We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cannot return - no sleep for 4 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron Highlands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This resort is the best place in the Cameron Highlands for vistors no question about it it is charming and has wonderful views and history and atmosphere
The area itself is lovely without the humidity and is great for walking and enjoying the views of the company bungalows that dot the hills and the golf course views
The entry is impressive and after 4 hours by bus or car up some pretty hairy roads - dont look down! you will be glad to arrive
dont be lazy- this is one place you can walk around, Brinchang is one km to your left out the main entrance and tanah rata is 4kms max depending on which way you go, there is a lovely walk around the back of the golf course and you can even join the bush walking tracks from there
reception is everything it should be friendly knowlegable helpful staff efficient and professional
The F&B are alot younger and yes they lack training leadership and any visible direction
Malaysia will never attain the service standards of the Thais and in some places the Indonesians so lower your expectations
The high tea was terrific for value and standard, great choice and quality and a meal for 2- surprisingly the staff had no idea about tea which is what the area is famous for- an area for improvement?
We would have liked to have some cocktails each night however they had run out of key ingredients like gin and offered no alternative-
The rooms are very spacious and thoughtfully set out, bed comfortable lovely furnishings and nice to relax in if it was not for the noise
Many many other reviewers have commented on the road noise- IT IS RELENTNESS
I AM NOT A LIGHT SLEEPER but after all the scary references to no sleep we took earplugs
where do you go in the world that you need to use earplugs all night every night - it is unbelievable negligence that the owners and managers have not addressed this problem
the noise is so loud you cannot enjoy your lovely balcony and views the noise is so loud it is louder than the TV ????? can you imagine this we had to yell to talk to each other
i have never experienced anything like it and such a contrast to the beautiful property that it is
If you go you could not go back knowing that you will have no sleep - no relaxation
there are no rooms at the back of the property i am not sure where that idea come from the hotel backs onto thick forest only - all rooms face the road the golf course is across the road
the flat stretch of 500 metres approx of road is probably the only one since the base of the mountains therefore it becomes a race track
the Manager came out to greet us on arrival but was quite vague could not remember our names and had nothing much to say -not sure what the point of that was
no wifi in rooms only in lounge area and library
There is a staff room under the guest rooms and staff like to yell and park their cars in guest spots so expect noise from this area as well
the staff are very careful not to ask you if you slept well because they already know the answer
Housekeeping was ok they forgot something in the room every day which required a phone call
The breakfast arrangement is funny they have quilted mats under the tableclothes so glasses cannot balance and tip over- seriously how impractical and such a nuisance for staff
the quality of the food is good you can order as much as you like which no one seemed to be doing but us which is great option
no coffee plungers for coffee lovers and often not open and ready at opening time
they do make a lot of mistakes at breakfast with your order- they like to try and remember everything you say without writing it down and it all goes bad - so dont be in a hurry
there were tours groups there when we stayed - they ate in a separate function room
the spa looked great but no time to try and the prices were excellent
the dinner prices are well over what they should be and who wanted to eat the same food as home
I will be putting up a separate review for the Golfers cafe across the road - check it out its fantastic and also a separate review for the Hill station cafe in Tanah Rata another excellent choice and also some restaurans to avoid despite the reviews, there is no room service here either
This is a small luxury hotel but royalty or not you are not sleeping in this place
We cannot return because of this
as for sightseeing taxis are cheap by the hour , the sungei palas BOH tea estate is a must see for a beautiful tea estate they do lunches and have great cakes and a strawberry farm of course as well you will find it hard to ignore them
but it is overall a place to enjoy the scenery and lovely mist and fresh air - tired or not

Room Tip: they all face the road it is impossible to escape the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback wich we value very much and they will allow us to improuve on the points you have highlighted.
We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindly regards
Ilario Botta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Had an amazing weekend at this resort in sept. The design of the rooms and hotel interiors provides the luxury feeling. The staff is very helpful and always has a smile on their face, good personal touches throughout our stay, this litle small gestures could really brighten up your day. Its worth trying out their spa facility

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne Lim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2012

Dear Ms Lim,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for the excellent review and for affording us the recent opportunity to make your holiday a personalize unique experiences. We are delighted that our resort and services have met your expectations in every way. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindly regards
Ilario Botta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I've been told that this is the best hotel in Cameron Highlands, and I don't doubt it. The hotel is beautiful with large clean rooms and a nice balconies. Beds were comfy too.

Where it falls short is in the service department. Granted, they were apparently short of staff when we stayed there. The staff tried hard to do their best and I appreciate them for that. But they lack training. They seem to be overworked too as the staff who took care of our breakfast were the staff who took care of our lunch then our dinner. The management really needs to look into this.

As for the food, although not terrible, were average (or below average). My fish and chips came almost raw. Quite unacceptable for a hotel of this stature.

I hope that YTL can improve on the little things for the benefit of future guests.

Room Tip: Try eating outside instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FarhanFarhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your feedback wich we value very much and they will allow us to improuve on the points you have highlighted.
We would like to thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindly regards
Ilario Botta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is lovely is and well positioned for exploring the Cameron Highlands. It faces the golf course so ideal for those that want to play. All parts of the hotel are beautifully decorated and furnished including the bedrooms. The food is lovely although a little pricey, as are the drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaJSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Mr Sheffield,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for the excellent review and for affording us the recent opportunity to make your holiday a personalize unique experiences. We are delighted that our resort and services have met your expectations in every way. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kindly regards
Ilario Botta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Was here last week and did a 3D2N in this famed resort.
I was impressed with its colonial setting that was upkept and the deco effort that was infused in the spirit of Christmas, it really felt like being back in UK. The atmosphere is charming and the staff tries hard to cope with your request.

I liked the lounge best at night after dinner in Tanah Rata, with the quiet setting and warm lights accompanied by the Pianist. Feels good for a wind down with my wife with long chats catching up with what we could not back in the bustling fast paced cosmo life.

Food is awesome here. The standard presented and taste is first class. I wasnt disappointed. Me and my lover had a great time salivating the effort and touches made on every single plate. Worth every penny!

Spa is a must here! My wife has returned here many a time. Great service and the technique is authentic. (Authenticity of Massage technique is very important if one realizes that a wrong press could create a chain reaction causing bad nerve points and you will suffer in the long run as a consequence- this coming from years of bad back aches and leg cramps all visiting the wrong masseurs. I hope those reading this will gain some knowledge here and not hit the wall like me and my wife. )

Gym facility is good for simple workouts while waiting for wifey to finish her spa session next door with ample machines and tv to accompany the tedious running workouts! ^^

Despite the Malaysian service attitude bug that also got caught in this resort, I'm impressed with the level of service extended by their Resort Manager Mr Botta who came from a 5 star background. I sincerely hope the staff could learn from Mr Botta and bring forth our Malaysian service attitude to a more regional level, competing against the best around eg Thai and Bali 5 star hotel where teams gel together and could anticipate every customers move and NOT just being IGNORANT which results in guests having to frantically wave for service and asking many a times for their orders - happened in this resort. (forgiven cus it's Malaysia but if the management is looking at improvement, this is one helluva area that differs you from a Great hotel to a Magical hotel ) I know this is a tall order given the circumstance on even other 5 star hotels around Msia where staff prefer to adopt the watch and see attitude but service around the region has really caught up a mile further than us, Malaysia. I sincerely hope CHR could look into this area and be a beacon of hope and spread the top class act like wildfire in the near future with Mr Botta STILL around.

Room Tip: Take the top floors, its higher and quiter. Has another layer of roof to block all motoring sounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShawnWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Mr Woo,

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for the excellent review and for affording us the recent opportunity to be at your service. Word of wisdom indeed, yes I will strive to make these results happening and looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you once more for all these compliments
Ilario Botta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Admittedly, it's been well over a year since we went, as just now posting reviews here. However, I'm sure this place is still up to a high standard.

We only stayed one night before going to Lakeside for our 2nd night & loved the style/service of the place. When we checked in early evening, there was a fog bank which provided an ethereal view from our road/mountain facing balcony. With the twinkling lights in the forecourt trees, it felt a bit like Xmas had come early.

Yes, it's a bit close to the road & can hear traffic occasionally. But if you want to spoil your loved one & go for a long weekend drive holiday (we came up from Singapore) - this is a great place to tryout.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for the excellent review and for affording us the recent opportunity to be of service to you. We are delighted that our resort and services have met your expectations in every way. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

An absolute recommendation! Look no further for an unforgettable stay in the Cameron Highlands.

Beautiful rooms/suites, superb service, delicious breakfast and fantastic spa (Spa Village). I had the Fresh Strawberry Escapade treatment and I loved every minute of it. Well worth your money!

Boh tea plantation was closed on the day we wanted to visit, so we went to Bharat instead. Couldn't have been happier in hindsight. The views from the restaurant are to die for!

Afternoon tea at the resort is also well worth trying. Delicious!

Enjoy your stay (I'm jealous!)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yumyum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilario B, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for the excellent review and for affording us the recent opportunity to be of service to you. We are delighted that our resort and services have met your expectations in every way. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
4.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
1.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
1.1 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#5 of 13 in Tanah Rata
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Highlands Resort

Address: | By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $154 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron Highlands Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tea plantations and rolling hills, this boutique hideaway promises all the splendour, romance and nostalgia of Cameron Highlands’ grand colonial heritage.Tall French doors, timber-beamed ceilings and plantation shutters add colonial charm and a touch of nostalgia to our rooms.Enjoy a refreshing round of golf, a pink-cheeked ramble along jungle trails, or a leisurely walk through tea plantations and strawberry farms. To recover, you can have a cup of tea in the drawing room, or a tea bath at the Spa Village, or you may simply choose to spend the day curled up with a good book by the fireplace.Cameron Highlands Resort is situated on the largest hill retreat in Malaysia, surrounded by breathtaking scenery, lush greenery, rolling hills and Tudor-styled cottages. The luxurious boutique Resort features 56 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites, and fronts Cameron Highlands' 18-hole golf course. It also houses the third wellness centre of the award-winning Spa Village group, which offers exotic treatments focusing on the healing and restorative properties of tea. Located in the state of Pahang, approximately 200 kilometres north of Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands is a beautiful holiday destination and the only place where you can find tea plantations and strawberries in Malaysia. At about 1,500 metres above sea level, it is the highest area on the mainland and enjoys a cool climate and fresh air, with temperatures ranging between 15° and 25° Celsius. Much of the character of the highlands remains unchanged since colonial times. It is endearingly known to some as the 'little corner of England in Asia'. The cool climate on the picturesque plateau and its surrounding hills and forest make this a popular retreat for golfing, jungle trekking and exploration of the many plantations and gardens. Cameron Highlands Resort is ideal all year round for families, honeymooners and holidaymakers out to satiate their appetites for trails, tales and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Cameron Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Highlands Hotel Tanah Rata
Cameron Highlands Resort Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing