We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break to visit IWM Duxford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Short break to visit IWM Duxford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Booked for two nights - family room, two adults and one child. Room on first floor at front of hotel. Very large shower, and lots of white towels. Beds comfortable with crisp white sheets and duvet covers, the air conditioning was efficient and the room comfortable, breakfast adequate, all adding to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel staff were extremely helpful giving good advice on places to visit and providing detailed maps. Would certainly stay there again. The Hotel is adjacent to Whittlesford Station and would recommend a room at the front of the hotel which is quieter. The Red Lion Pub/Restaurant is just 2 minutes walk and has a good choice of food and is child friendly.

Room Tip: Room at front of Hotel which is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    213
    120
    41
    12
See reviews for
104
169
26
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Checked in to find that the toilet had not been checked by cleaning staff as there was a floating rubber object in the toilet bowl.!!!
After complaining at reception we were given another room and a full refund
Staff were very apologetic about the incident.
A Guest Relations questionnaire was subsequently completed and I asked for additional compensation as we thought that a change of room and a refund was not really adequate, This was refused

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Chris F,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to help us improve our guest services.

I sincerely apologize for the level of cleanliness particularly in the bathroom area fell below your standards. We regret the negative experience you have encountered during your stay. We are really sorry that you left with such a negative impression about our hotel.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice new hotel with high level appointments for this class of hotel. Bathroom much nicer than regular Holiday Inn Express standard! Rooms were of good quality but bed somewhat soft for our taste. HI express in the US pride themselves on the quality of mattress, shame that this isn't reflected in the UK!! However, the negative is that this hotel is right next to the railway station so if you can, book a room on the front side!!! All this said, I would happily stay again (and probably will) as it is a good base for visiting the air museum and taking the train into Cambridge.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room rather than overlooking the railway station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmmcrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

I’m pleased that you enjoyed our bathrooms, they are one of our best features and we take great pride in taking good care of them.

I apologise that you felt the mattress was not up to usual Holiday Inn Express standard, this is clearly an issue that we will need to look into. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Booked a night here so that we could visit IWM Duxford the next day. Wanted a double with air con and got an accessible wet room into the bargain. Room was very large, on the first floor with easy access to the lift. The wet room and room size was ideal for a wheelchair user but the bed wasn't. The mattress was elderly and sagged in the middle making it highly unsuitable for anyone with a disability, and giving us both aching backs and a poor night's sleep. The TV was tiny and the sound quality so poor that in order to hear anything you had to sit right underneath it. We tried watching from our uncomfortable bed and this resulted in the people next door banging on the wall because the TV was too loud. Breakfast was fine - plenty of food and drink, not too crowded even at 0830. It is such a shame that so much had done to make the room suitable for a disabled person but the staff had forgotten about the bed. No induction loop either. Being next to the train station could be a problem if you don't like trains.

Room Tip: The twin accessible room on the ground floor may have better beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1421Chiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

We want all of our guests to have the best stay that they can so thank you for the feedback regarding the bed. We will be looking into this in order to achieve the best possible service for our rooms.

We will also be looking into the TVs in the rooms as the volume should be able to be at a comfortable level without inconveniencing you.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am not sure when this hotel was built but it still seemed brand new, clean and modern. We were able to check in early (before 1pm). Our room was nicer than other Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed in and was definitely a couple of notches up from a Travelodge and from a Premier Inn. The bathroom, in particular, was of a high standard. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was delighted to read your review. We hope you will return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I have just spent two days at this hotel. The check in procedure was simple and quick as we had already booked with bookings.com. I had no problems being allocated an accessible room as I am a wheelchair user. Disabled parking was not a problem and the hotel was completely accessible. The room allocated to us was large and very modern and had all the usual refinements including Air Conditioning which was very useful as in was very warm overnight during our stay . Good wet room and also a washbasin placed low enough for me to use in my wheelchair and a normally sited for my able bodied partner never seen that in a hotel before but a nice touch.Our room overlooked a railway track but double glazing excellent so did not effect our stay at all. Staff very friendly and hotel was spotless nice place to stay and very close to the Imperial War Museum at Duxford.

Room Tip: Disabled Travellers are well looked after at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I was very pleased the accessible facilities were to your satisfaction. It is down to customer like you who give us feedback after your experience that has ensured the hotel is ideal for people with accessibility needs. You can expect to see all new build Holiday Inn’s with this level of detail.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and i just enjoyed 3 nt stay here. the reason for the trip was visiting Cambridge and the air museum. The hotel was more than adequate and the breakfast suited us. Its very modern, if a little sparse I would have liked a mirror over the desk next to the window for the light for doing hair and make-up. The lighting is not great. We overlooked the railway station, which was not intrusive at all. In fact it is great for getting into Cambridge where we picked up the Hop on Hop off tourist bus right outside the station. Excellent. A very good stay and wouldb certainly recommend, and stay here again.We would also recommend the Pubs in Duxford. Very nice and not as expensive as the pub next door

Room Tip: we had top floor room No complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeduxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your constrictive feedback.

I was very pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your time with our hotel.

We hope you will return in the future and perhaps you could try the Red Lion, it has a 15% discount loyalty club scheme making it as cost effective as the Duxford pubs yet the quality far exceeds what they can offer.

Kind Regards

Ross Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whittlesford
1.0 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
10.9 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
Address: 42 Station Road | Whittlesford Bridge, Whittlesford CB22 4NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Whittlesford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whittlesford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 3.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford m11 Jct 10 Hotel Whittlesford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing