We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Cameron highlands”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron Highlands Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Cameron highlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Escaping KL to Cameron highlands my wife and I were expecting old colonial charm in the centre of Malaysia. The hotel and service was fantastic and delivered just that! Cameron highlands area was beautiful and scenic however all of the tourist attractions are run down and a non-event. We were there during a long weekend and like most places in Malaysia experienced bad traffic jams, on the Sunday taking 2 hours to drive 8 km's. For anyone looking to go to Cameron highlands, you need not stay longer than two nights and don't go unless you stay at Cameron highlands resort!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Greetings from the cool highlands. Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are delighted that our resort and services have met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    427
    150
    42
    24
See reviews for
349
666
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My best friend and I decided to spend 2 nights in Cameron highlands. After much research on google, we were convinced that CHR is the best and right place to stay. We have not heard of any negative review about this resort so we went there with excited heart to rest and relax from the hustle and bustle Singapore.

Upon arriving, it was only 7.30am. The usual time to check in was 3pm. But we just took a chance to go to the resort and see if we could by any chance manage to check in or just leave our backpacks. However, right before we got the the main entrance of the resort, we were greeted with great smiles and very adoring attitude. We felt really welcomed.

So we went to the front counter to try to check in. The staff invited us to rest at the sofa and served us with drinks of our choice at the lounge while waiting for the front desk staff look for a room for us. Then, warm face towel was served as well. It was feeling all great after 10 hours of journey from Singapore.

Shortly after that, the front desk staff came to us to explain to us that the room we book was not ready as it was still very early, but if we do not mind we could check into another room without balcony. Well, we did not mind. We just happily checked in after our coffee at that grand and with strong british accented louange.

The room was great. Clean, spacious and really nice. Bathroom is always the key thing for me too. But we were all happy with the bathroom.

Later on, after freshening up, we decided to roaming around on feet. Before setting out for the day, we were greeted by Ruth, the manager. She is so hospitable that we felt completely welcomed at this place. She suggested that when we return from the out and about, they would help us to change our room to one with balcony even though I told her that we are find with this one and certainly do not want to trouble them. However, she insisted that she would want us to really enjoy the resort and the room to the max.

n most hotels, staff just hardly go extra miles to care for things like that unless you request. But, at CHR, each and everyone of their staff carries themselves so well with great manner and attitude that you cant resist but would just like to come back again.

We appreciate every thoughtful thing that done by the staff. Like roses, dim light and soothing music in the room, slippers next to your bed and water on the side table that prepared by the staff every night. All these little details just make my heart smile. Our stay there was indeed one of the best relaxing holidays ever.

Room Tip: A room with balcony is nice to get a great view of the resort and the surrounding. No wifi in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duvyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write this excellent review. We are delighted to receive your kind compliments and to know that this was one of the best relaxing holidays for you. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have heard a lot about the Cameron Highlands Resort, and YTL Hotels does do a lot of marketing to give it an exclusive vibe. Spent a few nights here, and check-in was fast though there was a little hiccup when they informed us our room wasn't ready yet even though we informed them that we would be arriving by noon.

Furniture and finishing had a feel of a nice country manor in the Scottish Highlands, and the pubic areas were tasteful in their wooden panelings. Can be a bit noisy, as it faces the main road.

Afternoon tea was decent, but the selections for nibbles was mediocre at best, and didn't present itself as grand as it was made out to be. Staff were attentive though they can be a little clueless at times. Breakfast was a bit of a hit and miss, and the staff were somewhat hectic in trying to get places ready and dishes up to speed.

Location is good, easy to walk down to the Smokehouse Restaurant, and an easy drive towards the two towns nearby. The reading room could do with some reading material, but the ambiance is kept with the heavy woody feel and fireplaces. Still, one of the nicer YTL Hotel properties.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time review your stay experience. Your feedback and comments are important in helping us improve our guest experience. Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My family and I had the pleasure of staying here for a night on 2 September. I was amazed by the welcome and friendliness of all staff from the moment we stepped out from our vehicle after a very long ride. I wished we stayed for more than 1 night. The property was great, had a lovely afternoon tea and even went on a tour provided with compliments by the hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cameron Highlands.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Greetings from the cool highlands. Thank you very much for your recent stay and for your kind compliments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Booking the resort was part of YTL Hotels, so you actually never speak directly with the hotel staff when you're booking. This is fine except when you want to discuss mor details about planning hikes on their brochure, etc. The booking was overall fast and efficient with no issues.

Upon arrival, you get treated very well with lots of attentive staff. The overall service is on par with any 4 star hotel we've stayed in. The rooms are in very good condition given the age of the hotel. My only issue is . . . dare I say it . . . no air-con. Yeah, you don't really need it, but keeping the doors open at night let in mosquitoes, and my wife got bit several times during our stay, which did its part in keeping us half-asleep. They have a regular restaurant which serves western style food, and also a japanese restaurant upstairs.

We would go back there again, and really appreciated the warmth and excellent service the hotel had to offer. Aside from that, the only tip I would suggest is when you book an outing there, you do get an outstanding service, but they don't give you any information on how to prepare for it. YTL books these 1/2 day trips with another company, and the hotel staff may or may not help you with details on what is involved.

On one trip, a Level 3 hike in the brochure involved being driven up to the top of a peak and walking only 500m to the viewpoint followed by a leisurely walk around the tea factory. In another trip, a Level 3 hike in the brochure involved a 4.5 hour non-stop hike with a guide in excellent condition who provided no water. On both trips, the hotel gave us little to no information on how to prepare even when directly asked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are delighted to read that you were comfortable and enjoyed our hospitality. We thank you for the constructive feedback on further improving our guest experience. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future for another taste of nostalgia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

If you cope with the VERY wiggly road up to the resort, then once you get there you are welcomed with open arms. The chief chap, Jim, was great. Very welcoming and helpful.
The room was beautiful and well kept. As some have commented, there was traffic noise at night but it was not enough to become enraged enough to criticise the hotel!
If you go here make sure you go on walk with local guide Madi. He really made our trip as he was informative and passionate about his home.
We spent a lot of money on a couples spa experience. It was wonderful. Very relaxing and worth the money.
We also had afternoon tea in the tea room. No need for dinner that night!
If you think the hotel is pricey for dinner - pop over the road to the golf club. The restaurant is full of locals and they do more basic local food. The manager was happy to adapt dishes to suit us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caseydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are happy to read that your experience with us was a good one. Jim, Madi, and the team at the Spa Village were delighted to hear your kind compliments. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhaka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

It could be I am not been traveling at so many place in the world and stay at the resort or city hotel but I do not hesitate to say that the Cameron Highlands Resort is the best resort ever that I am staying and having very good experience.Normally the other 5 star resort or hotel will do double standard to us because we are from the poor country but this resort make us different.

On arrival I had given a big welcome by few numbers of the staff that standing at the end of stairs like their expecting us to arrived at the resort. One of them with the white uniform escorting our family up to the lobby invite us to take a seat while they processing our registration and serving us warm towel and hot flower tea. After we enjoying the drinks they escorting us to our room and show all the facility like where to have breakfast, lunch, hi-tea and dinner. The resort organize a lot of trail and tour by the activity menu. The staff that escorting us introducing their signature trail is jim Thompson mystery trail and we signup for it.
By the next morning we had our breakfast at dinning and the breakfast was very good with English style, me and my family went to the room while waiting the pickup going to the trail that we signup yesterday but unfortunately we missed the trip. We going down to the lobby to joint the trail but is to late. Wayne (Resort manager) and jim (he could be PR manager) meet us to arrange another special trail but we decide to go for the next morning trip and both of them arranging a transportation to and suggest us going to the tea plantation.

Overall our stay was an excellent stay and feel like super VVIP. All the staff is very attentive with the smiling face and helpful. The room is very clean with the beauty of English style, the dining room was perfectly comfortable. Special thanks to wayne for resolving our problem, manage the resort become " world class resort " and give us highly honor of appreciation, to jim that always escorting us since we arrived till we leave and make we enjoy our stay, to madi (in house guide) that bring me to the jim Thompson mystery trail, to housekeeping staff, dining room staff and the bellman.

The final part before we depart from the resort by the resort luxury limo, one more time wayne personally and jim escorting us to the end of the stairs and they saying " i am on behalf of the hotel really appreciate for visiting us and stay with us and i am so sorry because we don't have much time to spent time with your family" that's make me wanted to cry on that time.

We would like to come back again and will recommend this resort to all!!!!!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne L, General Manager at Cameron Highlands Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Greetings from all of us at Cameron Highlands Resort. Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that our services have met your expectations. My team and I are honored by your kind words of appreciation and compliments. We strive to provide inspiring experiences for our guests. On behalf of the team, thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
4.0 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.5 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.7 mi away
Parkland Hotel
Parkland Hotel
#1 of 9 in Brinchang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 12 in Tanah Rata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Highlands Resort

Property: Cameron Highlands Resort
Address: By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron Highlands Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tea plantations and rolling hills, this boutique hideaway promises all the splendour, romance and nostalgia of Cameron Highlands’ grand colonial heritage.Tall French doors, timber-beamed ceilings and plantation shutters add colonial charm and a touch of nostalgia to our rooms.Enjoy a refreshing round of golf, a pink-cheeked ramble along jungle trails, or a leisurely walk through tea plantations and strawberry farms. To recover, you can have a cup of tea in the drawing room, or a tea bath at the Spa Village, or you may simply choose to spend the day curled up with a good book by the fireplace.Cameron Highlands Resort is situated on the largest hill retreat in Malaysia, surrounded by breathtaking scenery, lush greenery, rolling hills and Tudor-styled cottages. The luxurious boutique Resort features 56 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites, and fronts Cameron Highlands' 18-hole golf course. It also houses the third wellness centre of the award-winning Spa Village group, which offers exotic treatments focusing on the healing and restorative properties of tea. Located in the state of Pahang, approximately 200 kilometres north of Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands is a beautiful holiday destination and the only place where you can find tea plantations and strawberries in Malaysia. At about 1,500 metres above sea level, it is the highest area on the mainland and enjoys a cool climate and fresh air, with temperatures ranging between 15° and 25° Celsius. Much of the character of the highlands remains unchanged since colonial times. It is endearingly known to some as the 'little corner of England in Asia'. The cool climate on the picturesque plateau and its surrounding hills and forest make this a popular retreat for golfing, jungle trekking and exploration of the many plantations and gardens. Cameron Highlands Resort is ideal all year round for families, honeymooners and holidaymakers out to satiate their appetites for trails, tales and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cameron Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Highlands Hotel Tanah Rata
Cameron Highlands Resort Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing