We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ground floor bedroom stay, not so great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whittlesford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Janet and Simon were excellent hosts. Very friendly with spot on recommendations for eating out.The breakfast was excellent and communal areas and garden were very pleasant.

However on reflection, we feel that the groundfloor bedroom (with bathroom across the entrance hall) is not on a par with the others available at the same the price (ensuite). The single glazed window was cracked, would not shut properly and frames were dirty. The decor was dated, bed was a bit rickety and room smelt musty. The wardrobe even had a former occupant's clothes in! These were certainly not characteristics of a "luxurious B&B". Overall we probably would return but definitely not to this room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and communal areas and am sorry that you were not satisfied with your bedroom. We started the business in January and still have much to learn - feedback is very welcome even if it is not always positive. We initially had 2 rooms which had been refurbished for the B & B. The bedroom in question was opened up rather hurriedly some time after we started in response to demand, and it is true that it is not the same standard as the other rooms. I'm sorry that the window sills were not as clean as they should have been - they are cleaned regularly but clearly had been overlooked on this occasion which should not have happened. There were some items left by a former occupant which we had not seen, but we now ensure that the wardrobe is checked after each stay. I'm sorry the guest found the bed rickety. We have had several comments about the bed but only to say how comfortable it is, and we have no immediate pans to replace it.
The bedroom is in need of a refurbishment which is happening over the winter months, after which we are confident it will match the standard of the rest of the accommodation. I hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 133 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a lovely B&B, peaceful, relaxed and very comfortable, particularly the beds! The room was clean and nicely furnished and the en-suite bathroom spacious with excellent showers (hand and overhead), mirror and good lighting. Janet looks after you well and serves a beautiful breakfast. I have already booked a return visit.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
4  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for this review - it is so helpful for us to have feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am looking forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome for our overnight stay on the 18th August. We arrrived on the hottest day of the year to be greeted by Janet with an offer of tea or a cold drink which we were happy to accept. The large period house is set back from the road with a large garden, patio area, and large pond. Our room was comfortable and clean with nice en suite shower room which was a blessing in the hot hot weather. We enjoyed a good nights sleep and were lucky enough to eat an excellent breakfast outside under a large tree which was a bonus. Janet and Simon were polite and attentive and made our short stopover a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicholas_pickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you so much for this review. It helps so much to have feedback from our guests and we really appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. We hope you will come back to Orchard Pond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Well it's all been said. This is the dream accommodation. If I said it was like being at home, that would be giving my home more than it deserved. Unfortunately Janet & Simon couldn't have us for two nights, so we went from the worst B&B ever (Three Tuns, Ashwell) to pure heaven. Go there, you'll love it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you Tim - it was such a pleasure for us to have you all here. Your nice comments are very much appreciated. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Janet made us feel very welcomed like friends in her home; unlike the formulaic layout and style of a boring hotel. Lovely location set in a rambling garden. We stayed just one night on route and Janet was very helpful in organising a local restaurant meal for us. The house was one of an individual style with lots of personal touches including home made biscuits in the room. Great breakfast individually cooked to your requirements.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments. It is really helpful to have feedback and we appreciate your taking the time to do us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Janet gave us tea and cake in the beautiful garden when we arrived mid afternoon, and her directions to get us to the centre of Cambridge for an evening function were invaluable.

The full English breakfast in the morning was one of the best, including scrummy sausages, perfectly cooked eggs, fresh mushrooms and tomatoes - all easy to get slightly wrong but all bang on.

Bed was very comfy and we loved the huge walk in shower.

We plan to stay again later in the summer and this time we'll organise it so we can to enjoy Janet's evening meal too.

Room Tip: We loved the room with the walk in shower and wonderful view onto mature trees covered in flowering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after going to a wedding in Cambridge, it really was PERFECT! The location meant it was only a 12 minute taxi ride from the centre of the City, the hosts were so accommodating and didn't mind us coming back late, and as for the breakfast... it was delicious and set us up for the car journey back to London. The hosts Janet and Simon made sure we were really at home and that nothing was too much. We are definitely coming back - we can't reccommend it enough. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WWB_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
345 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Whittlesford B and B - Wellford House
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28 Royston Road, Whittlesford CB22 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whittlesford
Price Range: $114 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Pond is a luxurious bed & breakfast close to Cambridge, Duxford and Saffron Walden, providing excellent accommodation, warm hospitality and helpful service. We offer two extremely comfortable bedrooms and delicious home cooking to both business and leisure visitors, as well as to travellers using Stansted Airport. Free parking is available on our drive.• Spacious detached house in pretty village• Large secluded gardens with terrace, pond and orchard• Relaxing sitting-room for guests’ own us, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing