We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party venue superb”
Review of Oaklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weaverham
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Party venue superb”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great party there.Food was great they had a live band on as well?the hotel is set in beautiful grounds with an outdoor terrace fantastic if the weather is good.Cant praise enough.I am planning a birthday party in December so with a bit of luck we may get snow on the ground and with all the lights should be very christmassy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 421Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    6
    5
    15
See reviews for
21
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Thanks to the wonderfull staff at the oaklands my 50th birthday party was a smash hit
i arranged for about 150 of my freinds from far and wide to attend what prommissed to be
a great night and i was not dissapointed . From first booking my party to the very night it was
great . i had a lot to arrange with a band and a Dj and dressing the room the staff was amazing
so helpfull . Everyone commented on what a great room it was , we did it out like 70 disco mirror ball and everthing they even projected my name on the wall made me feel very special .As for the Buffet it was top draw and what was good about it they let it run on through the night . i love dipping in again later after a few pints ha ha . The dj was brill played all my fave tunes and some i hadnt got a clue on for the kids well done .i will sure be back to celibrate my wifes birthday once again Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted with "you must pay before I give you the room key" nice.

After twenty minutes of them messing about trying to find out if our rooms were ready we finally entered the room to find dirty towels, a powerless shower and only 30 seconds of hot water. There was a draft and the windows wouldn't shut properly. Random coat hangers in the wardrobe. Bed sheets were ancient and the bed felt very uncomfortable too.

To top it all off there was a wedding party that went on until 4am, which was not the parties fault, but I've never known a hotel allow other guests to be checked in to a hotel where a wedding party with live music is to be hosted.


Will not recommend this hotel even as a last resort, ever.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weaverham hotels

Eccles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had our staff christmas party there last year (in Feb, don't ask), and it was one of the most depressing nights of my life. Partly due to the food, which was very very basic, cheap and nasty pate with a sad looking bit of lettuce and tomato and some rubbery bits of white toast, followed by a carvery. If you know you're going to a carvery you should always lower your expectations, it's true, (unless you really love overcooked dried out food), but this was as bad as it gets. I suspected it had been reheated from lunchtime or the day before, because I can't imagine how else they made the meat so dry and the roast potatoes quite so rubbery, the veg was your basic peas and carrots and were surely out of a tin, they were so mushy and tasteless. I don't know what the pudding was like, because after a few mouthfuls of the main course, I cut my losses and went home to egg on toast and the telly.

Apart from the food, the venue wasn't much either, it was like a barn, very cold and draughty and felt very grubby.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisSamsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We dropped in looking for somewhere to have dinner. We became aware that two weddings were being catered for and so expected to be turned away. Not at all! Our order was taken andwe were well looked after - we might have been the only guests! Good meal, superb service, couldn't have been made more welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timidimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

After a lovely drive over from North Wales we found the Oaklands without a problem. Lovely location / setting and a great spot for the civil marriage ceremony that we were there to attend on the Saturday.

Plus side: The location, grounds and the overall wedding package were lovely and it appeared that every effort was being made to make the bridge & groom´s day a day to remember. And they certainly succeeded in that. Also the over-worked staff went out of their way to help where they could, they were great, just not enough of them for a busy weekend. But ...

Down side: The rooms were freezing cold, and remained that way all weekend. We were lucky we managed to get a fan heater from reception otherwise we would have packed our bags and moved out. The wardrobe in our room was broken (but at least we had one unlike another couple who went to hang their things up - no warbrobe, not even a hook!). Ther was no phone in the room, no information pack - should anything have happened "out of hours" we just do not know what we would have done, or who we were to contact.

Breakfast was nothing special either, our toast and cooked breakfast arrived before we had finished our cereal, and were just left on the table. No salt and pepper and no sugar or milk for our coffee and no marmalade! Toast without marmalade at breakfast - never!

This was one weekend they could and should have planned for, after all the wedding had been booked for a number of weeks, there really should not have been any excuses. Sadly, this is not a venue we will be rushing back to, which is a shame as it is so convenient for friends home and the motorway, we will now have to look elsewhere.

We have been in the hospitality industry, on and off, for over 30yrs, owning and managing all types of hotels and pubs, we know a little of what we are talking about - look at your services before setting your rates!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Match80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My daughter recently had her wedding at The Oaklands Hotel, and it was a huge success from start to finish. From the moment we arrived on the Friday evening, until we checked out on the Sunday, we were treated exceptionally well.
The whole wedding day was perfect, from start to finish. The room was decorated beautifully, with every attention to detail. The Wedding Breakfast was fantastic. The food was outstanding, well cooked, and well presented. All our guests enjoyed it.
My daughter was insistent on having the European Platters for our evening guests, I was a little apprehensive on this, but for no reason. The platters were great, and went down well exception value for money.!!!!

All in all a perfect day. A big thanks to the management and staff for making our daughters wedding, a memorable day, which we will never forget

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weaverham
6.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hartford Hall Hotel
Hartford Hall Hotel
#3 of 3 in Northwich
229 reviews
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
869 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
6.6 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Hotel

Property: Oaklands Hotel
Address: Millington Lane, Weaverham CW8 2SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Weaverham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weaverham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Oaklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaklands Hotel Weaverham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing