We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to relax”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mindemoya
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mindemoya Court Cottages & Campground
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We love this place! There is always the perfect place to go when traveling and this is one of them. This is the forth year we were here and every year we always come back. The campground is always a place we look forward to.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

We just spent a fantastic week at Mindemoya Court Cottages. It was our first trip to Manitoulin, and had no idea where to stay. I picked them from the website, and from the fact that Mindemoya seemed really central. Turned out to be a great pick!

We drove up the Bruce Peninsula and took the ferry over. The Resort is about a 40(?) minute drive from South Baymouth, not bad at all. The resort has a row of cottages that back onto the woods and front onto a huge field that has a small playground, a sandbox, a baseball diamond, as well as a bonfire area and a BBQ patio. This would be a great place to stay if a couple of families with kids came up, as the parents can all hang out together in front of the cottages and watch the kids tear around.

We picked one of the 2 waterfront units, which are more secluded. They're right on Mindemoya lake, and face West, so we got fantastic sunsets every night! Ours had a screened in porch, and a main room with a sitting area, a table & chairs, and a fully-stocked kitchen with a fridge, stove, sink, coffee maker, plates, cups, cutlery, etc. We did have to scoot out and get a wine opener, though. The cabin had 2 bedrooms (with bedding) and a bathroom with a shower. The decor is simple. Dated furnishings, older linoleum, but heck, you're at a cottage. It was perfect for what we were looking for. The main thing was that it was all CLEAN. Spotless.

The owners had told us to bring:
-towels, including tea towels and hand towels, wash cloths
-non-stick pans if we didn't want to use theirs (theirs are cast iron)
-toilet paper
-a personal BBQ to cook outside the cabins
We also brought paper towels, dishcloths, dish sponge, garbage bags

We also brought up a whackload of food, which wasn't necessary as there's a big chain grocery store (including a drugstore and a liquor store) not 5 minutes away. The prices weren't more expensive than at home, either.

The owners are very sweet, and organize little social events so the guests can get to know one another. There's a potluck BBQ, a softball game, and a bonfire night. Great things for the kids to attend for sure! Everyone we met was a repeat customer (one guy had been coming since he was a little boy in the 60's).

They also have bikes you can borrow, which my 8yo loved. He and a pack of young kids tore around for hours on the bikes. There are also boats that people were taking out, but as we aren't fishers we didn't bother. I don't know if there was a fee associated with taking the boats out.

Bugs: my first trip to Northern Ontario, and I was ready for bugs. Miraculously, there were none! No black flies, and maybe one or two mosquitos at the bonfire night. I don't know if it was a fluke or because of the location, but we were pleasantly surprised. OH...except we happened to be there for the one night when the the shadflies/fish flies/junebugs/whatever you want to call them came out to mate. But they don't bite, and it was kind of cool to see.

Weather: Bring sweatshirts and jeans, as it does cool down at night there.
On rainy days (boo, we had a couple) there's a small pioneer museum down the road, and we discovered that the Shell station rents dvd's, which we put on the portable dvd player for the kids.
The sunny days are amazing! Make sure to go to the beach at Providence Bay, the waterfall at Kagawong, and definitely go horsebackriding at the Kicking Mule Ranch.

Rates: competitive with the Manitoulin area, and cheap cheap cheap compared to other parts of Ontario! For 7 nights, including tax, it costs just over 700$.

All in all, we had a great stay, and will definitely go back. Next time we'll bring some other families, too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cazcazcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2006

We went to Manitoulin Island in July 2006 for one week. It was our first time on the island. Truly a different experience, it was like stepping back in time 50 years. A very relaxing holiday, with many sightseeing and boating activities.

The Mindemoya Court Cottages has nice cottages and trailers for rent, for good prices. The lodging is clean. There are no black flies, just lots of spiders, dragon flies and chipmunks (outside the cottages, of course)! There are daily activities for children. The water is very clean and crystal clear. There is no toilet paper, dishwashing soap or towels. No TVs, some cell phone coverage (depends on your carrier), no internet access at all. Do bring a portable BBQ as they're not supplied. Excellent waterfront views on some of the cottages. There is a good sized grocery store in downtown Mindemoya, only 5 min a drive away. The prices are more expensive on the island though, b/c everything has to be brought into the island. Make sure to have whitefish and Farqhuar icecream. Purvis fisheries (the island's major fishery) sells fresh fish from its truck in d/town Mindemoya on Fridays at 2pm. Make sure to buy some and bring them home with you!

There's a place right across from the cottage that rents boats, canoes, jet skis, etc. Their motors are much faster than the boats that the cottage itself rents out.

Make sure to visit Bridal Veil Falls, the Cup and Saucer and Mum's restaurant (d/town Mindemoya) for local good food with huge servings.

Try Maggies cafe in M'Chigeeng and ask them for a Native Indian dish. It's a nice experience. Also try Lillian's Crafts for beautiful native crafts. We hear the Ojibwe Cultural Foundation is very nice, though we never went there.

Hope that's been helpful.

24  Thank WorkToTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maioste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mindemoya
1.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
64 reviews
20.5 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
18.2 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Evergreen Resort
Evergreen Resort
#1 of 3 in Gore Bay
37 reviews
9.8 mi away
Red Lodge Resort
Red Lodge Resort
#1 of 34 in Manitoulin Island
71 reviews
18.1 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mindemoya Court Cottages & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mindemoya Court Cottages & Campground

Address: 604 Ketchankooken Trail, Mindemoya, Ontario P0P 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Mindemoya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mindemoya
Price Range: $24 - $625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our waterfront resort located on crystal clear Lake Mindemoya, Manitoulin Island Our resort offers over 18 acres of private groomed recreational area which includes a softball diamond, a volleyball court, horseshoe pit and bonfire pit. Let your children safely explore the wonders of nature worry free in our private setting away from traffic. Recreational activities are limited only by your imagination - with beautiful Lake Mindemoya footsteps from your cottage or campsite. You will discover an extensive picnic area with a BBQ, a children's play area, where children can play happily on the swings, tire swing, in the sand box and play house. For your enjoyment, participate in the planned activities including a weekly BBQ for all guests; softball game 'Chipmunks Vs Beavers,' volleyball game and bonfire. Enjoy leisurely walks or cycle around our beautiful private nature trail nestled amongst the 100+year old Maple forest. The resort features a swimming area with the only deep water diving board in the area and private floating swim platform. Public sandy beach is located a short walk from our resort which is perfect for the smaller children. Minutes away from our resort in the town of Mindemoya, enjoy golfing, shopping, major grocery store with LCBO, full service garages and four restaurants for dining out. In the evenings, observe the stars. Manitoulin Island is famous for its “Dark Sky” affording an amazing Stargazing experience. Manitoulin Island night skies are an unforgettable, breathtaking experience, one which you will never forget. The night skies of Manitoulin are a beacon to astronomers from all over the world. Island hop, as you approach Manitoulin Island, Northern Ontario, Canada, from the North Shore of Lake Huron, the Bahamas of the North for sailing. Encounter unspoiled splendor along the ever changing shoreline. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mindemoya Court Cottages & Campground Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing