi away
Cottons Hotel & Spa
Cottons Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Knutsford
977 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Warrington
Holiday Inn Warrington
#13 of 21 in Warrington
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing