We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Father's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Father's Guest House
Ranked #2 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for four nights while exploring the Highlands - and recovering from a sudden bout of fever. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful, the guesthouse itself is lovely and rooms are very clean. We didn't have an ensuite bathroom, but it was just next to our room and rarely taken, so it was no problem at all. Lovely location just a little bit removed from the main street. Wifi was a little dodgy, worked on and off. Very good coffee and tea! My boyfriend had some issues with the air in the room being very very moist, I noticed it too but it didn't bother me as much - he felt is was really uncomfortable, but didn't have any other complaints. We just aired it out during the day, which seemed to help somewhat.

Indian food in Tanah Rata is to die for and dirt cheap, be sure to have some!

We also did the whole day tour, which was well worth the money and our guide was really knowledgeable.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the reception and a little noisy, but the hotel was full so we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosettaxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,000)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Small friendly guest house with nice location in Tanah Rata.
Bus, taxi station and food shops are in 3 min walk distance.
Rooms are very clean, staff smily and helpful.
Coffee and tea are free and unlimited!
Only good memoirs about this place! :)

Room Tip: One tip - rooms near shared bathroom (with same wall) are little bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmytro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fathers is a great base if you are travelling to the highlands. We extended our stay here because we were so impressed. Staff are extremely helpful (they arranged all of our tours as well as giving advice on which restaurants to visit) and friendly. Our room was small but had everything we needed including permanent hot water. One of the better guesthouses we've stayed in during our tour of SE Asia.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

One of the best budget places I stayed in Southeast Asia. New building featuring simple but clean rooms with good beds and an attractive courtyard. Very welcoming and helpful staff who truly seemed to enjoy their duty.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HilkovR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The rooms are clean and comfortable; quite large. The bathrooms were average. It has a common area which is comfortable with couches and free coffee and tea facilities. However, be careful if choosing a room on the bottom floor as they are in the common spaces and this can get quite noisy if you want an early night. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is right In the centre within easy walking distance to food and laundry services. The price of the rooms was a little too high for what you got, however, the whole town seems to be pricey for accommodation.

Room Tip: Look for rooms away from common areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in room C3 (double with shared bathroom) at Fathers which is on the same floor as the dorm (2nd floor) so if the noise of jovial young people bothers you then we suggest asking for a different floor but I found with a good pair of earplugs it was no more noisy than most of the average hotels I've stayed in. Valerie the lady who answers emails and sits at front of house during the day is very sweet and helpful and we didn't find going down a couple of flights of stairs any bother to get a cup of tea. the guest house is just off the main road (follow the signs for Twin Pines) but close to everything as Tanah Rata is pretty small. There are lots of communal spaces if you're in the mood to socialise, but equally our room was bright enough, and the WiFi reliable enough, to just hang out in our room together. We took advantage of the half day Mossy Forest tour and it was really great. The guide Francis is really knowledgeable, and you got the feeling he genuinely loves what he does. When he told us the forest was like his family I got the feeling it wasn't just talk which was really refreshing. At 70R a night we felt we got good value and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor at Fathers has the dorm room so maybe avoid if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohmissjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Fathers over the Christmas holiday and spent a day hiking with Jason. We went on the Cameron Descent hike. I have tried to write a review on the Fathers GH website but could not find the link. Please find below our review and post it to the website so that others can enjoy the company of Jason on a hike.
Jason is a fantastic tour guide and is extremely knowledgeable about the local flora and fauna. He has interesting stories about Malaysia's wild life and rainforest that he shares throughout the tour. The tour was catered to our interest and ability. When we return to the Cameron Highlands we will be sure to stay at Father's and go on another tour with Jason. We feel that we got far more from our hike with Jason then we would have going on a larger less memorable or personal tour. Jason is a fantastic guide and truly cares about the preservation of the Cameron highlands, his informative personal guided hikes through the highlands should not be missed. Thanks again Jason for a wonderful day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.1 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#3 of 28 in Tanah Rata
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 22 in Tanah Rata
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TJ Lodge
TJ Lodge
#11 of 28 in Tanah Rata
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arundina Cameron Highlands
Arundina Cameron Highlands
#4 of 28 in Tanah Rata
395 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
Eight Mentigi Guesthouse
#8 of 28 in Tanah Rata
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Father's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Father's Guest House

Address: Number 4, Jalan Mentigi | 200 meters across Maybank, Tanah Rata 39007, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $17 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Father's Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fathers Guesthouse is situated 2 minutes walk to Tanah Rata town/ Unititi Express bus stop. Located across the road from Maybank, behind Twin Pines Chalets. Close to shops, restaurants, banks, money changer, and pharmacy and laundry service. Clean, cozy, affordable and comfortable rooms, friendly service and ideal + peaceful location, make it the place to stay for backpackers & budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Father's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Father`s Guest House Hotel Tanah Rata
Father's Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing