We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roosterant

Roosterant
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Mindemoya
Cuisines: Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Just a good a Mom's if not better and no crowds.We were there for lunch on a very hot day and the AC was on full.We all enjoyed our meals and will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alfred
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Mindemoya for one night in August and had supper at the Roosterant. Homemade fish and chips and fabulous homemade pies for dessert. Great comfort foods. They had a variety of menuchoices inckuding curried chicken that evening as a special. Prices very reasonable and service good. All in all a nice family restaurant with great food after a long travel day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariëlle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Roosterant in Mindemoya is a nice little family restaurant. I've been vacationing on Manitoulin Island since I was a child, but I had never eaten here before. I stopped for lunch in the first week of August 2013.

The concept is quaint, with various roosters decorating the interior. You have a choice of a few booths to sit at, or tables, and they do have a small patio along the sidewalk out front.

I chose one of the specials which was a toasted Western with fries, and coleslaw, and I also had an iced tea and dessert.

Dessert is apparently the specialty. They have a large black board listing about 15 different options. Pies, muffins, cakes, tarts. It's all there. I had the coconut cream pie.

The food was good, the portions substantial. Will definitely go back when I'm on the Island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyoftheCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First decent meal on the island”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Fish was ok, but overcooked. BLT and Burger were fine.
DESERTS WERE AWESOME!!!!! Italian Cream cake!!!!!
Portions were good and the waitress was nice.
Tap water tasted funky though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcgnuggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roosterant also viewed

 
Little Current, Manitoulin Island
Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island
 
Providence Bay, Manitoulin Island
Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island
 

Been to Roosterant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing