We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food quality at Stable Cafe”
Review of Wimpole Estate

Wimpole Estate
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Arrington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original house on this 3,000-acre estate was built for Sir Thomas Chicheley in the 1640s, rebuilt and added to over the years, and finally restored to its proper splendor today.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food quality at Stable Cafe”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great estate to visit with good walks. Visited the Stable Café after our walk and ordered a sausage roll. It was really heavy and unpleasant. Not the sort of food offering I would expect at a venue such as this. Surely not home made? Cakes were, however, nice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    296
    69
    20
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice farm for kiddies”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

At last a sunny day and so off to Wimpole Hall we went. My two and three year old were free so we paid about £16 for two adults. We saw lambs kids cows ducks geese shire horses Shetland ponies turkeys and pigs and there were lots of events that we didn't even get a chance to go to. The picnic area had loads of tables and great little ride on tractors and a climbing frame and slide. Walking back to the car - we didn't even look at the wild walk in the wood but might next time - the girls played hide and seek all the way. Mini milk ice lollies for 50p each were handy then sticky into the car we went. Will def go again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeecarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a great place and so much variety”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We went for a walk in the grounds, it was very busy which show just how popular it is, but whether it is a visit to a magnificent house, a walk in the gardens, with children on the farm or a walk across the farm/parkland this is a great place for a day or even a half day out, or maybe just a couple of hours. Top it of with lunch in the restaurant, or a coffee in the coffee shop there really is soemthing for everyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Good mix of indoor & outdoor attractions...the hall, walled gardens, home farm etc. Weather not good when we went, but that was not their fault, but did mean we mostly stuck to the indoor stuff, ie. hall & excellent restaurant. Restaurant includes lot of produce from their own farm & was wll-priced, fresh and delicious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank damianb239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much more potential and on the slide!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I agree with Nick T about the walled gardens being very disappointing. Unlike the last mentioned reviewer, we did visit the Farm and this has markedly deteriorated since our last visit a couple of years ago. Firstly, pretty much all of the rare breed poultry have been disposed of. Instead, the poultry area has been given over to the razzmatazz associated with childrens adventure activities.
This is supposedly a Rare Breeds Survival Centre and yet I saw a commercial flock of French bred hybrid ducks. Worse still, was a pseudo flock of Light Sussex fowl. The information boards indicated this as being a rare breed block but to my expert eye, these were hybrid fowl masquerading as Light Sussex lookalike. Is this a Trading Standards issue? I gather that although a Rare Breeds Farm originally (is it still?), the farm is now managed by a committee. From what I have seen, the old adage about a horse as designed by a committee turning out to look like a camel may be true. Seriously, this gem as it was is in danger of sliding into mediocrity. Unless the National Trust get their finger out, I may be tempted to review my membership.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony5468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wimpole Estate also viewed

Arrington, Cambridgeshire
Lode, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Wimpole Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing