We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Idyllic Sanctuary”
Review of Red Rail Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Rail Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Hoarwithy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect Idyllic Sanctuary”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend away from our children and will certainly be coming back.

With the glorious countryside all around, it is the meaning of peace and tranquility.

We thoroughly enjoyed the use of the hot tub and breakfast was superb.

I would highly recommend Red Rail Farm B&B - the best we've stayed in by far!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littletike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
154
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August for a countryside getaway and it was absolutely lovely. Andy and Stephanie are very friendly and instantly made us feel comfortable, their house is beautiful and the guest room we stayed in (Alice room) was spot on. The garden is lovely and we particularly enjoyed going to say hello to the horses, and to the chickens that lay our breakfast eggs! Overall a wonderful place to stay, the actual b&b is wonderful and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. I highly recommend Red Rail farm!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsJardim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great second visit and stayed 3 nights. The accomodation and facilities are still excellent. Stephanie and Andy are welcoming , friendly and great hosts. My husband enjoyed using the hot tub. It was a very relaxing stay and we will return for a third visit in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Red Rail Farm in June 2013 for a much needed short break away from our business. Thanks to the in-room wi-fi, we were able to keep up with the essential emails and check out the best places to eat and walk locally. We stayed in the Alice room, which was modern, spacious, clean, and had everything we needed including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and fresh milk. The location of Red Rail Farm is very peaceful, so we were able to fully relax in comfort. Breakfast on our first morning was so good that we didn't eat anything else until dinner that evening, despite walking up the Cat's Back to Black Hill that day! The owners were very friendly and recommended good places to eat each evening, so we were well-rested and well-fed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The first day I arrived I was treated like part of the family. We all sat at the table in the kitchen, chatting like old friends. I stayed in the 'alice in wonderland room'. Andy and Steph were always welcoming. I was even invited for a meal one evening because I stayed for 3 weeks because the hospitality was too great. I was starting a new job in the area whilst waiting for my house sale completion. Every morning Steph would make me breakfast sandwiches to take to work. In the evenings I would sometimes come down to the open plan kitchen and sitting area for a chat with Steph. Loved this b&b or should I say plush hotel!!!!

Room Tip: The Alice in wonderland room with walk in shower to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-venus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The setting was superb. A commitment to giving a great experience.
Not just a job, but a joy to share your home with others. There was nothing to fault & I would liked to have stayed longer.
I would recommend this as a 1st class B&B

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lin667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Andy and Stephanie are incredible hosts, we had a lovely welcome note waiting for us in our room where they clearly recognised us as return visitors.

The room we like to stay in is beautiful, very large, clean and plush. Brekfast is excellent, and I was offered garlic mushrooms which I loved! Thank you for being so thoughtful.

It was lovely to wake up to the chickens etc in the countryside and we will always stay here when we can find a reason to come to Hereford.

Thanks Alan and Elizabeth, Cornwall

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETHJACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoarwithy
3.4 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
7.5 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
9.0 mi away
Premier Inn Hereford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rail Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rail Farm

Property: Red Rail Farm
Address: Red Rail Farm | Ross-on-Wye, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hoarwithy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hoarwithy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Luxuriously appointed, spacious, contemporary rooms located in a converted barn attached to the main house but with separate access. Very quiet and peaceful, great for a romantic break. Fantastic local organic breakfast menu. 5 Star accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Rail Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing