We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal scuba diving accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Falcon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesey
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal scuba diving accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Falcon Hotel

Peterborough
Room was clean and comfortable, very close to the Guildenburgh diving school, very reasonable price including breakfast although I didn't have mine as I didn't have the time before I had to go diving. I would certainly use this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    10
    12
    9
See reviews for
8
24
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We arrived at 19.50 to be told that the chef had gone so we had to go out and find a meal somewhere else. It is a very oldie worldy building with sloping floors and the room we were given had no shower. the bathroom was cold even after we closed the window.
The wifi did not work either in our room or in the bar.
Good point's are that the staff were friendly and tried to be as helpful as possible. The breakfast was good and was very filling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

After being told they had no record of our booking, we were taken up to a room. At first glance it looked like a nice big hotel room. We dropped our bags and left to meet friends.

In reality, the paint was peeling off the ceiling, the carpet was ripped, the wallpaper was falling off the walls, the tiles in the shower room were cracked and falling off, the shower was covered in black mould, the shower head was broken and falling off, the bed was broken, the sheets were stained, there was no Wifi and the TV didn’t work.

Unfortunately we got there late when it was dark and didn’t notice all this till we woke up in the morning when it was light. We packed our things and quickly left without breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank STEMwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was an overnight stay that we wouldn't repeat.
Very grubby looking going up the stairs when we were taken into our room which was en-suite only 1 lightbulb working out of 3 so very dreary looking. The carpet was badly stained, ceiling paper hanging off the ceiling and the headboard on the bed needed cleaning. We duly filled in our breakfast form and handed it to a member of staff on the way out to find some peace from the thudding music from below our room.
When we returned about 10.30pm music still blaring until midnight, the following morning trying to make a hasty retreat were informed we had to wait for breakfast that we had booked for 8am because they werent given our breakfast form, great.
Overall a bad experience not recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shazvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Falcon is a 17th century pub so if you like character and quirkiness this is for you, but don't book if you like everything just so as in the big chain hotels. Floorboards are creaky, floors slope and the rooms are comfortable but you won't find standard modern hotel furniture. The room was clean and the bed comfy. The shower worked well tho the bathroom was tiny.
Breakfast was lovely and the staff were all helpful and friendly.
There was a function on, it being Saturday night, and when we got back the music was pretty loud. We feared the worst but promptly at 11.30 it stopped, the guests left and all was quiet and peaceful. We slept really well.

Room Tip: We had the family room, tho there was a only two of us, overlooking the front. Very comfortable and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Music thudding away from below the room until midnight. Not conducive to rest & recouperation after a long day working.

Shower fittings mildewed.

Avoid

Room Tip: Try elsewhere, anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gothitjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Booked one nights stay here for an anniversary party, was not expecting anything grand but was shocked by the poor standards at this "Hotel" . Was shown to our room by a pleasant young man, along a corridor, the carpet of which was stained and paint splashed. Our room was so shabby, stained carpet, old bedside cabinets all ring marked, holes where coat hooks should have been, unpainted areas of architraving around the door and dusty headboards, lampshades and walls. An inspection under the bed was unbelievable, old confetti, papers, and packets of goodness knows what. Breakfast the next morning consisted of dried up mushrooms, and hard egg yolks. We had to move tables as the tablecloth was stained. There was a coffee perculator, could have been very nice except the lid of it was filthy. We complained about the room, the manager was very apologetic, he agreed it was of a poor standard and gave us a discount. Reading the other recent reviews on this hotel, it seems that although the staff are pleasant there must be a culture of laziness here, and a lack of interest and finances to improve the accommodation. I find it amazing that the management think the general public are happy to put up with this standard, wake up, people live in lovely homes and expect better

Room Tip: I cannot think of anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mogardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesey
4.7 mi away
Queensgate Hotel
Queensgate Hotel
#15 of 27 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
8.2 mi away
Days Inn Peterborough
Days Inn Peterborough
#20 of 27 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Peterborough (Norman Cross A1(M), J16) Hotel
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Peterborough Orton Hall Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Bell Inn Stilton
Bell Inn Stilton
#3 of 27 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcon Hotel

Property: The Falcon Hotel
Address: 1 London Street, Whittlesey, Peterborough PE7 1BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Peterborough > Whittlesey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Falcon Hotel Whittlesey, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing