We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Italian Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vesuvio

Vesuvio
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in Whittlesey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Peterborough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

There are a number of Italian restaurants in Peterborough and its surrounding areas. Some are very good so to stand out a restaurant must serve food of the highest quality. Vesuvio is such a restaurant and we thought some of the dishes we were served were amongst the best Italian food we have eaten in this country. All of our party were impressed by the starters and main courses. The only course that didn’t stand out was the dessert. Two of us ordered tiramisu and, although this was good, it wasn’t up to the standards of some other restaurants; however, this didn’t detract much from our overall experience. In addition to the quality of the food, the restaurant itself was pleasant and staff were friendly and efficient.

We will definitely return to Vesuvio soon and look forward to tasting more of their dishes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Owner at Vesuvio, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for this kind and
honest review of Vesuvio.
We are honoured that you thought our dishes
were "amongst the best Italian food we have eaten "
and we hope to welcome you all back again
soon.
Maria & Peppe
All staff @ Vesuvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    88
    24
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were a party of eleven, everyone was really pleased with the food they'd ordered. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very pleasant and the staff were lovelly. A cracking place to eat, we'll be going again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Givawer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Owner at Vesuvio, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for this kind and honest review,
my staff and I are so pleased you
enjoyed your birthday meal at Vesuvio.
We alwasy try to make it special for all
our customers, and we hope to welcome you
back again soon.
Maria & Peppe
All staff @ Vesuvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

nice to have something a little different in whittlesey, very nice food, quick service, although a little cramped table wise, just a little too close together but saying that, the whole place is only small really. On the whole, lovely food, polite staff, nice owner always comes over and makes time for a chat. Very very reasonable prices. Have eaten here a few times and will continue to do so.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulafromwhittlesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Owner at Vesuvio, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write
us a review, we are so pleased
your enjoyed your meal at Vesuvio.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Maria & Peppe
All staff @ Vesuvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely family run restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my husband, and we absolutely loved it. Maria was so friendly and there was a really welcoming atmosphere. The food was absolutely lovely.

There is so much on the menu, we really were spoilt for choice. We're Looking forward to going back, and trying something new.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Owner at Vesuvio, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for this kind and honest
review, Peppe and I are always try to
meet all our customers and give them
our most heartfelt welcome at Vesuvio.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Maria & Peppe
All staff @ Vesuvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Dined here for the third time this evening and the food was perfect as always. The atmosphere is brilliant and all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Heartily recommended to anyone with a love for Italian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria V, Owner at Vesuvio, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for this review,
we are pleased you enjoyed your meals
at Vesuvio, and hope to welcome you back
soon.
Maria & Peppe
All staff @ Vesuvio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vesuvio also viewed

Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
Whittlesey, Peterborough
 
Whittlesey, Peterborough
Peterborough, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to Vesuvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing