We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay”
Review of Red Rail Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rail Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Hoarwithy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The nicest bed and breakfast I've stayed at in England. Done.

Steph and Andy were very welcoming - nice chilled atmosphere about the place! :-)

Some good salmon fishing 5 mins away on the Wye....think I'll be back! :-)

Ben and Lyndsey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenJamminJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
161
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend break and we were not disappointed. our room was excellent very comfortable and spotlessly clean could not fault anything.
Breakfast was first class and plenty of choice, nothing was too much trouble for Stephanie and Andy. We would recommend a stay in this lovely peaceful country B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a positively beautiful house,.. The rooms are beautiful, clean, elegant and very very comfortable, slept really well. Andy & Stephanie are perfect hosts, nothing is too much trouble, they look after your every need effortlessly. Breakfast was delicious and had a good choice, we ate full English one day and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs the next. Would thoroughly recommend staying here, not only beautiful house, the surroundings are beautiful too and well worth exploring. The local pub has great food too. We stayed two nights and did not want to leave, we felt so relaxed. Hot tub an added bonus. Will definitely be back...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trac11red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away from our children and will certainly be coming back.

With the glorious countryside all around, it is the meaning of peace and tranquility.

We thoroughly enjoyed the use of the hot tub and breakfast was superb.

I would highly recommend Red Rail Farm B&B - the best we've stayed in by far!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littletike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August for a countryside getaway and it was absolutely lovely. Andy and Stephanie are very friendly and instantly made us feel comfortable, their house is beautiful and the guest room we stayed in (Alice room) was spot on. The garden is lovely and we particularly enjoyed going to say hello to the horses, and to the chickens that lay our breakfast eggs! Overall a wonderful place to stay, the actual b&b is wonderful and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. I highly recommend Red Rail farm!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJardim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great second visit and stayed 3 nights. The accomodation and facilities are still excellent. Stephanie and Andy are welcoming , friendly and great hosts. My husband enjoyed using the hot tub. It was a very relaxing stay and we will return for a third visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Red Rail Farm in June 2013 for a much needed short break away from our business. Thanks to the in-room wi-fi, we were able to keep up with the essential emails and check out the best places to eat and walk locally. We stayed in the Alice room, which was modern, spacious, clean, and had everything we needed including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and fresh milk. The location of Red Rail Farm is very peaceful, so we were able to fully relax in comfort. Breakfast on our first morning was so good that we didn't eat anything else until dinner that evening, despite walking up the Cat's Back to Black Hill that day! The owners were very friendly and recommended good places to eat each evening, so we were well-rested and well-fed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoarwithy
7.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
180 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
4.0 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#9 of 12 in Hereford
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rail Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rail Farm

Property: Red Rail Farm
Address: Red Rail Farm | Ross-on-Wye, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hoarwithy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hoarwithy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Luxuriously appointed, spacious, contemporary rooms located in a converted barn attached to the main house but with separate access. Very quiet and peaceful, great for a romantic break. Fantastic local organic breakfast menu. 5 Star accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Red Rail Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing