We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dog in a doublet”
Review of Dog in a Doublet

Dog in a Doublet
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Whittlesey
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dog in a Doublet serves award winning innovative gastro pub food with a twist. It has dining to suit all expectations and budgets. You can see you food being cooked in the open plan kitchen and the head chef is know for appearing on BBC Masterchef. Situated on the banks of the river Nene it boosts some of the best views in the fens and has a farm where much of the food is produced and a petting zoo for guests to enjoy also.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

wasnt many people in ,very dark in there ,cold and staff ok not over friendly, we didnt feel welcome at all

Thank jans_chatterbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dog in a Doublet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello Jan. Thank you for taking your time to write a review. During the week we aren't very busy at the Dog due to current climate and our location, however things are picking up. We do possess two big chandeliers in the restaurant with 8 wall lights. If you found it dark and let us know we could happily move you to a very light area of the restaurant, I also have tables available with heaters right next to them for warmth, just let us know and we will react to the situation. We have never had a comment that the staff are not friendly, we all go out of our way to make you feel welcome, however if you let us know next time we can give you a hug on arrival.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,242 - 1,246 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

What a fantastic experience on a Sunday for carvery and the most exquisite cheesecake came out on a piece of slate drizzled with the strawberry sauce and fresh strawberries. There was a specials board with fish pie with buttered samphire but the carvery seemed to be a good choice very impressed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dog in a Doublet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi Jo, Thank you for the kind review. We are really glad you enjoyed the deconstructed cheesecake, it is an eye-opener and we have plenty of comments regarding them. We are glad you enjoyed your experience and hope you pop in again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went with several friends on a Saturday lunchtime. The menu was varied and there was a specials board. I went for the steak with Stilton sauce. Excellent steak and huge - and I mean huge - home made chips (looked like a Jenga stack!). The portions were generous and the service was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dog in a Doublet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello Mark. Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed our steak and homemade "D" chips; they are quite popular, whether people have been kept entertained by playing Jenga with them hasnt caught on yet, but who knows! We hope to see you back again soon and hopefully we can tick all the stars for you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On Sun I came with my family for my grandson's 7th birthday (we were the ones with the funny hats on - not the Irish ones!) We really are impressed with the atmosphere and the food was delicious -we had the carvery including my 18mth granddaughter. Everyone was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Just what we wanted from a local family pub, We all said that we will be back again including my daughter & partner who lives in Ryhall near Stamford! Well done to all - loved it.
The only downside is that there was no where for my daughter to change her baby's nappy so a place in the toliets would be very helpful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dog in a Doublet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hello Jennie. Thank you for the review we really appreciate it. We love the fact we impressed you and we thought the hats looked great! It means a lot that you will travel to the pub to visit us again. As for the nappy changing facilities we are hoping to get them installed when we have our refurbishment soon. Many thanks for the support again.


Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Visited the Dog in a Doublet on Saturday with some friends and can only that the food and service were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the Raspberry Pavlova was to die for. Highly recommend it and cannot wait to visit again. P.S. Absolutely adore the little dog.
Thank you for a great meal out - Robert & Marion Hoogstraten

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John M, Manager at Dog in a Doublet, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Hi Marion, thank you for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the pavlova and very pleased to hear your recommendation; we really appreciate it. It will be nice to see you both again soon, noodle the cross poodle will be waiting here for you too.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog in a Doublet also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 
Whittlesey, Peterborough
Whittlesey, Peterborough
 
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Dog in a Doublet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing