We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must visit at all costs!! Perfect peacfulness. Amazing food.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoarwithy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Hoarwithy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wollaston, Northants UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Must visit at all costs!! Perfect peacfulness. Amazing food.”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed at Wrigglesbrook Gypsy B&B for the second time. Weather was kind to us again, warm and dry. Wrigglesbrook is not for anyone wanting plasma screens, trouser presses and WiFi. If you want away from it, this is it. The welcome is always warm, Jane and John-Paul are genuine, friendly hosts and are there if you want them to be, not if you don't. The bow top open lot we stay in is gorgeous...quaint and cosy. Laying in the double hammock over the brook is perfect. The only noise is from the birds flitting around the trees, our only company the spring lambs and calves in the field next to us. Buster and Hush Puppy the terriers did pay us the occasional visit, but were happy with a quick fuss, then wandered off. The food that Jane and John-Paul prepare is stunning. The coq au vin was so tender and tasty, it was melt in the mouth perfection. The 6 hour cooked steak in the steak and ale pie was unbelievably good, as were all the fresh organic home grown veg and the sticky toffee pudding, what can I say! Light the campfire, pour yourself a glass of red and gaze at the stars. Perfection. Morning brings you the most spectacular breakfast you could ever wish for. Fresh maple syrup and apple pancakes followed by sausage, bacon, egg, fried bread, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, toast...the list goes on! The veggy b'fast was just as amazing. Haloumi, polenta, fresh spinach plus all the other bits...wonderful. Jane and John-Paul have a little slice of heaven that we are so happy to have found. The surrounding area is lovely if you want to go out and about, but a day lazing in the hammock, wandering down the road to the local then settling in for an evening of fantastic food topped of with a roaring campfire can't be beaten. Go there, I guarantee you will not be disappointed. Just leave the handmade italian loafers behind.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PandK_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    4
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
151
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

They say you can`t buy happiness,well i say otherwise!
`Its called WrigglesBrook and it can`t fail to bring a smile to your face. My wife and I have just returned from the perfect weekend away.
We were greeted with a warm welcome by Jane who, after showing us the dining conservatory and giving us the how 2 regards the composting toilet (we were a bit scared of this before we arrived as its not what most of us are used to but dunno why as it was no problem at all), took us onto what would be our room for the next 2 nights The Door and Windows Bow-Top wagon.........

Oh boy finding words to describe this could be hard! Its the most beautifuly amazinlgly sweet and tranquil place ever, there were pretty little wooden stepping stones leading to the wagon with lovely little flower pots outside and candles on the steps. Up a few steps two little doors that open to a warm, cosy, quaint little place with a little stove to keep us warm,( which was by the way very easy to use). We had tea and coffee facilities and a night lamp for a very cosy feel.

Outside the wagon is a table and chairs and a double hammock so you can have a romantic cuddle amongst the stars with the campfire lit and candles lit all around the trees.

whilst here make sure you order food from Jane and John Paul, they are the most amazing cooks!!! You need to give them prior notice as they only use products that are produced locally and have to get the ingredients in advance.

Breakfast is delicious.... Pancakes with seasonal fruit and syrup followed by a mouth watering fry-up (meat free option is available) you can have this either brought to your bed or in the dinning room to the sound of soft jazz music playing. It really is the best way to start your day.

This place really is at its most beautiful around dusk, just as the twinkly fairy lights around the wagon light up, the fire is crackeling, the candles are lit and the sun is almost down. Relaxing on the hammock just as Jane calls us to the dining room for a candle lit meal amongst the peaceful surroundings, again the soft music sets the scene for the most amazing meal we have ever had.

All in all we had the most treasured bit of peace and rest that we could ever have wanted and with five kids we deserved it.

Thank you wrigglesbrook, you were kind, welcoming and extremely good value for money, we will definately be back and will spread the word to only the good people of the world xxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loonasylum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A two-night break courtesy of our lovely daughters who spied this gem when it wasn't that well known.Jane was there to welcome us, very friendly and relaxed. Our wagon was beautifully decorated and furnished, and lots of lovely thoughtful detail. Outside the brook, trees, birds and view over the field with cows and sheep (and mad pheasant).
We opted to eat there the first evening, by our campfire (wood and everything provided) and the quality of everything was exceptional. We are vegetarian so it was a pelasure to have such beautifully cooked food. We are small eater and there was way more than we could manage (pity). The amazing pudding had to wait until the next day.
Breakfast is another food fest - best vegetarian cooked breakfast we've ever had - lots of interesting imaginative bits. It set us up for the whole day.
We didn't need to eat in the small "conservatory" but it always looked lovely. And the kitchen/toilet/shower were great: a good hot shower; interesting composting loo which might be a little strange for some but we were absolutely fine with it.
And inbetween times some lovely places to see in this area.

Room Tip: Lovely walks using the plentiful guides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorge-scrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

I would recomend a stay here. We went in november and booked again for another break for less than six months later. The hosts are above and beyond the food orgasmic and the location breathtaking. We will be regulars from this day forth!! I was embraced by the warmth of the camp fire and the warmth of the wonderful people who put so much effort into this slice of heaven.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodielindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2011

A truly magical evening and certainly the finest food that's unique, sustainable and mostly locally sourced. Even on a still, chilly January night, it felt like a deluxe, mini festival. What an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnpp70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Went to the gypsy caravan for our 7th anniversary i didnt know places like this exsisted,the setting was so peaceful all you could hear was the noise of the brook and the sound of the birds and animals in the fields,the gypsy caravan was so quaint and very comfortable the owners john-paul and jane are fantastic hosts they made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them.There cooking is spectacular it deserves a michelin 5* it certainly was to die for and there puddings are also very very moorish "mmmm"The night time was very romantic, the camp fire you build is fantastic especially when your toasting marshmallows on it,and with it being so dark we didnt know there was so many stars in the sky, you don:t get them here in liverpool because of all the light pollution so if anyone out there is thinking of going i suggest you take a telescope with you , you will see some amazing stars up there. we will definetely will be going back again hopefully in the summer when it stays lighter for longer,THANKS AGAIN jane and john-paul. xx

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namrac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

A truely unique and wonderful experience + add to that delicious food and you have a perfect break, Thank you Jane and John-Paul and the dogs (especially Buster) who we will be back to kidnap one day !!!!

David and Lisa

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISALAUNDRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoarwithy
2.6 mi away
The Pilgrim Hotel
The Pilgrim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Much Birch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 12 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Rail Farm
Red Rail Farm
#1 of 3 in Hoarwithy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.8 mi away
Holly House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B

Property: Wriggles Brook Gypsy B&B
Address: 2 Brookside Cottages, Hoarwithy, Hereford HR2 6QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford > Hoarwithy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hoarwithy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wriggles Brook Gypsy Bed And Breakfast
Wriggles Brook Gypsy Hotel Hoarwithy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing