We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumb down”
Review of Hillview Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillview Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Penang
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Thumb down”
Reviewed April 13, 2008

Booked for a night, recommended by friends. Totally regret it. The hotel/inn is nice/pretty (exterior), but the service is terrible. Each time I asked for hot water (which have to take yourself in the kitchen), I have to wait for 20-30 minutes because they are just starting to boil the water (their hot water for customer who order their food only!!).

Landlord and family are not friendly at all (the father's and Indonesian maid are nicer). After we used their mug, we want to clean back for them, was asked to wait till the family (grandmother) finish cleaning the vegetable before use the tap (there's another tap, which supposedly for private use and guest are not allow to use even though we are cleaning back the mug for them), I should opt for leaving the dirty mug there. Bed is tidy but the mattress (Oh my god, it's dusty).

Dripping hot water in bathroom (you need to stick your body on the wall to bath yourself). They have a common toilet in each floor (girls watch out, the window panel can see through). The price is roughly cheap but honestly, in Cameron highland you can get a better budget hotel that this.

  • Liked — Nice exterior building
  • Disliked — No water (hot) for bath and poor service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    95
    121
    32
    18
See reviews for
52
127
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We booked this hotel 2 months in advance and were quoted a price for a twin with private bathroom. When we arrived at the location, they tried to give us a double with shared bathroom. When we stated we wanted a twin with private bath, the front desk person said it would cost an additional 15 ringgit. We tried to argue that we'd been quoted a lower price and he kept trying to blame us (well did you call and confirm since then? are you sure you asked for a private bathroom?). The worst part was we could read the peice of paper he was looking at with our names on it and right there, it showed the price we had been quoted 2 months prior. 15 ringgit isn't a big deal but we refused to stay in a place with dishonest staff.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank sistergolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tanah Rata hotels

Jurong
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2008

This is a friendly enough hotel with a nice environment, good location in Tanah Rata. There is a nice common room, a nice garden, friendly service with booking facilities for tours and transfers. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and also affordable with the price. They also arranges tours, bus tickets and other transfer.

My Pleasant Stay in HILLVIEW INN

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — no shoes inside
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stevenjurong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2008

We decided to stay at Hillview after extending our stay in Cameron Highlands, and we didn't want to pay the high prices at the hotels again.

Hillview really suited us! It was spotless and cozy. Our room was really cute, with a nice balcony. The common lounge area was really attractive and comfortable too.

We didn't get any rudeness from the staff, but I have to wonder if it's so hard to smile and put a little effort into customer service. We got everything we needed, and don't need happy staff in order to have a good time, but still... happy hosts always add to the environment.

Would we stay there again? Definitely, good value for money.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, surrounded by nature
  • Disliked — Hosts were somewhat distant
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nomadchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2007

There is not much to recommend about Hillview Inn, apart from the low room rates which make it attractive for travellers on a budget. The location is up a hill near the bottom end of Tanah Rata, an easy walk from the main road's shops and restaurants. Our room was very draughty and the attached bathroom was spartan, with a dribbly shower. There were two balconies attached to our room, but unfortunately they looked over a derelict building site. We found the staff to be quite business-like and unfriendly. The Cameron Highlands is a lovely part of Malaysia and its well worth hiring a guide to visit some of the amazing viewpoints.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steakandalepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

A decent place that's fairly central in Tanah Rata. We were shown vacant rooms when we arrived and chose a double. I think all the rooms had balconies. There was no air conditioning, but you definitely don't need it in the Cameron Highlands, it was almost chilly in the evening!

The rooms were a fair size, light, airy and clean. There was cheap internet access in a small room/broom cupboard off reception. Washing was very cheap (10 RM for 4 kgs). Reception were able to organise a tour for us and bus tickets to Penang, although you may want to check bus times, these did not match what was on display!

There was a communal room with a TV and DVDs.

Breakfast was available downstairs, serving local tea and was a very pleasant way to start the day.

The Hillview Inn was quite backpackery, but unless you go to the big resorts I think most cheaper places around there are like that.

  • Liked — Light and airy.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank zippy10k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

We're not the kind of people who are usually that bothered about where we stay as long as there is a shower and a toilet in the room, and no roaches on the bed, but I can't bear rudeness and lies from the staff. That's exactly what we got in this hotel... wouldn;t recommend it to anybody.

  • Liked — good location
  • Disliked — rudeness from staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gaminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.5 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 12 in Tanah Rata
774 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
513 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
3.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Inn

Property: Hillview Inn
Address: 17 Jalan Mentigi, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillview Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hillview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillview Hotel Tanah Rata
Hillview Hotel Cameron Highlands
Hillview Inn Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing