We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms quaint, needs an injection of enthusiasm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a trip to the Cameron Highlands. Second time we stayed at Bala's and found it has gone downhill. Food is overpriced and not good at all- we ordered the ancient indian set and didnt get the dishes that were supposed to come with it. Wifi was painfully slow and couldn't get it to work. Hotel was lovely though. Stay here but eat and do your wifi outside.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding our establishment. We wish to apologize that your dining experience was not up to your expectation. We are in the middle of staff reshuffle. We hope you will give us the opportunity to rectify this mistake by paying us another visit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 332 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Holiday getaway with our 5 years old daughter at Bala's Chalet Cameron Highland was awesome. It's just a good place for family who wants to enjoy a stay and feels like in a secluded place. As we are living in a big city, we valued very much the tranquillity, simplicity and personal touch at every corner of the chalet.

Spend 3 nights there with 2 nights dine in .. oh yes, we do not mind that spicy curry and the smokes from the fireplace .. hahahaa ... We just enjoyed the quiet yet romantic candlelight dinner with our little daughter. (Honestly, we can't enjoy the food in a big restaurant but very noisy with so many people walking in front, back and around our table, like the Steamboat Buffet dinner we had in EQ on our 1st night). The breakfast offered is very simple but hey ... it's a Chalet (just like when you stay in any B&B elsewhere - they do not have variety of choices but it's just as good breakfast you could have to start your day) !. Also, we found a good restaurant for lunch, with reasonable price not far from the chalet (can't remember the name) but it has a souvenir / convenience shops next to it and a small hotel (Palm Hotel ?).

However, we are very disappointed with the heavy traffic getting up and down around. It took us 6 hours from the highway exit (can't remember the name too) .. to go up to Brinchang, before we get to check in at Bala's Chalet at 10pm. Too late to be informed that happened especially on weekends and public holidays !.

Overall, we like the room (It's clean. The 1st night, we got a room at the terrace top with some muddy smell ... but I think that's bcos of the room location and the weather (we slept like log anyway...lol), the next 2 nights we got upgraded to a room on the ground floor with big window/ balcony, facing the garden with swing. We had a privacy breakfast and dinner moments and beautiful garden to just sit and doing some reading or some thinking while having a cup of tea. It's a remarkable moments and definitely we would want to visit the chalet again, in our next trip home to Malaysia.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony , facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normajean0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Guests,Thank you for your lovely comments.We would surely take into account wherever needed to improve ourselves.We would once again like to take this opportunity to thank you for your time in writing these comments and posting the photos.We hope to seeyou again in the fture.Thank you.

Planters Country Hotel (Bala's Holiday Chalet)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

A stayed there for 2 nights an had a very quiet and inexpensive double for 140rm pr night. There were fresh towels and drinking water provided for both days and a nice and hot shower. It was really great value for money, and it was amazing to sit back in the garden and enjoying the afternoon tea after a day of seightseeing.
The rooms rates are low, but the food there is a little expensive. We choose to eat all our meals there, which were really good, although we could have found cheaper options if we went down to Tamah Rata town. But they provided us with such good service that we felt like staying.
Further they can arrange any tours for you and pick you up or drop you off at the bus in Tamah Rata, so you dont have to get in touch with overpriced taxi drivers.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review on your stay with us.We warmly welcome any feedback be it positive or negative so that we can improve our business.We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bala's Holiday Chalet in the future.Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Pros:
- Located in less busy area so it's quite and less air pollution. Can smell the good fresh air greenery around.
- Good surrounding
- Classic building in the English themes makes it unique to stay.
- The place is clean. Rooms are clean, The bed is comfortable.
- The water heater in the bathroom provides good hot shower.
- Overall a good place to stay in Cameron Highlands for the price we paid.
- The workers are friendly.

Cons:
- The road path leading towards the chalet from the main road need to be fixed. The roads are patched and bumpy. Although it's short distance but it does feel rough.
- I saw the owner drove in when i was actually in the rain try to get my parked car cleaned after my daughter vomited in the car. He parked his car, while i was busy with a pail walking to wards the reception got wet in the rain i'm quite sure he saw me and passed just like that. Not sure he realized i;m actually doing something but i felt he could a least have a courtesy to at least say hi or to peek at his customer. He do not seems to be friendly enough to offer any help or ask if i need any assistance. Maybe because i'm just a local Malaysian who does not seems to be of much value.
- The deluxe room could be bigger. Although the rooms are in good shape and clean, but it feels cramped. I saw the family suite and that seems to be bigger and suitable if you have a child even the infant
- The rooms do not come with breakfast. The in house restaurant menu is very expensive. Example: The Scones itself priced above RM20.. I never tried so i can't comment on the taste.
- A little more lighting during day would provide better ambiance to the walkway in the building example near the staircase. It feels very dull.

with the improvements i believe Bala's chalet can be an an excellent place to stay. I would go again just in case i can;t get any other accommodation or for the surrounding and the uniqueness of the place, definitely a larger room than deluxe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thanish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for your review on your stay with us at The Bala's Holiday Chalet. We appreciate your concern regards the road condition leading to the Chalet, as we have write in to the local authority regarding this matter and have received respond from them that the road condition will be rectified soon. The owner regret that he overlooked your presence and not giving good impression on us. Therefore he offers to have tea & scones with you during your next visit to The Bala's Holiday Chalet. Hoping that you will come and stay with us in near future and your feedback much appreciated. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Please do not give this man your business. I stayed here for 3 nights while passing through Cameron Highlands. We were attracted by the colonial architecture and good location. The rooms were adequate but our stay ruined by the owner who plainly disliked the inconvenience of guests. Everything was too much trouble for him and his wife: ordering food, asking for taxis into town (which the website said were complementary), asking for cutlery, drinks, in fact every request was met with a solemn, grumpy and negative response. Me Bala needs to change his ways or he won't last long.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We warmly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay at The Bala's Holiday Chalet.We welcome any constructive criticism so that we can improve our business.We would like you to contact us and give us a specific incident or incidents that has made you unhappy.Only we are very surprised why it took you 4 months since your stay to post these comments and also when you mentioned about the owner and his wife as they have both been away for the last 2 months.Hoping to hear from you.Thank you.....The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Lovely place with friendly staff. Had Indian meal in the resaurant, it was nice, however the breakfast was not up to much! Staff are very helpful with tours and taxis and recommend places to visit. There are many different rooms all with their own character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajgray15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank You for your warm comments about our property.We warmly welcome any feedback be it positive or negative so that we can improve our business.We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bala's Holiday Chalet in the future.Thank You....Bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A Beautiful room that opens directly into the garden. This make you feel Real Relaxed.
A ambience of the place really take you back to an english cottage living. This time
went there with the family......and a real family time togather. The children can apperciate the
splendour of nature overhere and we did come across some rodents that we have not seen before. I think this place is a real good for nature lovers......
Great we had the scones with jam n cream......tasted real mouth watering good!!!
We stayed here from 1st October until 4th October, and really njoyed our trip......
Food is not a problem could eithr have it at the hotels restaurant or the choice of a short trip to Tanah Rata or Brinchang.....
The staff here are really friendly and you can get a tip or two on where to go on tours in camerons.

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the Garden are Great!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalaReservation, Guest Relations Manager at Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for your warm response regarding our hotel.We warmly welcome any comments be it positive or negative so that we can use it to improve our business.We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.Thank you ...Bye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanah Rata
0.4 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Lakehouse, Cameron Highlands
0.5 mi away
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
Casa dela Rosa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lot 55 | Cameron Highlands, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia (Formerly Bala's Holiday Chalet)
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $58 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bala`s Holiday Chalet Hotel Cameron Highlands
Planters Country Hotel & Restaurant Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing