We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great .. perfect”
Review of Tirimoana House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tirimoana House
Ranked #4 of 5 Anakiwa B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Michelle and John were perfect hosts . Our rooms were just lovely and the view fabulous. John took us in his boat to Mistletoe Bay so we could do part of the Queen Charlotte Walk and that night we had the most beautiful meal. Breakfast was delicious and John's coffees were great. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these 2 fantastic hosts . This was certainly one of the highlights of our trip and we hope to get back there again!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneypip59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Tirimoana House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and had our evening meal there twice whic all the guests recommended. Everything was glorious.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy123York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirihouse, Owner at Tirimoana House, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

Many Thanks for leaving the review
Hope you have a great Christmas
Michelle and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We stayed at Tirimoana for one night and we had a lovely visit.
The best thing about the location of the BB is the incredible view (see the photo below) each bedroom has just the same view.
The house is full of wonderful things that John and Michelle have collected on their world trips so its very cosy and intersting.
Michelle cooks for you and the breakfast is amazing as well as the dinner and its lovely to sit with them and exchange stories.
The bedrooms are very clean and full of lovely things.
Overall our stay was lovely and we would thoroughly reccomend it to any one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We visited Tirimoana in August and were not disappointed by the weather, the views from the hot tub with a glass of champagne, and certainly not by the loveliest hosts. John and Michelle were attentive to our every need, a mine of information about local places to visit and things to do, and above all just the nicest people you could wish to meet. The house has everything you could wish for in this area - bikes, canoes, water taxi, books and the afore-mentioned hot tub! Not an easy place to eat out from, but no need as Michelle's cooking is hard to beat. Should you wish to venture out we could recommend the pub on the marina in Havelock (a nice cycle ride if you are feeling energetic!). The accommodation is right at the end of the Queen Charlotte track and therefore a great treat if you have just done the walk. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMandGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

This is our third trip to NZ and were really amazed to find this lodge not truly in Picton, but positioned nicely across the road from a quiet harbor with lovely black swans swimming gracefully. Upon arrival we were pleased to see our own American Flag being flown along with the NZ flag as a jesture of hospitality from John. Michelle met us and showed us to our room which was large and clean overlooking the harbor. Michelle's hospitality was wonderful making sure we had eveything we needed and offering us a drink. But you have not even begun to see how her hospitality comes out through her cooking. The breakfasts are great, but her dinners are gourmet. John has a collection of hats that are a must see, it isn't hard to get him to bring them out. Also have John tell you about the Coffee School he attended. This is a great place to stay. The hiking (walks) is good too.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapCodBlackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

This was our second visit to Tirimoana House our first visit was when we had walked the Queen Charlotte Track which ends about 1/2 mile away. In the 2 years since our first trip the owners had made some extensive renovations to the rooms (they all have ensuite now) and garden. We had rooms next to each other which although not huge were bright and airy and beautifully furnished with everything we needed and had access to a terrace with amazing views of the sounds. Rather than take the windy drive to Picton or Havelock we opted to spend our two evenings eating in with the owners and other guests from around the world. John and Michelle somehow managed to cook, serve wine, clear away and keep the conversation lively as we sat together on a long table under the stars enjoying good food, wine and company. Great memories of a fantastic trip to NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mouldyoldjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We have stayed at a number of great B&Bs during our 5 weeks on New Zealand's south island. The Tirimoana House is tops. The setting is perfect watching the boats on the sound from your balcony. The location requires no driving to access the Queen Charlotte Track where you can walk for a day hike or get a boat taxi to somewhere along the track and walk back to your room. If you want to bike or kayak, they have first class equipment at reasonable prices. When you return to the house exhausted from your activities you can relax in the spa (with a great view) or pool with a glass of wine and prepare for a fantastic meal prepared by Michelle. The house and the location are only part of the prize. John and Michelle are both gifted artists, and the house is their personal gallery for your enjoyment. Take the time to look around. Michelle is a trained chef and John is a trained barista, so you will experience quality in everything you eat and drink. There aren't enough stars to properly rate this wonderful place!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anakiwa
6.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.4 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sounds Retreat
The Sounds Retreat
#2 of 5 in Anakiwa
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Anakiwa 401
Anakiwa 401
#3 of 5 in Anakiwa
128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anakiwa Lodge
Anakiwa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Anakiwa
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimoana House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimoana House

Address: 257 Anakiwa Road | Marlborough Sounds, Anakiwa 7281, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Anakiwa
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Anakiwa
Price Range: $200 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tirimoana House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing stunning sea views of the Marlborough Sounds, Tirimoana House is located 30 minutes drive from Picton, 25 minutes drive from Havelock, 55 minutes drive from the Marlborough Sounds Airport at Blenheim and 90 minutes drive from Nelson. Tirimoana House offers five elegantly furnished Rooms, all with en-suites. Each room has access to a balcony from which the Ocean and Mountain views over the Marlborough Sounds are spectacular. There is an open Guest Lounge available which is air conditioned in Summer and heated by an "open fire" in Winter. Gourmet Evening meals creatively prepared and presented by your Host Michelle are available 7 Nights and served either in the outdoor Courtyard or the Dining Room. Evening meals are at an extra cost and include complimentary canapes and one free glass of wine per Dinner Guest. Outdoors our facilities include a Swimming Pool and Spa Tub. Within a short walking distance or 5 minutes by car is the commencement of the Queen Charlotte Track. Also close by are Kayak's for hire, Boat cruises and those famous wineries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tirimoana House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimoana House Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing