We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag......”
Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as we were attending a birthday function.

The room was strange, an avocado bathroom suite and the hot tap was scorching within about two seconds with no happy medium. The shower was also difficult to get to a good temperature.

The room was clean and an ok size.

When we checked in it took ages- there was only one couple in front of us yet it still meant us queuing for ten minutes.

The whole hotel is a little tired looking and could do with redecorating, however it was clean throughout and generally the staff were very friendly and helpful.

The bar was reasonably priced- however there was only one bar and two private functions underway it was too crowded, as if they were trying to fit too many people in however we did still get served very professionally and friendly without having to wait long.

The buffet at the party was lovely, as was the room itself- the village of Lymm is very pretty with lots of lovely pubs and restaurants.

The breakfast on the Saturday morning was lovely with plenty of choice, and was served to the table- very fresh and well presented. On the Sunday however it was a struggle to even get in the breakfast room as the hotel was full and I suspect struggling to serve everyone within the two hour breakfast slot. On the Sunday the breakfast was buffet style and there was less choice of hot food and it wasn't as fresh- however it was still adequate.

All in all the service was good, however the hotel itself needs a bit of work

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank shazkowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It was good to read that the function that you attended went very well, that you found the hotel clean and to your expectations.
We are in the process of redecorating our bedrooms in order to give them a fresher appeal.
Having access to Lymm Village just up the road is a great advantage with the Trans Pennine Way and the Bridgewater Canal tow path literally just a stone's throw away.
We do receive a lot of praise for our breakfast and on that Sunday in particular we did encourage guests to come before 9am to avoid disappointment with possible queuing.
Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 777 of 896 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

we attended a wedding at the hotel and stayed overnight . the celebrations and organisation first class food top draw . staff good . there it ends we stayed in room 109 my son and daughter in law stayed in rom 112. these rooms being in the main building . there was also a 50th birthday at the same hotel . the wedding celebrations ended at 12 midnight. the birthday should have finished at 1 am . unfortuneatly our rooms were right over the function room . the floor was vibrating with the noise . my son had his 17month old baby with him . was this just a bad oversight on a well organised hotel or what . 2am still very rowdy . i rang the reception for 15 minutes but got no answer . we had even been down to ask for the music to be turned down . certainly not the parties fault just bad management . if you go there on a function avoid these rooms ask for the annexe . our toilet seat hinges were disgusting well soiled. the hotel itself was very clean down stairs .

Room Tip: check the toilet seats ours was disgusting the toilet seat hinges well soiled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestfriendted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very dated. Expensive, we where charged £80 for the night, we where attending a wedding on our anniversary which I mentioned on booking. We where given a room with 2 single beds shoved together.
Bathroom was a blast from 70s with its advocado suite.
There where no duvets for the beds. Had to ask for blankets and was given cheap, nylon fleece that created static.

The tea and coffee was shoved in wardrobe due to lack of space and we only had one bath and 1 hand towel for 2 of us.
Breakfast, we had to q for 15 mins to be greeted by fried eggs swimming in an inch of grease. Nice selection of cereal and fruit but the cooked breakfast was luke warm and not very nice

I wouldnt recommend . Far too expensive, shabby and the reception staff where unfriendly.
I have written to their customer service to express displeasure as well

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is quite dated in deco in the bedrooms, we paid £80.00 for the two of us for bed and breakfast, It realy could do with a refurb, beds not that great, constant sound of water running through the walls (strange). Funinture old and tatty. We stayed here as we were attending a wedding, there was no room left for my son so he booked the travel lodge by the motoway only about two miles away. £20.00 for the room, nice, modern and clean, and just £8 for a taxi from the hotel to the lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Having been to Valentine Dinner Dances here for the previous 2 or 3 years as well as Mothers Day Lunches we had no hesitation in booking again for Valentine Dinner Dance on Saturday 16th February 2013. Excellent food and entertainment. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. We hope to go back for the Mothers Day lunch which again has always been excellent in the past.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

'Jon and I would like to say a MASSIVE thank you to you and all the team for making our wedding just perfect. Everything went according to plan, we could not fault one thing!

Your staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. The rooms were dressed perfectly and everyone loved their bedrooms.

Please pass on our thanks to the chef...... the food was simply gorgeous and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. The evening buffet went down a treat too. We will certainly be back at the hotel for a meal!! :))

We definitely made the best decision to hold our wedding at Lymm Hotel; it was warm, friendly - just perfect!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My sister had her wedding ceremony and reception here, the day was utterly ruined! The staff botched everything up, they didn't know what was going on. They messed our room reservations up and charged us an extra £100 extra than the quoted price for a grotty little bedroom. When it came to the wedding day, the wedding organiser just decided to have a day off so it was the best man and myself organising everything when it should have been the staff to sort everything out. The staff were extremely rude and my sister the bride had to call reception from her bedroom to complain an hour before her wedding as nothing was getting organised. The wedding breakfast was average and nothing special. And to top it all off, the staff were making fun and being rude to my little nephew who had lost his hair due to chemotherapy treatment and started to tease him about having cancer. This was utterly unacceptable!

Room Tip: Don't share a double bed as you won't get to sleep as the mattresses are too springy and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VMM_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. As you know this wedding was over 14 months ago and I have had discussions with the bride and groom since their wonderful day with us when there were a couple of issues that were rapidly addressed. Unfortunately your language portrays a totally inaccurate picture.The bride and groom have since then expressed their gratitude and we have had over one hundred and sixty weddings that have gone very smoothly over the course of the last two years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#7 of 22 in Warrington
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
3.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 22 in Warrington
1,389 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range: $72 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing