We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I do reccommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Father's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 29 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights, with 2 kids (12&6). They had set up an extra bed in our room without any additional cost. Rooms are very basic but tidy and functional, air was fresh and we had a good sleep wihout hearing a single voice (though our room was next to back door and a small lobby.
Hotel is in good location, just 5 min. walk to village centre, you could also walk(hike) to another village. We just did not do that beeing afraid we might get lost in forest as we had no GPS and I'm no good with maps. We also took the tea plantation trip which was organised by the owners of hotel. I suspect we got something extra that other tourproviders do not offer - the tour was very educational, lots of fun. The guys take this business very seriously. Other guests in hotel were mostly european backbackers, friendly and well behaving. So I felt safe with kids.
Oh, I was also helped by hotel administrator to get our tickets to smallbus, which took us to Kuala Besut ferry (to Perhentian island), the trip rom CH to KB was flawless. So what I experienced, was that the team in Fathers Guesthouse is proffessional, friendly and trustable. They just have solution to everything you ask.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trikikaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for two days and had a great time! Gerard was very kind and nice to everyone and showed a great attitude towards the guests. We had help with booking a trekking tour and also our bus from Cameron Highlands. If i go back there i will definetly stay with Gerard and Fathers Guesthouse again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmon91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Certainly a most wonderful experience over there! I have certainly been touched by the warm hospitality of Gerard and Zoe! My stay was very pleasant indeed. It was my first solo trip out and it was good to have been submerged in such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere!
I want to especially mention that if you go to Cameron Highlands, Father's guest house and/or Gerard's place is definitely the place to visit! Down there you really get to experience the real Cameron highlands and not the tourist facade that a few tourist agencies have made it to be!
I want to especially mention that Gerard and Zoe went deliberately out of their way to help me on the last day when I was stuck without any cash to catch my bus (long story). I am eternally grateful for your help! Gerard and Zoe! If you're reading this...this is David here! thank you so much!!!!

In conclusion! Consider no further! Just make this place your choice now! I will definitely be returning some day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lon9b3an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, all friendly, no breakfast had to go down the town to get it. Tours okay. Wifi sporadic, rooms lovely, big and clean. Shower cold!!! Room was right next to living area and quite noisy if you wanted to go to bed early, but people did respect that and it's not a party place. Think too much money for what is on offer but still a good solid hostel to stay in.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank manleyhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Yes the staff is friendly and helpful, but I am still not sold on this guesthouse! We had a doubleroom on the groundfloor right by the door and the room with a TV. We shared bathroom with one other bedroom but because of the location of the rooms, everyone used our bathroom, hence there were never any toiletpaper left, my soap was stolen and the bathroom became dirty quickly. The sound from the TV and the people watching TV was kind of disturbing at night. The rooms are otherwise good. Also a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedishinvasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

All the people are great and warming human beings.
I would like to mention Gerard, Bella and Satih for the wonderfull job they are doing, thank you very much for making me feel like home!
If you need something, just ask! They will begin a fight between them regarding who will help you first!

Room Tip: You will find over there any kind of room you like or need! The beds are very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitrache F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Fathers guest house is a really friendly place in the Cameron highlands. As soon as we arrived the staff were all great with showing us around and recommending places to go and eat (the Indian by Starbucks do amazing breakfasts, roti cannai with banana and honey!)

The staff can recommend tours for you to do and book these in for you which is great.

The rooms are nice and clean, we stayed in a RM70 double room with shared bathroom. They don't have air con but you really don't need it! Infact it was great to have duvets! It would have even been nice to have a little heater in the room as they did tend to get a bit damp despite leaving the windows open and fan on all day. Just a recommendation!
Breakfast isn't included in the price of the room but you are only a short walk from town.

Bathrooms were clean enough, the toilet next to our room wasn't flushing but we mentioned it to reception and it was fixed straight away. Only improvement I'd like to suggest are separate toilets and showers! A bit of a pet peeve of mine, I don't think anyone likes going to the toilet with a wet floor and toilet seat! But they were clean and it really isn't even a complaint.

Overall, the staff really make the visit. So helpful even when it came to booking onwards travel and accommodation. Would stay again!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank nayohmyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#3 of 29 in Tanah Rata
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arundina Cameron Highlands
Arundina Cameron Highlands
#4 of 29 in Tanah Rata
395 reviews
0 mi away
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
#6 of 29 in Tanah Rata
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $17 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing