We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome...and some more!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoarwithy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Hoarwithy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Truro , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome...and some more!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Showmans for 4 days as our honeymoon. It was absolutely everything it claims to be on the website...and more. a beautiful setting, FANTASTIC food (the best ever!) and Jane and JB and the team are just lovely!
I highly recommend a Wriggles Brook break to anyone in need of a bit of 'chill time'.

Room Tip: The showmans is ideal for couples and families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickenstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    4
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
151
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The pictures are not an accurate representation of Wriggles Brook. Yes the caravans are beautiful but outside the van there was a broken bench to sit on with broken candle lanterns. The wrought iron chairs had green mould on them. The composting toilets could have been thought out better. The worst thing for us was the rat running around the vines in the dining room!!! The man in charge seemed to have little time for our concerns, we feel this establishment is running on a reputation gained a while ago, possibly by different managers. We left a night early.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank honeysucklebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

What more can i say,we stayed here on thursday and had the caravan by the stream,beautiful weather and a lovely young lady called sarah showed us around,afternoon tea on a silver service was exellent and our evening meal which we pre booked steak and chicken was fab.lighting a log fire and candles made where we were very romantic,lovely people lovely place.thank you jane,johnpaul and sarah& the dogs.best wishes j osborne and l cotterill.ps i recomend a satnav without it i think we would still b trying to find it.cheers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splottboy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just loved this place and didn't want to leave. Our caravan was spotless, the views just beautiful, the food was superb and we were made to feel welcome and at home straight away. Our Labrador swam in the stream and loved the gardens. We will definitely be coming back here with our families. Cannot recommend highly enough. Thanks so much. Maia, Ben & Digby! xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosieMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We've just returned from yet another fabulous visit to Wriggles Brook. Go, just book it, I don't think you could be let down. Please read everyones reviews and you will realise that you are booking a night/weekend that you will remember for ever for the best reasons.

Three years ago my sister wanted a break of a difference. Somewhere she could go as a single person and feel comfortable. We stumbled across Wriggles Brook on the web. She had such a wonderful time, we've now been back 7 or 8 times in the last few years.

We have visited as a family of three, a mum escaping family life, a weekend of dad & daughter time or mum & daughter time as well as taking two young teenage girls who would normally have makeup & lippy plastered on their faces. Within one hour of arriving they were running up the hills getting muddy with the owners dogs.

We have emailed our choice of food, selected from JP's sample menu and even asked him to surprise us and we have never been let down. Fabulous food everytime. Watch out for the red cabbage in orange juice, different but beautiful. Breakfast is just perfect, pancakes & fruit delivered for you to start with and then the choice of meat or vegi full english breakfast with toast and juice.

This week we stayed two nights, one in the new "Showmans Wagon" and one in "Doors & Windows".

The first thing we do on arrival, after getting our wonderful welcoming hugs from JP & Jane, is climb into the hammock & sit & wait to see what we will see or hear. Our best was two hours watching a beautiful speckled woodpecker pecking the tree. I'm not a nature person at all but it was so relaxing, fascinating and wonderful think to watch. This visit in the trees outside "windows & doors" wagon Jane has a new bird feeder. We watched 15 yellow tittr birds having a feed and got some great photos.

From time to time JP & Jane have had others help them run this special place. Everyone on their team is warm, welcoming and helpful.

And as you can never relay on the great british weather we have visited in hail, rain, snow and beautiful sunshine. If you want to stay cosy and romantic in the wagon or go to the conservitory for a little more space to play board games or toast marshmellow on the fire outside our wagon there is always something to do or not do, which ever way you want it.

Each wagon is positioned in such a way that you have privacy from the others. Each now has it's own composting toilet and open fire. The staff clean the shower block everyday that we've been there and are very assured that if you "just ask" the team will always help with anything you need. One visitor was suffering from bad hayfever that could really ruin her visitor, staff helped her out and she's a romantic few days with her husband.

I've never reviewed Wriggles Brook because I was so afraid that it would become too popular and it would get ruined. Over the last three years they have grown but done in a brilliant way still keeping the specialness of wriggles brook at the heart of everything they add.

A place you will go back to again and again and again. Thanks to everyone there that makes it so special for me & my family.

Room Tip: Open Lot, Doors & Windows & Showman are you choices and I can recommend each one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 53thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2012

For a treat my son and I went away to Hoarwithy, after seeing this on TV 'Three in Bed' last year. Our stay exceeded all expectations, not only is this a beautiful part of the world but the caravans are gorgeous, staff friendly and warm. Food was outstanding, a breakfast that sets you up for the day which is healthy and filling. You can also order a meal for the evening which is very reasonable and you can choose your favourite dish(within reason). I will be taking other family members there and also want to explore the countryside further. My son loved that we could make our own fire outside the caravan and also little stove inside which keeps you very warm during the night and you fall asleep listening to the waterfall nearby.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Enchanting, romantic and magical, Wriggles Brook surpassed all of our expectations by a mile. A beautiful gypsy wagon, a camp fire, fairy lights, a double hammock, great wine, wonderfully warm hosts and bloomin' magnificent food (words cannot describe the food!) - it really doesn't get more romantic and peaceful than this! If you are in love, get yourself down to Hoarwithy and enjoy an experience you will never ever forget!

One of the most wonderful things about Wriggles Brook it the complete and utter peace of the place. For the 24 hours we were living our gypsy dream, we didn't see a single soul except our hosts on arrival and the waitress who came to deliver our fabulous evening meal and breakfast (oh that breakfast - 2 courses, pancakes, spiced apple and a full English veggie-style like no other I have ever experienced - was Jane up all night cooking it?!). We knew where to find our hosts should we need them, but the place is so well organised with every eventuality catered for (even playing cards, extra candles and blankets for snuggling around the fire!) we were able to enjoy the solitude without any distractions whatsoever.

The evening was quite chilly but, when we eventually tore ourselves away from the camp fire and the night sky, we lit the little stove in the wagon and were as toasty as could be. The bed was much more comfortable than our own and we woke to the sound of bird song - heaven can't be more perfect than this!

We stayed in the Showman's wagon, which can accommodate children in a hide-away bed complete with fairy lights under the adult's bed, which our children would absolutely love. The question is would we take them next time?! The jury is out at the moment! Our beautiful 'Mummy and Daddy Only' experience of Wriggles Brook was a real treat and one that we desperately want to recreate at the soonest possible opportunity, but the children would also have an unforgettable experience, surrounded by fields, rabbits and woodpeckers, so it seems somewhat peevish to deny them!

All in all, Wriggles Brook is an extremely rare and wonderful place and you should book before somebody else does!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoarwithy
2.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Rail Farm
Red Rail Farm
#1 of 3 in Hoarwithy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B

Property: Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B
Address: 2 Brookside Cottages, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hoarwithy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hoarwithy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wriggles Brook Gypsy Bed And Breakfast
Wriggles Brook Gypsy Hotel Hoarwithy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing