We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Red Rail Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Rail Farm
Ranked #2 of 3 Hoarwithy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in August for a countryside getaway and it was absolutely lovely. Andy and Stephanie are very friendly and instantly made us feel comfortable, their house is beautiful and the guest room we stayed in (Alice room) was spot on. The garden is lovely and we particularly enjoyed going to say hello to the horses, and to the chickens that lay our breakfast eggs! Overall a wonderful place to stay, the actual b&b is wonderful and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. I highly recommend Red Rail farm!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJardim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 203 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great second visit and stayed 3 nights. The accomodation and facilities are still excellent. Stephanie and Andy are welcoming , friendly and great hosts. My husband enjoyed using the hot tub. It was a very relaxing stay and we will return for a third visit in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Red Rail Farm in June 2013 for a much needed short break away from our business. Thanks to the in-room wi-fi, we were able to keep up with the essential emails and check out the best places to eat and walk locally. We stayed in the Alice room, which was modern, spacious, clean, and had everything we needed including tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and fresh milk. The location of Red Rail Farm is very peaceful, so we were able to fully relax in comfort. Breakfast on our first morning was so good that we didn't eat anything else until dinner that evening, despite walking up the Cat's Back to Black Hill that day! The owners were very friendly and recommended good places to eat each evening, so we were well-rested and well-fed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The first day I arrived I was treated like part of the family. We all sat at the table in the kitchen, chatting like old friends. I stayed in the 'alice in wonderland room'. Andy and Steph were always welcoming. I was even invited for a meal one evening because I stayed for 3 weeks because the hospitality was too great. I was starting a new job in the area whilst waiting for my house sale completion. Every morning Steph would make me breakfast sandwiches to take to work. In the evenings I would sometimes come down to the open plan kitchen and sitting area for a chat with Steph. Loved this b&b or should I say plush hotel!!!!

Room Tip: The Alice in wonderland room with walk in shower to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mark-venus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The setting was superb. A commitment to giving a great experience.
Not just a job, but a joy to share your home with others. There was nothing to fault & I would liked to have stayed longer.
I would recommend this as a 1st class B&B

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lin667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Andy and Stephanie are incredible hosts, we had a lovely welcome note waiting for us in our room where they clearly recognised us as return visitors.

The room we like to stay in is beautiful, very large, clean and plush. Brekfast is excellent, and I was offered garlic mushrooms which I loved! Thank you for being so thoughtful.

It was lovely to wake up to the chickens etc in the countryside and we will always stay here when we can find a reason to come to Hereford.

Thanks Alan and Elizabeth, Cornwall

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETHJACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

What can I say that 34/34 previous 5* reviews don't already say? Andy and Stephanie were the epitome of friendly helpful hosts right from the start, even when we turned up at the wrong time. They showed us round, chatted with us and even gave us a lift down the road for the wedding we were attending.

The surroundings are beautiful - a week here wouldn't suffice to soak it in. The bedroom was simply luxury with all the 1st class finishing touches and a heavenly shower. Then came a fresh filling breakfast, again with all the trimmings: eggs laid onsite, coffee tasting how coffee should but seldom does, two croissants even though I said I was full!

I won't forget this place, and I'll wish I were back there while in B&B's I stay in for years to come.

Room Tip: Get an early night - the cockrells can be noisy in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoarwithy
3.4 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
833 reviews
7.9 mi away
No 21
No 21
#1 of 33 in Hereford
179 reviews
7.7 mi away
Somerville House
Somerville House
#6 of 33 in Hereford
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
3.6 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#5 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
227 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Steppes Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Rail Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Rail Farm

Address: Red Rail Farm | Ross-on-Wye, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hoarwithy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hoarwithy
Price Range: $156 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Luxuriously appointed, spacious, contemporary rooms located in a converted barn attached to the main house but with separate access. Very quiet and peaceful, great for a romantic break. Fantastic local organic breakfast menu. 5 Star accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Red Rail Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing