We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leisurely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cameron Highlands Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2008

We were not quite sure what to expect from the Cameron Highlands. We picked this resort from the reviews on this site and were certainly glad we did. We hired a car and drove here from KL via the slightly twisty road. The actual area has not got much going apart from a really cool temperature, a tea plantation or two and a quick trek up a local mountain so the two days we spent were enough. The hotel offered a spacious room with balcony. It had a spa though it did not seem to have a pool, nor really any outdoor area to relax. Wi- fi access in the lounge was good and free. The restaurant had a simple menu but the food was not expensive and was very good. Breakfast was a proper "served to the table" type and most welcome too. The whole atmosphere is slightly colonial and the staff are nothing short of superb.
This wasn't a cheap hotel but I still felt it was value for money. We took the time to look at some of the alternatives and I was glad we chose this one.
One point is that there is a road outside and you can hear traffic in the morning from about 6.00a,m. I have to say it was not a major problem and it certainly did not affect my stay as it was not overtly intrusive but still worth mentioning. As many hotels line this road, the Cameron Highlands Resort is not alone with this minor problem and I definitely wouldn't let it put you off staying.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ianEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2007

LOCATION: Excellent, not perfect. The only way it would be better is if you could walk to town (about a 4 minute, RM5 taxi ride) and if it was further away from a busy road. Well situated to nearly all tourist sites. Taxis are difficult to get after 9PM back to the hotel.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: Taxi, we paid 260 ringgit from KL city center, about 3.5 hours. We called a cab from Cameron Highlands to come get us which was great since he knew the location of the hotel and was comfortable with all the winding roads. There are buses to get here too but it’s not direct and more difficult to figure out, but around RM22 (of course need a taxi to the bus station and then another taxi from the destination bus station to the hotel. Hotel transportation is very expensive. Budget taxis in KL cost much less than premium taxis.

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Excellent. The bed was soft with high quality linens and down pillows.

LIGHTING: Great, lighting was adequate in both bathroom and bedroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom was on the small side, which did make for a huge bedroom. Shower had good water pressure but half the time we used it the water was much less than warm. This made for a very unpleasant experience and I even decided not to wash my hair since it was too cold. Perhaps you need to scheduled your showers during when other guests aren’t using it as well. Major disappointment and unacceptable.

TOILETRIES: Excellent, the kind you want to take home.

CLEANLINESS: The common areas, bedroom, and bathrooms were spotless.

A/C: No A/C in our room, but CH stays cool so not necessary.

CLOSET SPACE: Adequate for 2 but a little on the smaller side.

STYLE OF ROOM: Gorgeous. Nicer than the pictures on the website. Much larger than an average sized hotel room, but bathroom size is sacrificed for this.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: The road noise is a major problem. You can hear cars constantly during all hours and many of these cars don’t have mufflers so they aren’t quiet like the one’s back home. This could make it very difficult for light sleepers to get some rest. The room was kept fairly dark during the morning sunlight but not pitch black.

FOOD: Mediocre to Good. Breakfast if included in the room is all you can eat even though it is not a buffet and there is a menu. Pancakes, eggs, waffles, noodles, freshly squeezed orange and watermelon juices, fruits, and yogurts. Eggs were good but waffles and pancakes were of the same quality that you would find at the supermarket. Dinner was good, not great. We had T-bone steak (good), shrimp cocktail (mediocre), baked crab (mediocre), and cod (good). At US$18 (RM60) for both an appetizer and main course for one person it definitely is a good value compared to what this would cost back home, but I did enjoy my US$4 Indian food at the very basic Suriya in town more. I did not like that you had to pick a 2 course meal as there was no a la carte menu. We also had high tea that was good and could suffice for a lunch but although I am no high tea expert, I found it to be good, but nothing I would want a second time. I did not like that there is no food (except for high tea) served at the hotel from 3 pm to 7 pm.

TV/INTERNET: TV is a huge flatscreen (one of the biggest I have seen in a hotel) with tons of English channels and many movies. Internet is not available in the rooms but is available wirelessly in the common areas and there are 2 computers available at no cost with internet access.

SERVICE: The staff are exceptionally nice and try their hardest yet there are still some poor service issues encountered.

COMMON AREA: Beautiful. There are tons of places to sit, relax, read a book and enjoy the beautiful scenery of both the hotel itself and the outdoors (from inside the hotel). The common area from a distance could resemble the best 5 star hotel back in the states. The difference is in the details. Tiles are not perfectly set, the lights have bugs in them from weeks back, some areas of the bedroom are dusty, etc. Although these are facts, it’s difficult to critique in this way, when this hotel is clearly the best in all of CH.

TIPS: Rooms on the 2nd (top) floor should have better views. Try and get a room as far down the hallway from the lobby. This hotel gets filled with companies there for conferences and they were there when we were and sang karaoke until midnight. This could be heard from the rooms closer to the lobby. This also changed our plans for a relaxing drink near the pianist after dinner. Dinner/lunch in town is very inexpensive compared to eating at a hotel. City taxi service stops around 9 or 10 pm so be sure you have a ride back arranged in advance or it could be difficult to find a cab and the RM5 trip will end up costing RM20. Although this hotel has some major setbacks, it clearly is still the best hotel in CH. If you can deal with the possibility of a cold shower and loud road noise (which the other hotels may have too?) then, this will absolutely be the nicest option. The bedroom and common areas of this hotel are still gorgeous even with these issues.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

I just got back from a 3d/2n trip, staying in Cameron highland resort. This resort is so dissappointing, comparing to others YTL resorts, such as Pangkor Laut and Tanjong Jara. The rooms is very noisy, facing main road. I can barely sleep in the night. All rooms are facing main road, so I don't have a choice anyway. Rooms are without Air-cond, but yet I cannot opened my windows due to the noise. Defnitely lack of facilities in the resort. No bathtub in the room also. The only good thing is the service. All staffs are very friendly. Food is very good too. But It is not worth the $200 paid per night solely based on good service.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank eewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We were very impressed with this hotel. Having come from the Mandarin Oriental KL we were used to excellent service and standards and the CHR did not disappoint.

We were greeted on arrival by the manager and experienced a relaxed check-in with refreshing flannels and tea. The manager took time to talk to us and we felt very welcome. The hotel facilities were explained to us as were those in our room. The room was spacious and the combination of the dark wood and white walls was really nice. Nice four poster bed too. No bath, but a large shower area with rain shower and handset. The only issue with the room was the soundproofing, both from neighbouring rooms and the road. Although this wouldn't stop me returning.

We ate in the main restaurant and the food was excellent. The menu had a mixture of oriental dishes, pasta and steaks etc. Breakfast was based on a menu rather than a buffet but there was plenty of choice. Afternoon tea was also really good.

The pianist in the bar was really good and the fire place was cosy in the evenings.

Overall, the service was excellent, both friendly and of a very high standard. The hotel staff even escorted us to the golf course and arranged a caddy for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitlely return to this hotel in the CH.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank hayls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2007

My fiance and I have long decided to have our pre-wedding photo shoots at Cameron Highlands as it is the only place in Malaysia where gentlemen can still look cool / chill in suits (without sweating all over inside). After deciding on the Cameron Highlands, we then went on to research for a hotel to stay, our criteria is that the hotel must offer great views for photo shooting. We shortlisted two hotels ~ Smokehouse and Cameron Highlands Resort ... And we were so glad that we've chosen CHR as its interior / exterior is very well maitained, and look exactly like the website ~ very English!!

We took a 3 days 2 nights full board package from the hotel, which is quite value for money (but I think only available on weekdays). You can practically choose anything from the menu (provided you can finish) and quality is definitely above average. We asked room service for one breakfast as I need to do my make-up and hair styling in the room, and they did it for us!

The staffs are mostly non-Malaysian, but speak rather fluent English, also very polite and attentive. We didn't get invited to lit the fireplace, but I enjoyed sitting by the fireplace so much, also, credits to the gentleman who plays piano every night.

The highlight was our photos, the outcome was excellent and the ambience captured was impressive .....

If I would suggest some improvement points to the hotel, that would be:
1) To include a bath tub in the room;
2) To improve the sound proof of the windows / doors (as some lorries / vehicles that passed by in the morning could be a bit annoying).

Overall, this is the star hotel in the highlands, should try if you are willing to spend :-)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Athena_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We went up to Cameron Highlands by coach and got there in the early morning and faced a 6-7 hour wait to check-in. The staff tried hard to find us a room in the interim but we were out of luck. So, we had breakfast and hired a taxi/guide to bring us around. We left our stuff at the hotel. When we got back for lunch, our baggage was in our room. The service was excellent and always thoughtful. Ben Quah, the resort manager was very hospitable and invited us to light the fireplace. He always had a smile for us and is keyed to what we needed. He and his staff made us feel special and I would recommend the hotel to anyone going up to the highlands. Food was very good and was worth the difference compared to the other hotels. The room was very nice and comfortable and the view of the golf course and distant hills with low clouds among them was great. When it was time to leave, Ben and 3 of his staff walked us to the coach which was down a long flight of steps and across the road and gave us a warm sendoff. He even packed some crossaints for us after learning that we skipped breakfast because of the winding journey down the mountain. Great hotel, great service. A great way to get around is to hire a local taxi/guide. We hired A. Doray from the taxi company in Tanah Rata and he was an excellent and knowledgeable guide.

Anthony

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank hospitalityrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Cameron Highlands Resort for one night, on a quick weekend getaway.

Good points:
The hotel itself is in great condition. Spacious room, well kept grounds. The service was also above average. The guide for our guided
hike that we arranged through the hotel was also good.

Bad points:
It's simply overpriced. Yes, it's a lovely hotel, but at approximately $230 USD for a basic room, it's at least double of any other hotel in the area, I would imagine. Dinner was decent, but nothing to write home about, plus we had the uninvited dinner guest of an enormous flying beetle flying around the main hotel restaurant. We pointed it out to the waiter, but nothing was done about it, so we ate our dinner with one eye on the mutant bug. It was about the size of a Texas cockroach, and it flew.

All in all, it's quite a nice hotel and centrally located in CH. I've
also heard the spa is good, but didn't get to try it. It's simply overpriced, that's all there is too it.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TXExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
4 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
1.1 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.2 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avillion Cameron Highlands
Avillion Cameron Highlands
#9 of 24 in Cameron Highlands
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Highlands Resort

Address: | By the Golf Course, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $157 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cameron Highlands Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tea plantations and rolling hills, this boutique hideaway promises all the splendour, romance and nostalgia of Cameron Highlands’ grand colonial heritage.Tall French doors, timber-beamed ceilings and plantation shutters add colonial charm and a touch of nostalgia to our rooms.Enjoy a refreshing round of golf, a pink-cheeked ramble along jungle trails, or a leisurely walk through tea plantations and strawberry farms. To recover, you can have a cup of tea in the drawing room, or a tea bath at the Spa Village, or you may simply choose to spend the day curled up with a good book by the fireplace.Cameron Highlands Resort is situated on the largest hill retreat in Malaysia, surrounded by breathtaking scenery, lush greenery, rolling hills and Tudor-styled cottages. The luxurious boutique Resort features 56 beautifully-appointed rooms and suites, and fronts Cameron Highlands' 18-hole golf course. It also houses the third wellness centre of the award-winning Spa Village group, which offers exotic treatments focusing on the healing and restorative properties of tea. Located in the state of Pahang, approximately 200 kilometres north of Kuala Lumpur, Cameron Highlands is a beautiful holiday destination and the only place where you can find tea plantations and strawberries in Malaysia. At about 1,500 metres above sea level, it is the highest area on the mainland and enjoys a cool climate and fresh air, with temperatures ranging between 15° and 25° Celsius. Much of the character of the highlands remains unchanged since colonial times. It is endearingly known to some as the 'little corner of England in Asia'. The cool climate on the picturesque plateau and its surrounding hills and forest make this a popular retreat for golfing, jungle trekking and exploration of the many plantations and gardens. Cameron Highlands Resort is ideal all year round for families, honeymooners and holidaymakers out to satiate their appetites for trails, tales and tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cameron Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Highlands Hotel Tanah Rata
Cameron Highlands Resort Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing