We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent meal experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tickell Arms

The Tickell Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fantastic Grade 2 listed building with a new conservatory overlooking its iconic pond. The food is Modern British/European with an emphasis on locally sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. The menu changes every 2 months with a specific cut of meat, fish, fowl or game being the focus of each menu. The Tickell is also a traditional country pub with wood burning stoves, great real ales and a very well considered wine list. The Tickell Arms is a former coaching inn which was transformed into a country pub/restaurant in the 1960's by the flamboyant Kim Tickell. With its striking blue exterior, eclectic decor and service it gained a level of notoriety. Kim Tickell passed away in 1991 and afterwards the building lost a lot of its lustre & appeal. It had been closed 2 years before we undertook a major refurbishment to restore it to something approaching its former glory.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“An excellent meal experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Three of us had a delightful lunch in this well appointed restaurant which is tastefully furnished with quality tables and chairs and nice decor. It is light and airy, a pleasurable place to relax.

We were warmly welcomed by a happy smiling manager who showed us to a table that commanded a good view of the Restaurant. It provided an opportunity to observe the staff demonstrating both good customer care skills as well as good food service practice. What a delight!

We chose from the table d'hôte menu which was excellent value. The food was very well presented and proved very tasty. The kitchen has designed dishes that have obviously well tried and tested to arrive at such prefect combination of taste, texture and visual delight.

It is a always a pleasure when an establishment understands the need to provide a total dinning experience. The marriage of a performance and good food.
Well done, team!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    161
    67
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sunday Evening Goodness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to eat out with the kids, on a Sunday evening but didn't want to go to a restaurant and spend an age waiting for service etc but we also didn't want to go down the fast food route.

This place is one of the few in the area that serves on a Sunday evening. At first glance the menu was a bit limited and did look a bit expensive. There was no kids menu but the very pleasant girl serving offered us a choice of sausage and mash or ham egg and chips or even some fish and chips for them. I liked the sound of sausage and mash and again although not on the menu it was no problem.

The pub is very pleasant and nicely decorated. We sat ourselves in a little snug with a chess board and a piano which amused the kids for 10 minutes or so until our food arrived. It was all beautifully cooked with quality ingredients. The sausages were fantastic and the mash was very flavoursome added to by some lightly sautéed cabbage.

We were all finished in about and hour which was just what we wanted. All in the bill for two kids and two adults plus some drinks each came in at £50. Ok so not the cheapest pub meal in the world but the quality was first class and the service was excellent. Now we know it's open on Sunday evenings we will be gong back on those occasions when the day slips away from you and you find yourself in the early evening still not having eaten. Very nice indeed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We have been to all the other Cambs Cuisine restaurants before but this was our first time at
The Tickell Arms and we were not disappointed.
Food and service in the restaurant were excellent.
Our only criticism is that we asked for two non alcoholic cocktails and were told "sorry cannot do but you can have pink lemonade", not exactly exciting - it wouldn't have taken much for an experienced bar person to offer a "bucks fizz" made with orange juice and lemonade and put into a flute, but this did not spoil our meal.
Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishingCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Annoying!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were looking forward to having a nice meal as our experience of this retaurant a couple of years was good. However, we left feeling very disappointed. the food was very bland, lacked imagination and was way over priced for what it was. my husband was advised to have his steak medium rare as this was the best way for this cut but actually it came out very rare which shows lack of skill in cooking a steak. This restaurant have tried to step up a nouch but it has been done very badly and they have been left with disappointing, flavourless food that is far too expensive for what it is. Such a shame. we wont be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Danni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We looked forward to revisiting this place having enjoyed many visits a year or so ago. We were of a mind to entertain a couple of friends that we haven't seen for a while later also such was our anticipation. The disappointment in slow service an below par food took me several days to get over, such was the change. A very mediocre steak, some chips that had been cooked so many times they had no soft in the middle at all and little else on the plate, even a late order of a side salads didn't help. The pudding also disappointed in that despite sharing we could finish due to its consistency and flavour! I'll put it down to that fact that the chef's and our tastes are poles apart. It may suit some.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TripenjoyerCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxFreeman, General Manager at The Tickell Arms, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear TripenjoyerCambridge

Thank you for your review of the Tickell Arms. I am very disappointed to read that your visit was not as good as on previous occasions. We take great pride in our service so are very disappointed to read that we have been failing in this area lately, We will be refocusing our staff to ensure they are being attentive at all times and delivering great service.
Could you please contact me tim@cambscuisine.com with details of when you visited and the dishes your ordered so I can look into this more.

Kind Regards

Tim Prior
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tickell Arms also viewed

Thriplow, Cambridgeshire
Hemingford Grey, Huntingdon
 
Duxford, Cambridgeshire
Duxford, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Tickell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing