We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfiest beds in the Highlands”
Review of Bird's Nest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bird's Nest Hotel
Ranked #24 of 28 Tanah Rata B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Bird's Nest Hotel is a good place to rest after hours of jungle-trekking. Although you will have to walk a couple flights of stairs to reach rest-nirvana.

The place has been refurbished/built (not sure which) relatively recently. Accordingly, the entire facility is clean if a little clinical. There is a lack of 'travel atmosphere' which leaves plenty of space for relaxation.
Staff are friendly and there is DEFINITELY space for price haggling.
Great location, away from the very centre of town but only by a dozen metres or so. Means that it is quiet, a good place to relax. Rooms are spacious and the beds are amazingly comfortable. There is also a constant supply of hot water for lovely hot showers. PB. bathrooms are all in one washrooms.
Wifi is solid, we were able to stream episodes of tv series with minimal hassle.

Main negative about this place is that it is not the cheapest place in town approximately $10 per night. As such, its not suitable for those on a budget. Having said that, for what you get it represents very good value for money. Additionally there is no lift. Leg stress.

All in all, a good option. Recommended.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the more stairs you need to navigate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Heard about this new hotel from my sister who stayed there recently, so decided to try it out during my trip to Cameron Highlands.

This is a relatively new hotel, so everything is still quite new and clean. The reception area feels homely, and the receptionist is quite friendly. Location-wise, it is just a block off the main road, directly in front of the Tanah Rata wet market.

At the reception, we requested for the standard room with 2 single beds (I was traveling with a friend), and the lady advised us to upgrade to the superior room, which comes with 2 queen-size beds (RM10 more). However, upon checking in, the "queen-size" bed seems more like a "single" bed. Also, there are no lifts in the hotel, so it was quite a climb to the 3rd floor.

However, the rooms are clean, with TV (limited channels), and bathroom came with hot showers. Wifi reception is available in the room, though not stable. There is no jug kettle in the room, though free coffee and tea making facilities are available at the pantry near the reception counter.

Cameron Highlands being a cool place, we kept the windows open, as it can be quite stuffy with the windows closed. At 2am, however, I was awakened by the sound of traders arriving at the wet market (just across the hotel) to prepare for business.

Overall, the hotel location is good - everywhere was within walking distance. I have also checked out some of the accommodation places around, and a number of them are quite dirty or run-down, or have that stale/musty smell. So, while this hotel is still new and smelling fresh, it is definitely worth staying here.

Room Tip: For travelers who are elderly/physically-challenged - there is no lift in the hotel, so one needs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mrkp318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jiajia215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sicher nicht Zimmer 405!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamb003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank dalam41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.3 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#4 of 13 in Tanah Rata
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arundina Cameron Highlands
Arundina Cameron Highlands
#4 of 28 in Tanah Rata
395 reviews
0 mi away
Zermatt Hotel
Zermatt Hotel
#23 of 28 in Tanah Rata
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird's Nest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird's Nest Hotel

Address: 1 Jalan Perdah, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $46 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bird's Nest Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bird's Nest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird's Nest Hotel Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing