We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Okiwa Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Staying at the Okiwa Bay Lodge was a highlight of our 3-week trip to New Zealand and Australia. Watching the sun rise over Queen Charlotte Sound from our room was unforgettable. Susie and Martin were perfect hosts and we enjoyed all the time we spent relaxing on their deck, eating excellent meals they prepared, and driving with them up and down the windy road from Picton to their lodge. Since we did not have a car, they not only picked us up from the ferry terminal, but also took us back to Picton the next day so we could do a wine tour and to the airport at Blenheim on our final day. The OBL is about a 40 minute drive from Picton, and a little isolated, but it worked perfectly for us. We definitely plan to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our "Little Piece of Paradise". We feel the peace and tranquillity is certainly worth the drive and the scenery is just so breath taking. The hillsides will look even more beautiful by the time you come again. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

Very welcoming owners and a few little fan tale birds. The quality of Main ensuit bedroom was beyond our expectation. And very private. We wish We could stay longer.
Perfect view.
Free your everyday stress or free your creativity. This B&B offers you so much but never too much.
Next time, I will bring pen, paper and keyboard and love to compose a coule of piece of music during the stay. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hideto2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words. The pleasure of your stay was all ours. We were so delighted that you enjoyed observing and listening to the bird calls and were able to watch our very busy and inquisitive fantails. We feel our "piece of paradise" is certainly an inspirational location and we very much look forward to hearing your music next time. Your little dog was a delightful guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Stunning view, friendly hosts and outstanding food and I can't forget the wine! We had a short one night stay at Okiwa Bay Lodge. No complaints whatsoever but one suggestion, at this level of accommodation I did expect a few more wee luxuries, nothing major. Things like the shower gel should really be better than Radox and just little touches like a travel size shampoo or conditioner would be helpful in the bathroom :o) Also if you are entertaining guests in the lounge until 11pm it might pay to keep the door closed as the sound travels to the bedrooms. Otherwise it's a wonderful place, Susie and Martin are lovely people and we will definitely stay there again. Cheers.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pachewychomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are currently in negotiations with a distributor for toiletries. We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us. We hope that when you come again you will be able to experience more of the delights of the Marlborough region but also relax in the tranquility of Okiwa Bay Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The lovely Susie and Martin made our stay at Okiwa Bay Lodge the highlight of our New Zealand experience. We were so warmly welcomed into their beautiful home which is uniquiely designed to make the most of their amazing view.

The cedar hot tub overlooking the bay is an experience not to be missed, as are the delicious home cooked meals and wine.

We highly recommend Okiwa Bay Lodge to others looking for a unique accomodation experience with breathtaking views, delicious food and fantastic hosts.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Han-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

Your stay was short and sweet but your company was delightful. Thank you for your kind words. Despite the unsettled weather we were so pleased you enjoyed the beautiful views from our Piece of Paradise. Any time you need relaxation and tranquillity, you know where to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This Lodge, and the owners, Martin and Susie, are simply amazing! We arrived at Picton airport and was picked up by Martin, and we nattered all the way to the Lodge. The views are simply spectacular, and one could easily spend all day on nice day on the deck looking at the view! Our room was modern, spacious and very comfortable.

Martin and Susie are fantastic hosts, with lots of stories to be told. As it was a surprise weekend for us given to us by a friend, Martin (and Susie!) drove us around a bunch of lesser known vineyards on the Saturday, and we had a fantastic day, as well as a fantastic evening as we drank some of our purchases!

I would absolutely recommend staying at the Okiwa Bay Lodge - be prepared to be entertained!

Room Tip: They have a spa to hop into as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2012

The whole weekend was an absolute pleasure to us. We were so delighted you enjoyed your surprise. Sharing breakfast on the decking with our guests and watching the sting wrays down below never ceases to thrill us. We look forward to your return visit when we will have more beautiful local places to show you and activities to undertake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had two lovely nights with Susie and Martin. Our room had a drop dead gorgeous view down the Sounds. Susie had rung and asked if we would like dinner and a wine the first night we were staying which we agreed to, they were marvellous hosts we had a fantastic meal and several glasses of ann excellent savvy and a pleasant evening chatting with our hosts. It was so good we repeated it the following evening after a day on the Queen Charlotte mTrack. We would recommend staying here to anyone after a relaxing special place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2012

We were delighted to meet you both and thoroughly enjoyed our discussions. Next time you come we will try to take you up the hillside to find the wild goats! Or you could cycle to find the lost gold mining town - you never know your luck!! We look forward to your next visit. Safe Cycling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

From the main highway, with 25 minutes driving into the and around the green hills, we arrived at a breath taking lodging. without any preparation, the view from the deck was second to none (after having been to milford sound and doubtful sound), as if you were sitting in between the hills. cooking up a hot bbq, cold beer, chatting with super friendly staff, life is good! the hostess also offered to drive us for the day out for wine tasting, which made me(the designated driver) a very merry/cherry date. Fantastic!

Room Tip: take a drive to the near by town, picton, take a stroll at waikara marina and watch the sunset from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Life_is_a_Journey_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okiwa_Bay_Lodge, Owner at Okiwa Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to have you and your parents stay with us. We were delighted to be able to offer you the experience of tasting so many of the region's wonderful and unique wines. We do hope you will be able to come and stay again and explore more of the the beautiful Marlborough region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
14.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
326 reviews
16.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#5 of 32 in Blenheim
648 reviews
7.1 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
14.9 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okiwa Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okiwa Bay Lodge

Address: 169 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: $199 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okiwa Bay Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern lodge caters for people who enjoy peace and tranquillity and the special things that nature has to offer. Whether you are just looking for a night’s rest after your walk along the Queen Charlotte Track, or wanting a few days "away from it all", the warm hospitality of your hosts Susie and Martin will ensure that your stay is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Okiwa Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing