We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy bathrooms and a loud mosque make for an uncomfortable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Century Pines Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I checked in late at 7pm, when I got to the bed I noticed the duvet was covered in white stains. I told reception and they had the sheets changed straight away, with no apology though.

When I checked the bathroom I noticed dozens of flies all over the drain and dead flies in the shower. The shower curtain was black with mould as were the drains. We planned to put up with it until the morning time as it was getting late and we didn't want to move rooms after spending the whole day on a coach. At 2am we were both awake in bed scratching after being bitten many times by something in the sheets, hen I turned on the lights the ceiling was covered in flies. Enough was enough so we asked to be moved to another room at 2.30am.

Reception told me they could move me to another room of the same class and let me inspect a few. All of them were better than the one they had stuck us in the first place, so we chose and they arranged for us to swap. No apology was given until suggested there should be one. Then I was offered an insincere sorry sir.

I settled to sleep at 3.30am, and was awoken again at 5am due to the very loud noise from the nearby mosque. This noise continued until breakfast time. At 11.45am I asked the new receptionists if I could have some earplugs so I could sleep during the day, not unsurprisingly they don't have any for their guests.

I have lost a day of my holiday by staying here and none of the staff seem to want to make amends. On the plus side the town looks beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kingstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 807 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was an unplanned trip to the Cameron Highlands and we searched through internet for any available room for a 1 nite stay and came across the Century Pines Resort. Called the hotel and it was answered by En. Herry who informed us that if we booked via online the rate would be cheaper than booking directly to them. We arrived hotel and it was not difficult to find. Good location also as it is near to local eatery area . Hotel is rather old but well maintained. Reception personnel are ok but can be friendly if you start a conversation with a laugh. Our room was on the 1st floor at Block B facing a little garden with pine trees. Room is clean and spacious with super king size bed with "french balcony" excellent for family with children. Bathroom has separate shower and bath tub. Unfortunately the water heater was not working though there was an instruction saying we need to switch on the heater 1/2 hour before shower and we switched it on for more than 3 hours but it still didn't work. We didn't have our breakfast at the hotel because we stupidly booked room without breakfast but from what we saw the breakfast counter was good and had our breakfast at the nearby restaurant which was also good. All in all it is worth the money spent and we are looking forward to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the ground floor with garden view and it will be good for those with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Neena2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Like the title says, nice big, clean rooms and a comfy bed. The check in staff we dealt with were less than helpful. The buffet, noyhing to write home about bit it wasn't terrible either. There was a mix of eastern and western that satisfied the breakfast cravings

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank matto082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

we try to avoid Brinchang town as it was very crowded hence found this hotel. Location is good, its just a walk away from restaurant, bank and etc and gardens opposite of the hotel. Fortunately and surprisingly the hotel was barely unoccupied by patrons maybe because of the recent dam burst in ringlet so we managed to get quite a good deal for large room for the family. And since there were not many guest around we managed to get extra towels, blankets etc courtesy of the hotel. Staff are efficient though we did not see many of them. The kids were more than happy to feed the koi fishes in the pond. Breakfast was okay with mix of eastern and western. The only complaint was the souvenir shop where the staff was not attentive and pretty much occupied herself with her smart phone all the time. And perhaps make the place a bit livelier at hall by playing some music at night would be nice

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank netteMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed here with wife and child.
Big and comfortable King sized bed, with wooden tiled floor.
Room at Block B, facing the backyard garden of pine trees.
Lovely view, far away from the traffic.

Overall room was clean and cosy. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexchoong78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

A good hotel just situated on the out side of town (about a 5 minute walk along the road or through the gardens). The room was large and clean. The buffet breakfast had a good variety of choices. The gym equipment was a little dated. All in all just what you want as a base to explore the highlands.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower ground floor faced the gardens, not a great view but might be good if you have sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefchrisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Anyway there is not much to do in Cameron Highlands, this place is calmer in that sense.. breakfast was good.. dinner was little disaster.. chef actually offered us not to charge for that dish but we denied.. otherwise good place to stay.. chose a room at ground floor, it has backyard space for you.. there is a park nearby for kid's activities :-)

Room Tip: Take room at ground floor, it has backyard space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajasthani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.7 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
522 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Pines Resort

Address: | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $57 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Pines Resort is located at the Heart of Tanah Rata . The biggest children playground in Cameron Highlands is just opposite the hotel . 3 minutes walk to bus station , to F & B outlets ,hair salon, shops , 24 clinic and etc. 5 min drive to Golf Course , 8 min drive to Bringchang , Night Market , Strawberry farm , Rose Garden , 15 min drive to Boh Plantation .The hotel has 153 room , with 99 Deluxe room , 11 Deluxe with Garden , 11 Superior with garden , 10 Duplex Suites , 1 Pahang Suuite , 1 Perak suite and 20 Superior rooms.The hotel guest is entitled for a 10% discount at the Thera Spa and 10% discount to shop at the souvenir shop .All rooms have balcony and the Suites have both kitchenette and balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Pines Hotel Cameron Highlands
Century Pines Cameron Highlands
Century Pines Resort Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing