We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place I've stayed in Asia!”
Review of Orchid Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchid Lodge
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here a couple weeks ago for three nights and our only regret is not staying longer! We have travelled around Asia and this has been my favourite place to stay. The man who runs it, kassim, is the kindest and most welcoming person I have met! He helped us plan what we wanted to do in the cameron highlands. He booked a tour for us and we got a discount because he doesn't take commission. Kassim cooked for us and gave us lots of fresh fruit the first night. The second night he gave free cooking lessons to everyone staying and even two girls he met that day on the street! We just chipped in for the cost of the ingredients. It was so much fun, and a great way to meet people. He also makes great ginger tea!

Our room was very comfortable and very clean. The shower was really hot, which was great because it's very cool in the cameron highlands. I really liked all the orchids kissim had in the lounge area. The place felt really special and we felt at home. It is close to lots of great restaurants. It was a little bit noisy in our room cause of the restaurants and we faced the street. But I had ear plugs so really it was no problem.

On our last day kissim gave us photos he had taken of the cooking class and had printed. He is so kind and we will treasure our photos. I would like to thank kissim for his welcoming smile, humour and for making our experience of the cameron highlands the best!!

Ashley and Adam

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pugsandchimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Ashley & Adam,

Thank you very for excellent review on the website for Tripadvisor.
We are like it very much and so happy that you enjoyed staying " Orchid Lodge".

Hope that visit and stay in our place again!

We will welcome 2 of you anytime with full of smile!

Best regards,
Orchid Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Orchid Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 232 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our time in the Cameron Highlands. The room we stayed in was newly furnished, clean, and comfortable. Kasim always made us feel at home. We enjoyed the fresh pot of tea and cooking class. The briyani was delicious and fruit plentiful. It was also a great place to meet other backpackers. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llamawhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on the website for Tripadvisor.
We like your review very much and so happy that you enjoyed staying "Orchid Lodge".
Hope that you will come back again!
We are looking forward to welcome you next time!

Best regards,
Orchid Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Owner Kassim will make you feel at home. Our room was clean and comfortable with a lovely display of soap and towels on the bed. Kassim helped us choose and book our cameron highlands tour and invited us to join his cooking class (we made biriyani and chicken curry, yum!). In all, a very cosy, friendly and welcoming place. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicetraveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on the website for Tripadvisor.
We like it very much and so happy that you enjoyed staying " Orchid Lodge".
Hope that you will visit and stay in our guesthouse again!
We are looking forward to welcome you next time!

Best regards,
Orchid Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked at the Orchid Lodge because of the trpadvisor reviews and it was the best thing i could do. We stayed two amazing days there and met some dutch, german and some swiss guys there. On our last evening the owner of this place organized a dinner for all of us. Although this place is basic the room and the common rooms are very clean. We felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at Orchid Lodge and for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.
We hope that you will visit Orchid Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at Orchid Lodge for 2 nights and had a great time. The guesthouse is very central, clean and incredibly homely, and Kasim (the owner/manager) made our stay a special one by being the most helpful and caring go-to person we could hope for. He booked tickets for us (with a discount), prepared a feast for dinner one night and even introduced us to his friends in town. His great smile, friendliness and can-do attitude made us feel at home for the whole time.

In summary, a great guesthouse that truly deserves its current #1 rating in Tanah Rata.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at Orchid Lodge and for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.
We hope that you will visit Orchid Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Orchid Lodge is a wonderful guesthouse owned by a very friendly and helpful man. It's walking distance from the main street in Tanah Rata and Yasin will tell you where to find the best Indian food and might even get you a discount! He'll also help you book the best tours. While we were there, people from other hostels would befriend Yasin and share a cup of tea with him at Orchid Lodge. Our room (1 queen size bed, ensuite bathroom and mini balcony) was comfortable and quiet. The lounge area had a TV with many channels and a few offerings for breakfast. The internet connection isn't the strongest but the Cameron Highlands are the ideal place to disconnect for a few days! All in all, we highly recommend Orchid Lodge :)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank JeeJeeAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at Orchid Lodge and for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.
We hope that you will visit Orchid Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

To be honest, I have never written a review of a hotel before. But this particular experience was so good,I couldn't resist to write about it.

First thing I want to say about this place is about the person who is the owner of the lodge, Mr Yasin. He is a very friendly & helpful guy. We did not even require a tour guide as he was helpful enough. He even provides you with cooking classes if you are to learn. Anything you need he can provide. Enough said...:)

Next we come to the Rooms. I would say everything is very neat & clean. There is a common room outside where there is a flat screen tv which can come handy at night when you have nothing better to do. There are loads of orchid flowers decorating that common room which makes staying there very lively. Loads of pictures hanging on the wall of previous travelers & tourist. You can see them cook Mr Yasin.

Next we come to location. Its a pretty good location as mostly almost evreything closes down by night ( if you like stay awake at night a little late that is). There is Starbucks & Bar nearby if you would just like 2 relax. There is also a Shisha (Hookah) place open until late night. Dis are all just 5 mins walking distance from the lodge.

Moreover I really enjoyed the overall experience as it very pleasant & very heartwarming place to stay with family or friends. :D

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toushiful_Ashekeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orchidlodgecameron, Manager at Orchid Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us at Orchid Lodge and for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.
We hope that you will visit Orchid Lodge again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tanah Rata hotels
0.4 mi away
Century Pines Resort
Century Pines Resort
#6 of 13 in Tanah Rata
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Hotel Cameron Highlands
0.1 mi away
Hillview Inn
Hillview Inn
#8 of 13 in Tanah Rata
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Father's Guest House
Father's Guest House
#3 of 28 in Tanah Rata
981 reviews
0.4 mi away
De'Native Guest House
De'Native Guest House
#1 of 22 in Tanah Rata
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gerard's Place
Gerard's Place
#2 of 28 in Tanah Rata
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Lodge

Address: 82D, Persiaran Camellia 4, Tanah Rata 39000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Cameron Highlands > Tanah Rata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Tanah Rata
Price Range: $13 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orchid Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orchid Haven in Tanah Rata, Cameron Highlands, provides bed and breakfast where you'll get a safe, comfortable, clean room with private bathroom (hot shower) and balcony. Satellite TV and WiFi are available. Orchid Haven is located within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants. Also we provide sightseeing tours, jungle trekking, visiting tea plantations, strawberry farms and cooking classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Orchid Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Lodge Cameron Highlands/Tanah Rata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing