We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wendake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The personnel were inviting, extremely warm and engaging! The gourmet cuisine at " La Traite Restaurant" helped us discover First Nation cuisine was delightful. Personnel at the Spa introduced us to different sauna'a as well as hot and cold spas, unfortunately we did not have time to try the massages. The rooms were comfortable and a combination tradition, culture and modern life. The museum enlighten us to the hardships experienced by the Hurons as well as the development of their nomad communities. Will definitely return next year for a longer stay to visit the charm of the town as well as explore the trails and services offered by the spa! Highly recommended if you are looking for a 4 star hotel with a zen like atmosphere !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I mistakenly rated the fitness center. There is no gym but access to bicycles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zinmcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Kwe!

You seem to have kept good memories of your stay and this is our main goal as you walk in Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations. You really get our concept of bringing tradition and culture together with modern life. It was a pleasure to have you, and maybe next time, you could try a massage at Nation Santé-Spa ;)

TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! Thank you and have a nice day and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Booked the romantic weekend getaway and absolutely loved it.

Room was exceptionally big, two patio doors, champagne and treats seemed to have snuck in while we were visiting the museum.

Drinks and some appetizers on the patio were nice. The supper however was the stand out attraction.

Knowledgeable server and excellent 4 course gastronomic meal.

Only real problem with this experience is that all others will now be measured against them (see our review of AML cruises).

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room to have the patio doors leading to the path. I think there is no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Kwe!
Really glad and proud to know that you have high expectations and that they have been filled. Indeed, room on the first floor are a great access to the Akiawenrakh River and the path that runs along it. And you were right, we don’t have a pool. Be sure we will forward your good words to our dining room staff.

TiawenhK, Entïio chia' önenh! Thank you and have a nice day and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel reception desk was very efficient when checking-in, but a disappointment regarding the service of their restaurant : poorly trained staff. We asked 3 times to have bread before getting it. They charged extra for an expresso whereas we chose the Table d'hôte which includes coffee. The breakfast for the first morning was very rudimentary (very little choice). Too bad that they did not offer a juice fountain so that we could serve us as we wanted. We had to ask every time to be serve orange juice and on top of that in small glasses. We also had to ask for and to wait a long time to have our sunny side up eggs which were not done on demand.For the second morning (a Sunday), the breakfast service was better, but still had to wait for the orange juice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fdormoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Kwe!
I am really sorry to hear you hadn’t a perfect experience at our restaurant. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your concerns, and we will make sur to follow up on the issues you encountered. New staff may be an explanation, but it is no excuse.
We are all glad to hear you had a great welcome though!

TiawenhK, Entïio chia'! Thank you and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Inconsistent. The little things just add up. Expect to overpay if you eat at the restaurant. Overrated. I have to write more to submit this review but I have nothing more to say. Ok I am writing more to get to 200 characters.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalcolmMontreal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Kwe!
I am sorry you felt that way about our hotel and restaurant. The Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations is always proud to showcase the First Nations cuisine and culture in a 4-star concept, and sometimes, these rare products of the highest quality mean a price a little over your expectations. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us your concerns.
TiawenhK, Entïio chia'! Thank you and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from Ottawa to Charlevoix. It was a good place to stop and to see Quebec city which is about 20 minutes drive away. The hotel is lovely and our room on the ground floor opened out onto a grass patio where we could sit. It was near a stream and beautiful woodlands.The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. We enjoyed a great meal in the terraced outdoor restaurant and the traditional entertainment was most enjoyable.The museum was very good too. Altogether a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Kwe!

We are always very proud to know that our guests had a nice stay. Like you, a lot of them enjoy the fact that we are close to Quebec City, but still have our own color, or own culture. Hope to welcome you again soon.

Tiawenhk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place was so surprisingly cool. The restaurant in the hotel was awesome. Check out their local beer on tap. I forgot the name of it. Room and lobby are decorated very well. They have a museum attached to the hotel that tells the story of Indians being sent to education camps in Canada. Actually very sad but it is a great museum. Perfect romantic weekend getaway. Go here....

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Executive assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Kwe!

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
The name of the local beer you are looking for is "Kwe", the same Native word we use to greet our guests.
Be sure we will forward your nice comments to our collegues working in the museum.
Entïio chia' önenh! (Have a nice day and see you soon!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We (a family of 4) spent 3 nights here during a recent vacation in Quebec City. This hotel is effectively located in a small American Indian village (reserve) that has become over the years part of the Quebec metropolitan area. You’ll need a car, but this place is definitely worth a visit:

The architecture is beautiful, and the small museum (free to people staying at the hotel) was definitely worth a visit.

In the evening we sat outside around a fire and drank local gin served in an ice glass (you throw it into the nearby woods afterwards, where i twill melt in the spring; kids can have hot chocolate and roast marshmellows), and an excellent and interesting American Indian staff member was there to talk about whatever – his life, Indian culture, or anything else that comes up. You should also visit the nearby Wendake tourist office – there are many other things to see on the small reservation if you have the time.

Everyone at the hotel was warm and friendly, and all was real efficient. Hotel rooms are good sized (we had the regular room with 3 queen beds; there was a coffee machine with coffee capsules (good quality), and a mini-fridge in the room too. The price for a night was very reasonable for Quebec City and especially for a hotel so beautiful.

The restaurant on the ground floor looked good and I have a friend who lives in Quebec who occasionally brings visitors to eat there – he said it is very good. We never ate there for two reasons – it is pretty expensive and we are vegetarians – their veggie options were very limited, and we don’t like patronizing a place that serves seal meat...

The one thing we didn’t like was the presence of furs throughout the hotel. I know that trapping was a way of life for many of the first nations communities, but seeing furs that look like dogs draped over chairs, and having 4 small furs in our room was off-putting for me and my family (we asked that they be removed and the woman at the reception very pleasantly accepted to do that).

That said, we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Quebec City who is mobile (has a car). First time visitors who want the usual tourist experience in the expensive redone old town should stay there, but for people who have been to Quebec before, this hotel/museum is a REAL nice option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudine G, Executive assistant at Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Kwe!

Everyone at Hôtel-Musée Premières Nations was very proud to learn that your stay was up to your expectations. Of course, we understand food preferences and are always willing to accomodate vegetarians and vegans, but your moral principles are totally understandable. It is good to know you could enjoy your environment anyways.

Wendake will always be happy to welcome you anyway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wendake
3.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Quebec Resort
8.1 mi away
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
Le Manoir du Lac Delage
#1 of 1 in Lac Delage
309 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Cofortel
Hotel Cofortel
#25 of 101 in Quebec City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Auberge Duchesnay
Auberge Duchesnay
#1 of 1 in Sainte Catherine de la Jacques Cartier
170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Grand Times Hotel
Grand Times Hotel
#64 of 101 in Quebec City
338 reviews
4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Quebec City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations

Address: 5, Place de la Rencontre, Wendake, Quebec G0A 4V0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Wendake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wendake
Price Range: $125 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations in Wendake. A 4-star boutique hotel where each room offers a great view of the "Akiawenrahk" river. Discover the fine Northern cuisine of our chef Martin Gagne and a Huron-Wendat museum unique in North America. The architecture—inspired by the traditional long-house, the La Traite restaurant—cuisine imbued with myriad flavours of the boreal forest, and the legendary warmth of First Nations people will charm you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel-Musee Premieres Nations Wendake, Quebec, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing