We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in the highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Father's Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place in the highlands”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I recently stayed at Father's, for three nights, in the dorm room as a backpacker. This place is definitely up there with the top places I've stayed in Malaysia. From lovely staff, who will do anything for you, to comfortable beds, and a real chilled out vibe. Great place to meet people, and they arrange great tours for you too. I would stay here over anywhere else in Cameroon Highlands. Loved it.
The only (minor) downside was that the dorm bathroom (the bigger one) windows opened out to a building site, and so of you weren't thinking, you could easily give the builders a free strip show in the morning!

There was also a rooster than enjoyed waking me up nice and early, but I guess that can't be helped!

Room Tip: If you are travelling in pairs, the private rooms look lovely, and aren't much more expensive th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    333
    99
    29
    9
See reviews for
78
421
156
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Welcomed in by lovely staff who showed us around the house and our room. Tours are clearly displayed and we booked a full day which was great!
You can also do separate treks and the staff will warn you not to do trail 9 as there has been robberies.
Shops and restaurants only a small stroll down the road.
Rooms are basic fan on celling which spun round, I didn't really like being blown in the face whilst sleeping but that's my own opinion.
Other than that well worth the stay :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgirl_bigworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My cousin and I stayed there for 2 nights in Cameron and it is more than what I expected. The room was clean and quiet. Besides that, there is a little corner in the guest house where u can make a tea or coffee for yourself. The thing I like most here is the staff, they are so nice and informative. I can easily borrow a lot of things such as adapter, hair dryer for free. High recommended for those who visit Cameron

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Me and my friends haven't been so lucky here in Malaysia when it comes to clean hotel or hostel rooms... BUT Fathers Guest House changed our experience. The room we stay in (E4) was very clean and had everything we needed. Comfy and nice staff.
You can borrow games, their computer and hairdryer (!!!) for free.
Stay here if you want a clean room for a good price :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Is located very central in Cameron Highlands. The rooms are nice and clean and the staff very informative on one's arrival. However, they should not show trail no. 9 even as an option in their overview over treks since a lot of robberies happen there.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I did not stay in the Guest House, but I took 2 tours with them. The tour with Jason, as a guide, was great. He is a local and very knowledgeable. I did the nature walk in the rainforest. He explained along the trek a bit of history about the rainforest, the town Cameron Highlands as well as all the species we were finding on our way. He gave us a few tips about natural remedies and things to do during a walk in a forest. I strong recommend to go on this walk. It was just fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff is very friendly and helpful and the house is well kept.

We had a spacious and comfortable room and liked a lot the common area where you can play board games or just chill out.

The town is only few minutes away with few good restaurants (especially for the breakfast which is not included).

We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.4 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 27 in Tanah Rata
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cameronian Inn
Cameronian Inn
#8 of 27 in Tanah Rata
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cameron Highlands Resort
Cameron Highlands Resort
#1 of 12 in Tanah Rata
1,317 reviews
0.5 mi away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 19 in Tanah Rata
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Property: Father's Guest House
Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing