We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Century Pines Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This Hotel may have once been "luxury" but it doesn't appear to have been updated since the 80's so that luxury is now somewhat faded! While the main reception areas are impressive and have plenty of marble and crystal once you leave reception it's all pretty basic. We choose this hotel for a 'treat' during a 2 week stay in Malaysia - but although it was the most expensive hotel we stayed in it certainly wasn't any better quality than hotels we paid 1/4 of the price for!

The location of this Hotel is good - easy walking distance from the main shops in Tanah Rata and very convenient for the bus station.

We booked two nights and despite it being off peak and the hotel clearly having a very low occupancy were given a room in a wing separate from the main hotel - up four flights of stairs (no lift) with no view at all :-( When I asked (politely) at reception why we didn't get a room in the main hotel reception staff just shrugged.

The main bedroom was reasonably clean but smelt musty and un-used. However the bathroom was mouldy and dirty (cobwebs in all corners). We were looking forward to having a bath but a sign informed us that the bath was to be used for showering only and no bath plug was provided. The room didn't have any source of heating and we found with only a sheet and thin duvet we were cold both nights.

The hotel lists a sauna and jacuzzi as facilities but we discovered that these were only available for patrons of the 'spa' and these services were overpriced and required 1 days advance booking!

Internet access was only available in the lobby and in the restaurant which wasn't very convenient - especially when we had to walk from the separate wing.

During our stay the buffet breakfast was not offered (I presume due to low occupancy) so we just got to order off the a-la-carte menu which was fine. The service was fast and the food was OK - nothing special but adequate.

Overall we were quite disappointed with our stay - the hotel did not meet the standard it presents via the description / photos so as a result we did not feel it was value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

490 - 496 of 807 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights arriving early evening by bus from Penang. The hotel is located just near the town - you can walk everywhere. The bus station is almost next door to the hotel which comes in very handy. It is certainly in a very picturesque location.

The hotel itself is an older style however it was very clean and tidy. The entry foyer is stunning and quite large. The rooms are roomy and spotlessly clean - bed was very comfortable after a tiring day on the bus . Our room had a balcony as our room was in the main building. It was certainly suitable for the amount of time we were going to be there (two nights). Internet (wi-fi) is free, however it can only be accessed near their cafe area on the ground floor foyer - we found the speed quite good at the time we were there as there were not many tourists around. TV reception is just so-so - not that many channels to choose from, plus some channels were not very good reception. There are a lot of car parks out the front for tourists to use if they arrive by car.

Breakfast was not the best for a westerner - the choice was extremely limited, however what we had was nice - like I said before, ok for a couple of days, and would probably get boring if you were staying longer. They certainly don't cater for western tourists when it comes to breakfast. I asked for a cheese omelette - ie nothing else but egg and cheese in it - however they said they couldn't do that as they had already made up their mixture which included everything (capsicum, mushrooms, onions etc). They wouldn't make me one without. I ended up having scrambled eggs - with cheese in it. We didn't eat there for any other meals - only breakfast as it was included in the price we paid for the room.

Getting around - we booked a tour - they are very cheap and you have plenty of time at each place. Be prepared if you go to the Rose Garden - there are many many steps to climb. The Goh Tea Plantation was terrific, as was the Strawberry farm we went to. If you don't want to book a tour, you can hire a taxi to take you to wherever you want to go for a really cheap price. If you are thinking of hiring a car - don't bother - so many hills and hollows there - not a lot with street names on them - and you would get lost for sure.

Overall - this hotel is quite suitable for the price we paid - certainly nothing to complain about, although the breakfast choice- particularly for westerners could do with a re-think. The hotel is well located to the town, clean and comfortable - if I was in the area again for a night or two I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The resort is generally quiet and has ample car parking space. It is suitable for those who are driving up to Cameron Highlands.

Room (Deluxe Twin) is so so, somewhat big, but nothing spectacular, best to request for those with balcony facing the hotel entrance for a more wider and open view (the park rather than forest tress on very near slope). Overall it's very basic and the price paid (~RM280) could be a little high I felt.

Having said that the hotel's location is kind of perfect within walking distance to Tanah Rata town which has lots of restaurants and eatery. There is also a small park just opposite of the hotel but it is not really well maintained.

Just like to highlight the car parking facility again because this is one of the key factor I decide on staying at the hotel. There are other hotels with "remote" car park, i.e. you need to park elsewhere and not within the hotel's property.

Buffet breakfast is always included in the room rate; there are basic stuff served, such as rice porriage, local fares like Nasi Lemak, cereals, bread, noodle, sausage, etc, and there is an egg station serving sunny-side ups, omelette, etc. A few of the food trays seems to be empty all the time, could be due to slow replenishment. Overall so so, very basic, nothing to shout about.

Nothing good or bad to talk about on service provided by the staffs, except the informative and quick response over email before making the booking.

To sum it up, I had a good stay at this place, and will most likely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfaromeo8c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The reception staff didn't initially want to show us the room and thought seeing a picture should be good enough. After a bit of debate they acquiesced and let us see the room. The rooms are not nearly as nice as the pictures (big surprise) but after some debate we decided to stay here anyways. The rooms are really big, bright and cheery. They are starting to look more than a little worn around the edges and our biggest complaint was that the rooms had not been cleaned completely (we found a dirty q-tip and something else I can't remember). There was also a random old lounge chair in the room which didn't quite fit. It seems like it's a hotel more popular with local tourists and big family groups. Overall it wasn't a great stay, but it was perfectly fine for a night. The location is convenient for seeing the Cameroon highlands, and there's a really pretty park across the street from the hotel. All in all, a less than memorable stay, but adequate if you want to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

This resort is value for money. Located in Tanah Rata town in Cameron Highland. For first timer in Cameron Highland is excellent resort because of its location. Restaurants, Cafes, ATM/Banks, Confectionary shops, Travel/Tour Agents, Other bussiness places all within walking distance from the Resort. Stayed there with family for 2 nights in Deluxe Room. Initially given a room on 5th floor with balcony facing someone's house backyard, didn't feel comfortable but then asked front lobby for a room swap and granted same Deluxe room on 5th floor with balcony facing the car park/frontyard of the Resort....excellent.
Buffet breakfast was not that great but just OK. Room cleanliness is good. Toilettries was a bit of shortage (no tootbrush/paste, no washbasin towels but bath towels are available, one combination bath soap/shampoo). Only a pair of hotel slippers. Bathroom with separate bathtub and standing shower room which is good. So overall this Resort is value for money.

Room Tip: if you go for Deluxe Room, choose the high rise room (5th floor), facing the car park/front yard of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bingung_deh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The hotel Location is very good 1 min walk from the Tanah Rata City, the rooms are clean , the furniture is all new in wood and marble , but the service is very bad no one in the staff can help you , if you ask for something you have to ask every one , an ADVISE: do not use you credit card ( they do not know how to use it properly) , if you eat in their restaurant , Pay cash and do not put it on room charge otherwise you will have trouble in check out .
the Breackfast is very poor also the restaurant menu ( they do not have brad at all ).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mairifsamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

service is ok
breakfast buffet is fine
locations is a plus
all the restaurants are located walking distance
hotel is old so you will find some wear and tear

Room Tip: rooms near the elevator are preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zeasifshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.7 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
522 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
340 reviews
1.4 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Century Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Pines Resort

Address: | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $52 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Century Pines Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Century Pines Resort is located at the Heart of Tanah Rata . The biggest children playground in Cameron Highlands is just opposite the hotel . 3 minutes walk to bus station , to F & B outlets ,hair salon, shops , 24 clinic and etc. 5 min drive to Golf Course , 8 min drive to Bringchang , Night Market , Strawberry farm , Rose Garden , 15 min drive to Boh Plantation .The hotel has 153 room , with 99 Deluxe room , 11 Deluxe with Garden , 11 Superior with garden , 10 Duplex Suites , 1 Pahang Suuite , 1 Perak suite and 20 Superior rooms.The hotel guest is entitled for a 10% discount at the Thera Spa and 10% discount to shop at the souvenir shop .All rooms have balcony and the Suites have both kitchenette and balcony . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Century Pines Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Pines Hotel Cameron Highlands
Century Pines Cameron Highlands
Century Pines Resort Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing