We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't organise anything!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lymm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lymm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't organise anything!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My sister had her wedding ceremony and reception here, the day was utterly ruined! The staff botched everything up, they didn't know what was going on. They messed our room reservations up and charged us an extra £100 extra than the quoted price for a grotty little bedroom. When it came to the wedding day, the wedding organiser just decided to have a day off so it was the best man and myself organising everything when it should have been the staff to sort everything out. The staff were extremely rude and my sister the bride had to call reception from her bedroom to complain an hour before her wedding as nothing was getting organised. The wedding breakfast was average and nothing special. And to top it all off, the staff were making fun and being rude to my little nephew who had lost his hair due to chemotherapy treatment and started to tease him about having cancer. This was utterly unacceptable!

Room Tip: Don't share a double bed as you won't get to sleep as the mattresses are too springy and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VMM_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments. As you know this wedding was over 14 months ago and I have had discussions with the bride and groom since their wonderful day with us when there were a couple of issues that were rapidly addressed. Unfortunately your language portrays a totally inaccurate picture.The bride and groom have since then expressed their gratitude and we have had over one hundred and sixty weddings that have gone very smoothly over the course of the last two years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    249
    207
    68
    43
See reviews for
171
272
28
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have attended many luncheons at this hotel. To my mind it is underrated. Yes, it could do with a bit of a re-vamp but it has an excellent Hotel Manager & good staff generally who make up for any shortfall in the surroundings. The hotel caters well for luncheons for groups of 80+ numbers & has always provided what we have requested & what has been agreed beforehand.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and its wonderful to hear that we have got good support from the local community. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I like staying at the Lyme mainly because of the location, the staff are very friendly and they serve a very good breakfast cooked to order. The rooms are clean with everything you need but just in need of a bit of a revamp. The public areas are smart enough and the restaurant has a good menu. The bonus of staying at the Lymm is that you are only a short walk in to the lovely village; you can walk along the road or along the tow path and when there you have a choice of at least ten eating places all within 300 yards, Italian, Thai, Chinese, and Indian etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancisUddingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words and its lovely to have confirmed that we have got the advantage of being in a quiet area with excellent cuisine of our own with specifically sourced food in our restaurant, and also within easy walking distance of the centre of the village of Lymm with its own numerous dining possibilities. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Lymm Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Lymm hotel as I tend to be in Trafford a lot on business, and usually frequent premier inn or holiday inn express closer to the city. I decided to move out to the sticks for a change.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, based in the quiet backwater of Lymm but close enough to main motorways and Manchester itself.

The hotel looks dated from the outside, and likewise within, the rooms are comfortable but again decor and equipment could do with a refresh.

The bar/grill area has obviously been more recently refurbished and has a relaxed ambience ideal to unwind after a busy day.

Bar prices are expensive, as is the food, which although the menu suggests is made from all fresh ingredients clearly iSnt, as the pate I had as starters was clearly but from a block, and the mash with my main was obviously not freshly mashed potato either. If you are going to charge £12 for sausage and mash from fresh ingredients then at least make the effort!
That said the food and drinks were ok, palatable, but nothingto write home about, and slightly over priced!

One big positive is the breakfast, which was faultless, well cooked, and presented.

The thing that makes this hotel stand out more than anything is the attentive and caring staff. All of them were fantastic ambassadors for the hotel and made me feel very welcome.

With plenty of free parking, and b+b for less than £70 I am likely to be back, just need to find a better local haunt for some evening grub!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and its good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are in the process of changing our menu and reviewing our beverage structure, however - apart from the mashed potato - point taken and our Chef is on the case! - we do need to cover the additional cost for the responsibly sourced and in most cases organic food that we offer. Please contact me on your next visit and I am sure that we can arrange your dining plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel staff were helpful and welcoming. The food was good and the breakfast was great. However, the rooms were tired, well used and dated. They are also not at all soundproof so I would take some ear plugs if you want to ensure a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leathershoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed both your evening meal and your breakfast with our responsibly sourced and in many cases organic food. Your comment about certain aspects of the room has been noted and the will be included in our refurbishment programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Can't grumble about anything bar the rooms which, as others have said, are right out of the 70s.

The breakfast was great, bar fine, staff nice enough, it's just the rooms that mean I would be unlikely to stay there again unless I wanted to film an episode of Life on Mars.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and found the staff here at the Lymm Hotel very pleasant.
Your comment about the rooms has been noted and we have got a rolling refubishment programme in place with some excellent rooms but in the traditional style that reflects our hotel.
Give me a call on your next visit so that I can show you around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
201 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights to attend a wedding. We were given a room in what was referred to as the family wing because we had two children. The room just about held four beds which were all proper beds, one bed had been put in as the extra bed but I don't think even with just three beds it was a very spacious room ! The decor was early 1990s. There was a kettle and a decent amount of tea etc. A notice said you could phone for fresh milk if you did not want the little plastic things of milk.
The bathroom had black mould round the bath and some large cracks in the tiles. There was holes hacked out of the wall below the sink. Having said that, it was clean.
The room was very dark indeed, overshadowed by trees and another building. It was necessary to have lights on at all times. I am afraid to say that we did not get much sleep on the first night, so much for being in the family wing as the last family went to bed at 1.30 !(very noisily, standing talking in the corridor outside our room and going in and out til 2.20 when it all culminated with a man shouting at a toddler to stop crying) The walls were quite thin and each time a door shut it sounded like it was our door ! The door to our corridor led straight to outside and so I did not leave the children in the room even when asleep, it was a bit too public.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and were impressed with the standard of the food and the service. The children had lovely puddings (I had one too, they were so good!) and the overall standard of cooking was high. Breakfast is indeed worth having, self service for everything bar hot drinks and toast, but of a high quality and a great choice. The staff were first rate and seemed really motivated, service at breakfast was five star. It was almost like being in one hotel for the rooms and another for the food !
The hotel is heavily geared towards functions with a wedding every day when we were there and as I have mentioned some of the guests were a bit less than thoughtful and well mannered ref late night noise in the "family" block so if you plan to stay here check where they are putting you if you have young children ! A shame as it would be a good base as the centre of Lymm has nice restaurants and you can get to the M6 Chester, Merseyside and the Wirral really easily.

Room Tip: Do not sleep in the "family" wing, ask for one away from the functions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squawky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasteiner, General Manager at The Lymm Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your interesting comments.
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay for the wedding and found it a good base to visit the Northwest. We do welcome children and have many family style rooms sleeping three and four together with menus designed for children..
We are very proud of our catering which was bourne out by your views on your dinner and breakfast experience.
It is unfortunate that some guests are not very thoughtful about other guests late at night but we do have areas of the hotel which are very quiet even when we have got one of our many events going on.
When you want to vist the area and want to use us as a base - give me a call!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymm
0.7 mi away
Statham Lodge Hotel
1.9 mi away
ibis Budget Warrington Lymm Services
4.7 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
437 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Warrington (M6/J21) Hotel
3.1 mi away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lymm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lymm Hotel

Property: The Lymm Hotel
Address: 15 Whitbarrow Road | Warrington, Lymm WA13 9AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Lymm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lymm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lymm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lymm Hotel is ideal for the business traveller, offering quick and easy access to the whole of the North West. Situated just minutes from the M6 and M56 motorways, both Manchester and Liverpool are within easy reach of this hotel. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, guests can take advantage of free, unlimited WiFi powered by The Cloud throughout the hotel. Dining at The Lymm Hotel is a delicious experience. Our Bridgewater Restaurant serves sumptuous dishes prepared by highly trained chefs using only the finest local ingredients. The Steak and Gill Lounge offers a more relaxed and informal setting where guests can enjoy a perfectly cooked steak in the evening and light meals throughout the day, great for catching up with friends or a quick business lunch. With so much to see and do in the local area, be sure to take time to visit Tatton Park and Arley Hall & Gardens which are both within easy reach of the hotel, as are the many attractions of Manchester, Liverpool and Chester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lymm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lymm Hotel Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing