We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Views / Perfect NZ Lodge!”
Review of Okiwa Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We travel often, choosing small luxury boutique accommodations and have traveled in NZ five times. Okiwa Bay Lodge is an outstanding example of a perfect NZ lodge/B&B, and we're compelled to write our first-ever review! As others note, everything is exceptional - views, hosts, lodge, food. Susie & Martin as owners/hosts are warm and welcoming, offering generous hospitality to create a wonderful environment. The lodge is entirely comfortable and relaxing, yet crisp and efficient at the same time. Their views at the absolute head of Queen Charlotte Sound cannot be beat, any time of day or night, any kind of weather!!
Susie's meals and treats are first-class and always satisfying! Sharing dinner with them (and other opting lodge guests) feels like being at home, a welcome respite after a long day or a long stretch of travel, or both! It is optional at extra cost but well worth it and a true highlight! Martin serves lovely NZ wines before and at dinner (included with).
We have stayed twice now for 3 nights each (Nov 2012 and Nov 2013), and our experiences exceeded our expectations each and every day! Susie & Martin are creative, generous, industrious, genuine.....and problem solvers. There is no issue too large - car tire losing air, needing to stay up-to-date on Superstorm Sandy in 2012, providing transportation (with a bit of advance notice), dietary requests, muddy boots and gear. The rooms are spacious (#1 and #5 in particular), beds and linens are perfect, providing a restful night's sleep! The hot tub is a nice treat with a great view. The lodge common rooms and deck take full advantage of their perch on the hill. The exterior grounds have been well-designed for both function and aesthetics, beautifully utilizing the slope of the property for water management, vegetable and flower gardens, etc. (with some of Martin's quirky sculpture tucked into the landscape!) Internet access and mobile phone coverage are fine. While set in a wonderfully peaceful and quiet landscape, Picton and Blenheim are easily accessible. We strongly recommend at least one day's hike along the Queen Charlotte Track.
All in - one of our favorite stays in the world!! When you leave, you feel you've been well looked after, and we will return as often as possible!

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #5 are large with amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DDD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you so very much. We were both thrilled to have you return as guests again this year. You now know our ongoing love affair with our wonderful property. It really does give us such great pleasure to share our home with its spectacular views with other people. We very much look forward to you coming again. We have a family of three baby Wekas who are very amusing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

The first thing you notice as you drive up the windy drive up the hill is the beautiful property complete with its own fresh waterfall flowing from the top of the hill. Then of course Susie and Martin greet you with their wonderful charming and warm personalities and before you know it you are sitting on the deck in the sun admiring the most incredible views of the Marlborough Sounds you could never imagine were possible sipping on a vodka and orange while devouring Susies home made lavender cookies and lemon drenched cakes. Sounds of the natural wildlife surrounding the bay and hoping to see the stingrays swimming along the bottom of the hill while the tide goes out. I could go on and on about how magical this place is.

Susie and Martin are also heavily involved with their local community and Susie even works as a part time chef in the village.

You cannot drive through the Sounds without stopping at this lodge for a night or two to marvel the beauty of this amazing part of the world.

I for one am counting the days until I can go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighandJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind description or our Piece of Paradise. We never take for granted the beauty and tranquillity of Okiwa Bay Lodge. We do hope you will be able to come again for a long weekend and we very much look forward to you coming with your parents next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

With views to die for and a welcoming warm hospitality.....what more could you ask for?
On arrival at the lodge, we had afternoon tea with Susie and Martin and Susie baked gorgeous scones (very English of you :-)) as well as lavender biscuits...yum yum.
The view of the Sounds was simply amazing from the balcony and room. Lovely hot tub to soothe the tired muscles from the Queen Charlotte Track Walk (a must do!)
We were very well looked after with dinner and hearty breakfast, thank you for a truly wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

It was a real pleasure to have such global travellers stay with us. We are delighted the views did not disappoint and the hot tub was able to revive you after your Queen Charlotte Track. We do hope you will come to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am travelling the world for a year and a half and this is the best view in the world. The view is so beautiful that you need to stay for more than one night. You can sit in the hot tub and watch the sunset down the queen Charlotte sound.

Very clean place and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preecey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. The views from the decking and the rooms are truly spectacular and constantly change with the tidal flow. We love to watch the pattern of the water. We wish you all the very best for your future travelling and hope that you will come to see us again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Had one night stay which was fantastic. Hosts were very hospitable and a real asset to the local community. Amazing view and great option for somewhere a bit more secluded than Picton especially if starting a holiday down the west coast of the south island. The scrambled eggs in the morning are a must!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AustraliaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review. We were delighted to share our property with you and the spectacular views down the Queen Charlotte Sound. We do hope you enjoyed the Abel Tasman and your onward journey South. Good luck for your future. Let us know when the baby arrives. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Okiwa bay lodge is one of those special places that you think you'll only ever come across once in your life time...but then you can book again & again. I feel so lucky that we decided to last minute stay here & we were in no way what so ever disappointed.
If you want to stay at a place with people that are so warm & welcoming & really go out of their way to ensure you have a comfortable stay then this is the place for you.
We left like we had made new friends.
They are amazing people who are very multi talented. Martin is a passionate photographer & wood worker along with other things. Susie is the diamond in the ruff, she makes most of the food & is absolutely talented in the kitchen. We had the dinner with the accompanying wines. Delicious. Her homemade breakfast jams are the best I've ever tasted & she bakes her own bread. The views are to die for & I would stay here again & again just for that view & the hot tub too of course.
They are genuinely caring people who want you to have a relaxing good time & are ready & willing to go that extra mile for your happiness & what's makes it better is that they're genuinely passionate about what they do. If it wasn't for the bad weather we experienced while traveling the South Island we would have definitely been back but now it will have to wait until next time we are in the country.
Thanks Susie & Martin for a great experience & we will be in touch soon!
Andrew & Renata xo

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your generous words. We were delighted to have you stay with us in our Piece of Paradise and were really looking forward to your return stay. The unusually severe weather conditions were a disappointment. You got home safely. That is the main. We very much look forward to greeting you on your next visit. We will have more creations to show you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our time at Okiwa Bay Lodge was extremely pleasant and relaxing. The hosts Susie and Martin operate one of the most homelike guest accomodations that we have ever experienced. In addition to having wonderful hosts and great food, we were able to enjoy all of this with one of the best views in New Zealand.
After a long day exploring the sounds we had the luxury of being able to sit and relax in their ceder hot tub, a truly great way to end our day. Susie was also a great cook, and for the price paid, the three course meal and accompanying wine was well worth the expense.
Overall I would absolutely reccommend Okiwa Bay Lodge to anyone wishing to have a tranquil and luxorious experience in the heart of Malborough Sounds!

Room Tip: After July 2013, all rooms will have en-suite bathrooms, and rooms three and five have extra great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We were delighted you were able to explore the Queen Charlotte Sound in all its natural glory. It certainly is an ever changing beautiful landscape. We do hope you will be able to visit again. We look forward to hearing reports of your future academic achievements. Good luck to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
14.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
648 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
14.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okiwa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okiwa Bay Lodge

Address: 169 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: $199 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okiwa Bay Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern lodge caters for people who enjoy peace and tranquillity and the special things that nature has to offer. Whether you are just looking for a night’s rest after your walk along the Queen Charlotte Track, or wanting a few days "away from it all", the warm hospitality of your hosts Susie and Martin will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Okiwa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing