We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites”
Review of The Church Green

The Church Green
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Lymm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Fantastic food, service and atmosphere time after time. I fail to be disappointed with this place after going back on multiples times with friends and family.
I'm so glad it is now a decent pub rather than trying to be a fancy restaurant.
The menu is so varied from great value pub classics to something a little bit different showing the flair of Aiden Byrne.
Service is always first class too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simon777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    165
    129
    101
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a let down”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Went a couple of weeks ago,
Service ok,
Aiden Byrne should be ashamed of himself for having his name on this restaurant!
Celebrity chef?
I've been to manchester house and enjoyed a truly incredible meal and evening,
The food at the church green was verging on inedible,
Starter of linguine was the only nice dish!
Fish pie so stodgy, gluppy lacking any quality, no real chunks of fish, the burgers too small and over cooked, and totally lacking any seasoning, probably thawed from freezer batch! Chips were nice but how hard is it to make chips!
The staff were very surprised when we asked for the bill straight after mains!
Waited 36 mins between starter and mains!
Not sure why everyone was stuffed together in the warm conservatory!
With the rest of the place pretty much empty!
Will not be returning, maybe this place has had its day LONG ago.

Disappointed diner :(

Helpful?
8 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fab meal ”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We did buy this as a living social deal but it was one of the loveliest steaks we had in a long time. Great desserts and wines too. The service was friendly but discreet on what was a quiet Monday evening. It wasn't fine dining but very good all the same. Would recommend a trip.

Helpful?
Thank happyholiday2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing Special but very expensive”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Went on a Thursday night had a table booked for 8pm.
The first table we were given was next to 2 couples one with a crying baby, we were moved upon request.
We had expected the place to have more atmosphere and be smarted. It was clean, no sticky tables but the wooden tabled had warped so you plate rocked when eating.
The food was ok but very expensive. We had the steak platter with 2 sorts of chips and some sides - really not worth £70. The steak lacked taste and was served on a wooden board so by the time we had taken some each the rest was cold. The lard chips were ok but again needed to some seasoning, the fries were a bit soggy. Onion rings were fab, best part of the meal.
We did not have starters as not sure we could eat these plus the platter, starters are all £7.50 - £10, we were going to have desert but again nothing stood out and did not want to spend another £18 on desserts in case they were also a let down.
Would not go back. Maybe owned by a celebrity chef but he wa not the one doing the cooking when we were there.
Spend over £100 on a main, bottle wine and some sides - there are much nicer places to eat in the area with much more attentive staff just felt a bit ripped off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great meal in Lymm”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I took my wife here for her Birthday dinner, away from the kids. We go a few times a year, and are always delighted with our whole experience. The staff are fabulous, they remember us and greet as friends, which is lovely. No matter what you order from the menu, you are going to get something wonderful, and if you're not sure (it's an agonising decision) the attentive waiting staff are happy to help, with their detailed knowledge of the menu and wine list. I was pleased to see that The Church Green now offers more traditional options alongside their fancier choices, but whatever you order it will be prepared and cooked with the same care and skill. We enjoyed the ambiance and décor, not too fussy or artificial, nor overcrowded, and there was never that feeling that the staff want you to hurry up and go, like you get in other places sometimes. I was amazed at how quickly our food came, piping hot and perfectly cooked.

I would say The Church Green offers value for money, certainly it's not a cheap place to eat, but you get what you pay for, and I'd rather pay a little more for something delightful, than as little as possible for vast quantities of mediocrity. I'm looking forward to going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macman2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Church Green also viewed

 

Been to The Church Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing