We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect - We'll come again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De'Native Guest House
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We've had a wonderful time at De'Native. The rooms are clean and the place is overall very idyllic and beautiful. Krish, the owner, is a great guy. He helped us so much, took us jungle trekking and even picked us up when we were stuck in the rain during our trip. You can ask him anything about the place, he told us many interesting things at the camp fire one night.

We're already making plans to come again. See you Krish!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanaBOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

This place is close to the bus station. It's a bit hidden so it takes a 15 min walk in between the lodge and the bus station. Owner is kind and helpful. Mostly simple cabins so nothing fancy in this accommodation. They have bon fires at night and a view of the highlands during the day - COZY

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed in one of the bamboo bungalows Krish is offering. The location is a bit out of town, but only a quick 10min walk. In return you get a very quite place, no car or construction noise, just the sounds of the jungle and from time to time a gang of monkeys crossing the trees. The matress is firm and we had always a good night sleep. There are enough blankets for the colder nights up the highlands.

Krish is a great host always helpful (he picked us up and offered lifts if we need to get into town) and a great story teller - don't miss one night with him in the main house.

The attached bathroom is simple, no shower, only a mandi, but western toilet and spacious. But there is also a hot shower available in the main building to use.

Room Tip: The bungalows are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GSPhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was the best place I stayed in Malaysia. It's a basic room and in the bathroom it might be that you don't have a shower head, you'll have to use a bucket. The owner is very friendly and you can enjoy a bonfire every night. On top of that you have a lovely view, because it's located on a hill. It was a very nice experience and I'll go there again, if I'm back in the Cameron highlands.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank eva_2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was one of the best experiwnces duing my 3month stay in malaysia. Thanka to the amazing location and amosphere of the guesthouse and before all krish' hospitality. Dont book tours, krish knows the area like the back of his hands and is more than happy totell you a story or two. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sotmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Let's put it this way: I joined TripAdvisor as a reviewer just so I could talk about how awesome De'Native and its owner Krish is. It's THAT kind of experience you get when you stay there.

I stayed for 3D/2D, and wish I'd allowed time to stay longer. De'Native is located a 10-minute walk from Tanah Rata, and Krish will pick you up and drop you off in town when you arrive/depart. Luckily, I didn't have any type of tour booked- instead, Krish personally took me around to many of the attractions I was interested in seeing: the Rose Centre, strawberry picking, the Sam Poh Buddhist Temple, and some hiking trails. He is so knowledgeable on so many things and is happy to answer questions on Malay food, plants & their healing properties, culture, religion, and customs. Simply put, it was the best introduction into Malaysia I could have asked for.

De'Native is still relatively new, so you might not meet as many guests, but the peace and serenity is perfect. I stayed in a dorm which I had all to myself during my stay- for a budget backpacker, it was luxury! Plus, there's two adorable puppies to play with!

There's not many guesthouses which give you such a personal experience for such a great price. Stay at De'Native- you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awolmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night on our way from Kuala Lumpur to Penang. The guest rooms are indeed very basic, but the friendly welcome by Krish, the owner, more than made up for it. The rooms were clean and large enough to sleep comfortably. Krish went out of his way to accommodate us and even got breakfast for us in the early morning.
Can highly recommend this place for people who value a friendly host and meeting fun, like minded travellers over the questionable comfort of much more expensive hotels.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.5 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#7 of 13 in Tanah Rata
339 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mentigi
The Mentigi
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 28 in Tanah Rata
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 28 in Tanah Rata
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
CH Travellers Inn
CH Travellers Inn
#8 of 28 in Tanah Rata
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De'Native Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De'Native Guest House

Address: Beau Vista, Lot 47 | Jalan Tengolok, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $14 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — De'Native Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De'Native Guest House is a newly opened guest house located on a hill surrounded by the highland forest. This former 100 year old colonial building had been turned into cozy guest house with bamboo huts as guest rooms. This is a one of a kind accommodation for those looking for some peace and quiet in Cameron Highlands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your De'Native Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De'Native Guest House Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing