We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambridge Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Whittlesford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Janet made us feel very welcomed like friends in her home; unlike the formulaic layout and style of a boring hotel. Lovely location set in a rambling garden. We stayed just one night on route and Janet was very helpful in organising a local restaurant meal for us. The house was one of an individual style with lots of personal touches including home made biscuits in the room. Great breakfast individually cooked to your requirements.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thank you for your nice comments. It is really helpful to have feedback and we appreciate your taking the time to do us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 133 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Janet gave us tea and cake in the beautiful garden when we arrived mid afternoon, and her directions to get us to the centre of Cambridge for an evening function were invaluable.

The full English breakfast in the morning was one of the best, including scrummy sausages, perfectly cooked eggs, fresh mushrooms and tomatoes - all easy to get slightly wrong but all bang on.

Bed was very comfy and we loved the huge walk in shower.

We plan to stay again later in the summer and this time we'll organise it so we can to enjoy Janet's evening meal too.

Room Tip: We loved the room with the walk in shower and wonderful view onto mature trees covered in flowering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after going to a wedding in Cambridge, it really was PERFECT! The location meant it was only a 12 minute taxi ride from the centre of the City, the hosts were so accommodating and didn't mind us coming back late, and as for the breakfast... it was delicious and set us up for the car journey back to London. The hosts Janet and Simon made sure we were really at home and that nothing was too much. We are definitely coming back - we can't reccommend it enough. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WWB_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was made to feel so welcome and had a lovely relaxing stay. Janet and Simon are 'easy' hosts.

The room was large, light and beautifully appointed. I slept very well in a comfortable bed, enjoyed the huge fluffy towel and it's so nice to have not only fresh milk on the tea making tray, but Janet's own homemade biscuits.

Whittlesford is a beautiful village in its own right with thatched cottages and interesting church, but also gave me easy access to Cambridge where I enjoyed an excellent concert at Kings College. I will be back to Orchard Pond!

Room Tip: Discuss your preferences with Janet. All rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very friendly and excellent service !
We stayed here for 2 nights during the Royal air show end of may 2012 and were very pleased with the reception. Quiet location with a green garden around the house, and not too far from the trainstation Whittlesford Parkway and the Imperial War Museum. We'll be coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GertVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We arrived late at night and the service was great. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious and cozy. The full English breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VA_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Hi, many thanks for taking the time to post this review - it is much appreciated. It was good to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed the full English!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Very friendly and comfortable stay. great location with a good pub restaurant within easy walking distance as is the railway station with regular fast service to nearby Cambridge or to London.
All bedrooms with private or ensuite bathrooms, one of the best breakfast we have had from many B and Bs and very friendly welcome with fresh homemade biscuits to boot.
We would book again without hesitation. Thank You.

Room Tip: Big room with very large private bathroom shower or very nice room with ensuite shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet t, Owner at Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments - glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the biscuits! We hope to see you again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Whittlesford Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Whittlesford B and B - Wellford House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Pond Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28 Royston Road, Whittlesford CB22 4NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whittlesford
Price Range: $132 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchard Pond is a luxurious bed & breakfast close to Cambridge, Duxford and Saffron Walden, providing excellent accommodation, warm hospitality and helpful service. We offer two extremely comfortable bedrooms and delicious home cooking to both business and leisure visitors, as well as to travellers using Stansted Airport. Free parking is available on our drive.• Spacious detached house in pretty village• Large secluded gardens with terrace, pond and orchard• Relaxing sitting-room for guests’ own us, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing