We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
171 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value and very convenient”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here as we were visiting Cambridge to play golf at Gog Magog Golf Course and this hotel was very convenient. We also went into Cambridge on our last morning, catching the train from the nearby station. We were with friends who had stayed here before. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. We were on the railway side of the building but were not bothered by noise. There was a bar in the hotel (which we didn't use), and an ice machine (which we did). Breakfast was included in the price of the room; it was buffet-style, adequate rather than outstanding, though we could have paid extra to have more choice and food freshly cooked. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Some guests may prefer to be away from the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your experience in our hotel. The noise from the train tracks is lessened by the thicker walls and glass however if all else fails we do supply ear plugs. The trains are electric so this certainly limits noise.

We are changing some products on our breakfast buffet to ensure it is outstanding rather than adequate so we hope you will visit again to sample the improvements.

Thank you for your custom.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    218
    120
    41
    12
See reviews for
105
173
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I spent a nice evening here. We came up from London solely to see the Fantastic Air museum at Duxford just 2 miles away. We came on the train which is hard by the hotel. Super convenient. Rooms on the twain side have 3x glazed windows, but as there were plenty of rooms available we had one on the "road" side. It was nice and quiet. The room was clean and the staff friendly. A solid 4.5 rating from me. I would have given a 5, except that the bed was hard and I think that the mattress was worn out. EVERYTHING else was perfect. The nice staff even made dinner reservations across the street at the Red Lion Inn. The staff even called to cab for us to go over to the museum. £9 for the cab ride to Duxford museum one way.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmike943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased that one the whole you enjoyed your time in our hotel.

We will look into the bed issues, it may be the mattress needs replaced but thank you for letting us know.

If your next in the area, we hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
451 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel is well located for Duxford and the M11, good if you're travelling but there is little else in the area. Basically its a pitstop overnight hotel rather than a destination.

The rooms are well furnished, comfortable, clean spacious - however my room was a bit like being in a cave - why do hotels think that people want rooms without lighting ?

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant/bar - only a breakfast area - however there is a very nice pub/restaurant next door.

There were a couple of other downsides. Firstly, the hotel backs onto the railway line and the trains coming through are audible. Secondly there is very short of parking space, on the day I was there the car park was totally full and I (and others) had to find spaces in the nearby streets and railway station car park.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAR-AM-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

I was pleased you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.

I apologise about car parking, we have 80 spaces which 99% of the time is enough. The trains tracks are near to the hotel however we do have thicker windows and walls at the back of the hotel to prevent noise from the electric trains that pass through, if that fails we do offer ear plugs.

Thank you for your custom and we hope you will return in the future only this time we will allocate a front facing room for you.

Kind Regards



Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth U K
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

You know what you are getting with this chain of hotels, modern rooms that are well-maintained and clean. The included breakfast that was introduced a while back adds to the value for money element. This particular hotel delivers all of the above with the bonus of friendly, helpful staff (not universally the case in other locations).The location is very convenient for the Imperial War Museum at Duxford (but the room rate rockets when they are doing anything special there!) and also visiting Cambridge itself which is only a short hop further up the M11.The drawbacks are that the site is sandwiched between the main railway line to London and a very busy A road, the latter generating far more noise than the former. Even with double glazing the traffic noise is intrusive and if you have a problem with this you should try and ensure that you are allocated a room as far away as possible. Even facing the railway line is preferable, since the electric trains are fairly quiet and not that frequent anyway. We did not eat at the adjacent Red Lion pub, but the menu indicated that this is pretty expensive for pub grub.With little apart from McDonalds nearby, this is probably not too surprising! Recommended, but be aware of that noise issue, particularly during Monday to Friday, the road seemed a liitle less frantic at the weekend.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front near the Reception end to miss the worst of the road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanHBournemouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was pleased that one the whole you enjoyed your experience in our hotel.

The traffic noise can intrude some however we have preventative measure to ensure a restful night’s sleep. We have ear plugs, triple glazed windows and reinforced walls.

The Red Lion is a great place to stay, the prices may be more expensive however everything they cook is created and prepared in the kitchen using fresh local ingredients which we feel is well worth the money you pay.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here for two nights, the hotel was directly next to the train station and very handy for Cambridge, 10 mins away is the little village of Saffron waldon, which has a beautiful little market.
The Hotel was clean and staff very helpful, the rooms where nice, not much hanging space, but manageable. Showers where very powerful and hot, and the free breakfast was great, Scrambled egg, Sausages beans toast and normal continental breakfast items available. Free Wi fi worked fine for all our appliances.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car park, it is away from the trainline then
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was very pleased you enjoyed your time in our hotel. The showers are great and one of the area's the Holiday Inn Express brand really focused on when launching the new bedroom standards for new build hotels.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great location shame about the road noise however that doesn't reflect from the welcome you receive I must mention Ross and his team who ensure that you are made to feel valued as a customer. I had the pleasure of eating at The Red Lion which serves the food for the hotel, special mention to Margaret, Amber and Marcin excellent customer service. As I work away quite often and am usually alone it is important to feel safe and secure and I certainly did at this hotel. I will be definately be back soon.

Thank you Ross and team
Sue

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback.

We are very touched by your kind words. Our staff are our best asset and i am very pleased they made you feel welcome.

Thank you for your custom and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascot
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Staying here at the moment. It's a modern hex, jammed right on the railway line next to the station, and right next to an inn, the red lion. A busy road runs behind it.

A good place to stay, as the internet is free-to-room and the breakfast is also free.

The rooms are a bit too trendy, with no drawers or wardrobe, just open hanging space for 5 items and only one towel rail for 2 people. The size is ok, but there are no bathroom niceties, just soap on the wall.

The main bugbear is the exceptionally dim bathroom lights. They are literally gloworms when first switched on, and after about 10 minutes brightening to the strength of a 40w bulb. Take a torch or one of those LED floodlights if you want to apply makeup or see your face in detail.

We stayed here because it was cheap and being next to the railway station we could get into Cambridge for £ 10 return in the space of 10 minutes.

Room Tip: One side the railway, the other side the road. Ok if window closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastdave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear fastdave2,

Thank you for your review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our convenient location. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned. I'm sorry for any inconvenience the lighting in the bathroom caused. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Cambridge Fourwentways
1.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
312 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#13 of 36 in Cambridge
1,000 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Address: 42 Station Road | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing